Skip to main content

Counselling & Creative Arts Therapy - Subject Guide

Journals and Databases

Library resources for Counselling and Creative Arts Therapy at Murdoch University

Counselling Databases

Database Description
PsycINFO Indexes and abstracts over 1300 journals in more than 25 languages. Includes book chapters,books, technical reports and citations to dissertations. Covers the professional and academic literature in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Includes full text supplied by PsyArticles.
CINAHL with Full Text

The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) database covers a range of nursing and allied health topics including mental health. 

PubMed/Medline Medline is the United States National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database for medicine, nursing, mental health, and the pre-clinical sciences.Please see the box 'Medline or Pubmed' on the right for more information on the differences between these databases.
ERIC The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. It is education-focussed but relevant for research into child, adolescent and developmental interventions.
Scopus Indexes resources in health and life sciences, chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, social sciences, psychology, and economics, business and management. Includes MEDLINE data.
Web of Science Web of Science provides access to all three citation databases - Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index - from 1987 onwards.
ProQuest Multidisciplinary collection of journals, magazines and theses, including many business, management and economics resources
Academic OneFile A multidisciplinary collection of journals (many of them peer-reviewed) and reference sources. 
Health Collection (Informit) Full text and indexing database of over 100 Australian and New Zealand health sciences resources.
Academic Videos Online A database of videos that include demonstrations of a wide range of psychological and counselling techniques.

Counselling journals

This list of Counselling journals is indicative only - it is not comprehensive:

You can find other journals relevant to counselling by doing keyword search in the Library Catalogue for:

counseling periodicals (Note the US spelling)

Discover Counselling Journals with BrowZine

Medline or Pubmed?

PubMed is the freely accessible online database of biomedical journal citations and abstracts created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.  Medline is its largest component but it includes other resources.

The Library also has subscriptions to Medline on both the Web of Science and Ovid platforms. These databases provide more sophisticated search functionality and shows you the FindIt@Murdoch links in your results.

Other resources

Tables of Contents from Journals

Establish alerts for Tables of Content for latest editions (free)

Journal abbreviations

There are a number of online resources that can be useful in providing the full title of journal abbreviations.