NOTICE: This guide is currently under review, with a new guide to be launched before Semester 1, 2025. In the meantime, please direct any queries or feedback about this guide to the Library's Digital Experience via our Enquiry and Feedback form.
The University Library
Murdoch University Library facilities and services relevant to your studies:
- Undergraduate students can borrow 30 items for 12 weeks. High Demand items can be borrowed for 2 hours. More Borrowing information is available on the Library website.
- The High Demand collection contains books and other materials which are in high demand. Found on North Wing Level 3 to the left of the library loans and enquiry desk. You can locate a list of readings for your units in the My Unit Readings Lists. Type in the Unit code (eg LLB120) to access the reading materials.
- Library and Information Services first contact point to help you with loans and other enquiries. Found on North Wing Level 3 near the library entrance.
- Ask the Library - complete an enquiry form.
- My Advice provides assistance to all students to help you make the most of studying at Murdoch. Found on North Wing Level 3 near the library entrance.
- Assignment Self-Help - from understanding how to search our resources to creating your reference list
- UniEdge workshops on studying, writing, reading and speaking in the academic context
- 24/7 Library Learning Common after hours access is available to the 24/7 learning common. Found on North Wing Level 2.
-
University Library Orientation Guide has more details about the Library
Library Homepage
From the Library home page, you can access journals and books using Library Search and the full text of articles and cases on reading lists for specific units via the My Unit Readings link.
Databases can be accessed via the Databases link below the search box. Databases can be found either by title or by subject area.
Other pages of interest:
- Referencing and citation guides - Guides to all of the referencing styles used at Murdoch.
- eBooks - These books can be found through Library Search and read online. Collections of eBooks that are useful for Law include:
- Oxford Reference- includes Law dictionaries and books on Law;
- HeinOnline - Legal Classics - reproductions of legal commentary, some dating back to the 1500s;
Library Search
Use Library Search to access specific book and journal titles.
How to locate a print book:
Call number / Shelf number / Dewey number:
Dewey Decimal System allocates a subject or call number to every subject.
This way, all books on a subject are shelved together.
For example:
340 is the number for Law
072 is the number for research
094 is the number for Australia
So the number 340.072094 is about legal research in Australia.
How to access material on a database:
Library Search is especially useful to learn which database to use to access legal materials.
For example, which database holds the Commonwealth Law Reports.
What can I borrow and for how long?
You can borrow up to 30 items for 12 weeks.
These items can be renewed up to 5 times (as long as they have not been requested by another student).
You can borrow up to 2 High Demand Collection items for 2 hours.
My Unit Readings
My Unit Readings lists include links to the readings for your Units.
There is usually a link to My Unit Readings in LMS for each Unit (it is each Unit Co-ordinator's choice whether to have a MUR or not.).
Your task is to learn about the The Honourable Michael Murray Law Library (Murdoch University Law Library) - both the physical and electronic "spaces".
You need to become familiar with the print and electronic materials which are in the Law Library, how the materials fit together, how they are arranged, and how you access or find them.
The key to your success as a law student is developing familiarity with the resources and developing effective research methods.
The Law Library is located in South Wing Level 3 of the South Street Campus Library.
During semester, the Law Library Help Desk is staffed by senior law students.
The Law Library Help Desk is available during semester to assist law students with Library Research Tests and general legal research queries.
The Law Help Desk operates on week days. Full opening hours of the Law Help Desk are posted on the Law Library Subject Guide.
The Law Library Layout
The Murdoch University Law Library is located on South Wing Level 3 of the South Street Campus Library.
The Law Library is divided into two sections.
The length of the Law Library closest to the external windows houses primary materials (legislation, law reports) as well as Hansard.
The length of the Library that runs alongside the equity room, offices and quiet study room houses secondary materials (books, reference material and journals).
Books are shelved in eight groups of shelves (stacks). Signs displaying the books' Dewey number ranges and subjects can be found at the beginning of each stack.
The stacks throughout the Law Library are numbered on each end. These will help you recognise what material is contained in each one.
Items that can be borrowed from the Law Library are contained within stacks "Books 1" to "Books 8".
Click on this image to be taken to a printable PDF version of the map.
