NOTICE: This guide is currently under review, with a new guide to be launched before Semester 1, 2025. In the meantime, please direct any queries or feedback about this guide to the Library's Digital Experience via our Enquiry and Feedback form.
Alerts, Updates and Legal News
Keep up to date with legal news about:
- trending topics
- legislative updates
- latest cases
- law firm blogs
This will help with assignments, and when you enter the workforce.
Federal Register of Legislation:
Create an account, then set up alerts to keep up to date with changes to legislation. This is a free service.
Select a specific Act or topic.
Western Australian Legislation:
Select Notification Feeds. Set up RSS feeds to keep up to date with changes to WA legislation. This is a free service.
ParlInfo - Australian Parliament House:
Create an account, then set up alerts to keep up to date with changes to legislation. This is a free service.
Save your search to run automatically.
Parliament of Western Australia:
Choose to be notified through RSS feeds or by email to receive updates on Chamber documents and bills.
Jade:
Latest court cases - state and commonwealth. This is a free service.
Practice Source:
Subscribe to the alert service to stay up to date with what’s happening in Australian law firms and the industry (newsletter and RSS feed buttons are located top right of screen).
Google Alerts: Set up alerts on targeted topics of interest.
- The official journal of the Law Society of Western Australia.
- Instructions for establishing journal alerts
JournalTOCs
- establish alerts for Tables of Content for latest editions (free)
Establish Alerts for New Journal Issues
| Search for journal by title. |  |
| Click on the Available Online link for the journal in the Results list. |  |
|
From the View Online section of the journal record, read the availability of full text articles from the databases holding the journal. Note the different embargo periods. Select the database with full text access to the latest issue. |
 |
| Establish an alert to receive email notification once the latest issue is available. |  |
| Look for the Alert button on the journal page. |  |
 |
|
 |
|
 |
|
 |
|
 |
ABC Law Report:
Subscribe to receive free email notification of what's on each week.
Australian Newspapers directory: From the National Library of Australia. A list of all Australian newspapers, check each paper to find if they offer an email alert service.
EBSCO: Select Business Source Complete database. On the Advanced Search screen, select Publication type: newspapers
Informit: Resources indexed include journals, books, conference proceedings and television broadcasts.
News.com.au: This site covers major Australian newspapers such as The Australian, The Courier-Mail, The Advertiser, Daily Telegraph, Herald Sun and The Mercury. To receive daily news headlines by email each morning subscribe to the service.
Practice Source: Subscribe to the alert service to stay up to date with what’s happening in Australian law firms and the industry (top right of screen).
ProQuest: Multidisciplinary collection of journals, magazines and theses, including many business, management and economics resources.
Westlaw International - provides a searchable collection of news sources from Australia, Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore, China, Japan, Korea and the UK. Select the World News tab.
TVNews: Provides access to Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentary broadcasts from the free-to-air networks.
Westlaw UK - provides a searchable collection of National (UK), Regional, International and Business, Trade and Industry News.
Create an Alert from Searches
If you have an area of interest, or want to know of recent publications on your area of research, alerts in databases can be established to have emails with recent uploads sent to you.
Database |
Alert |
|
1. Conduct search 2. On the Search Results page, select the bell icon to create Alert |
 |
|
1. Test that the search string works 2. Select Alerts button 3. Add the search string in the Alert |
 |
|
To set alerts from new journal issues: 1. Log in to BrowZine 2. Update Email Notifications in Settings 2. Search for journal 3. Select ADD TO MY BOOKSHELF Link to new issues of journals in Bookshelf will be emailed
|
 |
|
1. Sign in to EBSCOhost 2. Conduct Search 3. On the Search Results page, select Create Alert. 4. Complete email details and settings |
 |
|
1. Conduct Search 2. On the Search Results page, select Save search/alert. 3. Select Create alert from the drop-down menu. |
 |
|
1. Create a MyHein account 2. Conduct search 3. In Search Results list From MyHein Search Queries drop-down menu, select MyHein Search Queries 4. Click on Save/Email |
 |
|
1. Log in to Ovid 2. Conduct Search 2. On the Search Results page, select Create Auto-Alert (choice of 2 links) 3. Complete alert details |
 |
|
1. Conduct Search 2. On the Search Results page, select Save search/alert. 3. Select Create alert from the drop-down menu. |
 |
|
1. Log in to PubMed / PubMed Central 2. Conduct Search 2. On the Search Results page, select Create alert 3. Complete alert details
|
 |
|
1. Create account or sign in to your account 2. Conduct Search 3. On the Search Results page, select Set search alert.
|
 |
|
1. Sign in to Web of Science 2. Conduct Search 2. On the Search Results page, select Create Alert 3. Complete alert details
|
 |
Google Scholar1. Expand menu on top left of home page 2. Select Alerts 3. Select Create Alert 4. Add search words 5. Add email address Select Alerts Envelop in right column to view saved alerts How to create a Google Scholar alert
|
 |