Find Full Text
EndNote can find and attach full text articles to some references already in your library.
You will need to configure EndNote (instructions above) to use this function the first time.
- Highlight the references for which you want to find full text (use the Ctrl key to select more than one reference).
- Select References > Find Full Text > Find Full Text or use the icon . For Macs use
- A temporary Find Full Text Group will appear in the left plane, which will disappear when you close the library.
- If EndNote is able to find the full text, it will be attached to your reference and a paper clip icon will appear next to the reference.
- To view the full text, highlight the reference & click on the Attached PDFs tab OR double click on the reference to open, scroll down to the File Attachment field and double click on the file icon to open.
NOTE: EndNote will not always find the full text article. This may be due to the quality of the data in the reference or the Murdoch University Library may not have a subscription to the journal.
Attaching full text manually
If EndNote is unable to find full text (due to firewalls, network speed, non subscriptions etc) you can attach it manually:
- Download the full text file onto your computer or USB.
- Double click on the relevant reference in your EndNote library to open.
- Select References > File Attachments > Attach File OR click the Attach File icon .
- Browse and select the PDF you wish to attach.
- The check box is ticked by default to attach a copy of the file to the EndNote record, storing it with your library & creating a relative link. Only untick this box if you want to link to the original file on your computer (creating an absolute link & not allowing it to travel with your library).
- Click Open.
- The file will appear in the File Attachments field of the reference.
Alternatively highlight the relevant EndNote reference and drag and drop the PDF icon into the reference (this is easiest done with the desktop shown and your EndNote library window minimised).
Extract or delete HTML tags based on their name or whether or not they contain some attributes or content with the HTML editor pro online program.
If a PDF contains DOI (Digital Object Identifier) EndNote can import either a single file or a whole folder containing several files and automatically create the reference. To import a file or folder make sure you are connected to the internet.
- Go to File > Import then select File or Folder.
- Next click Choose and navigate to where the PDF/s are saved and click OK
- In the Import Option dropdown menu select PDF
- Use the duplicates option as preferred: Import All, Discard duplicates or Import into Duplicates Library
- Leave Text Translation as No translation
- Click Import
- Once imported, click on the reference, right click and select Add Reference to and save to a group.
Automatic PDF Handling
To set up the automatic transfer of PDF's to your library:
- From your EndNote library go to Edit > Preferences > PDF Handling
- Choose your naming options eg Author + Year
- Tick Enable automatic importing and create a new folder (e.g PDF Folder)
Any new PDFs saved will now appear in the PDF folder/Imported (this Imported folder is automatically created by EndNote and simultaneously the imported PDFs will appear as references in your library with the PDFattached.
You can annotate (add your own notes) using sticky notes and highlight text in attached PDF documents
- Highlight a reference with an attached PDF.
- Click on the PDF name in the preview panel.
- A toolbar will appear. Hover over the icons to see their function.
- The opens the PDF in the main window. To close, click the icon top left.
- Select the Sticky Note icon.
- Navigate to where you want the note.
- Click to display a sticky note symbol, then double click to open it.
- Add your comments then click on X in the sticky note to close. Your note will be automatically saved.
- Select the Highlighting icon.
- Select the text you want to highlight - selected text will be highlighted in yellow.
- Click the Save icon.