You can also access the Law Library Self Tour Guide to better familiarise yourself with the print collection.
The Honourable Michael Murray Law Library
A globally respected voice in the legal profession, the Honourable Michael Murray QC AM was a resolute advocate and champion of excellence in legal education.
The Law Library at Murdoch University, named The Honourable Michael Murray Law Library in 2020, ensures his legacy lives on for generations to come.
Murdoch University Vice Chancellor Eeva Leinonen said the Library, which contains important written legal works, is a vital resource for students and to name it after this champion of legal education is fitting.
Justice Murray was one of Western Australia’s most experienced Supreme Court judges.
His career included appointments as Crown Counsel and President of the Law Society. He was also the youngest Chief Crown Prosecutor, taking on the high-profile role in his early 30s.
Throughout his life, he was a highly-valued and longstanding supporter of Murdoch University.
“Michael Murray was committed to passing on knowledge and experience to younger practitioners and building the skills and capacities of the Western Australian legal fraternity,” Professor Leinonen said.
Justice Murray's extensive service to Murdoch University included serving as Deputy Chancellor (1993 – 1998) and a member of the University Senate (1991 – 1999).
Throughout his nine years as a senate member, Justice Murray was a highly influential figure and leading custodian of academic values and standards for the University.
Following his long and illustrious career in the legal profession and his outstanding contribution to Murdoch University, he was awarded an Honorary Law Doctorate in 1999.
Following his retirement from the Supreme Court in January 2012 after having served for 22 years as a judge, Justice Murray became an Adjunct Professor of Law.
Justice Murray also served as a member of the Banksia Association Advisory Committee, helping raise $250,000 to support Banksia Honours Degree Scholarships, which encourage Murdoch University’s highest achieving students to continue their education.
He was a figurehead of the Banksia Association and pivotal in maximising educational opportunities for Murdoch students, constantly drawing on his vast personal network to enhance the student experience.
Justice Murray will be sorely missed by the Murdoch University community, but his memory will live on, inspiring students seeking to follow in his footsteps and build a career in law.
Law Library Help Desk
The Law Library Help Desk is staffed by senior law and criminology students.
They can provide assistance with assignments, legal research, and Library Research Test questions.
The home page of the Law Subject Guide provides opening hours and contact options.
If the Law Library Help Desk is closed, you can request help with legal research or any issues with the Library Research Tests by submitting a query via Murdoch Support.
Using Online Sources
For easy access to online legal materials, bookmark the Legal Research Guide.
You can access a variety of legal databases both on and off campus.
These are listed on the Legal Research Guide's home page.
Only access the databases from the Library pages, as this activates the Library's subscriptions.
For off campus access you will need to log in using your MAIS username and password.
If you have trouble accessing these databases, see the Troubleshooting page for tips.
Browse the other tabs for instructions for sourcing legal materials, referencing, and more.
This Self Paced Lesson is part of the Legal Research Guide.
To navigate to this Lesson on the Legal Research Guide:
- click the link to return to the LEGAL RESEARCH tab
- hover over the LESSONS & HELP tab to view to drop down menu
- select Self Paced Lessons
- scroll to LLB120
- select Tertiary and Secondary Materials
Library Databases
Databases relevant to legal studies and research are listed on the Legal Research Guide home page.
Law databases at Murdoch are for your academic use.
Our licenses that allow access are for academic use only.
You may not use your Murdoch access to support legal practice - this means you cannot use these databases on a clerkship.
Some of the key law databases for first and second year law students are:
Australian Resources
International Resources
You will find links to many more online resources listed on the Legal Research Guide.
How to Access a Database
Click on the name of the database from the list on the Legal Research Guide
Click on the name of the database below the View Online / Full text availability heading to access the database using the Library's subscription
Database User Guides & Help
The Database Help & Training Webinars page, accessible from the Legal Research Guide's Lessons & Help tab, includes links to database user guides and training webinars.
The Library's Database Search Help Guide provides guidance on how to create a search strategy, and search databases.
Research Guides on Specific Topics
Visit the Topic Research Guides to source relevant research materials for specific topics and units from administrative law to white collar crime:
