Textbooks
Torts Law texts are shelved at 346.3.
Subject terms to search in the catalogue include: Torts - Australia; Torts - Great Britain; Personal Injury; Defamation; Negligence; Liability Law; Tort Liability.
There are a number of "major texts" in this area with regular editions being released. Check the catalogue for details of the current edition.
- Australian principles of tort law / Pam Stewart ; Anita Stuhmcke
- Australian Torts Law / Amanda Stickley
- Connecting with Tort Law / Julia Davis
- Focus: Torts / Martin Davies, Ian Malkin
- The Law of Torts in Australia / Francis Trindade et al.
- Torts / Sarah Withnall Howe et al.
- Torts: the laws of Australia / Paul Vout
- Torts: Cases and Commentary / Harold Luntz et al.
Commentary
Australian Defamation Law and Practice (Lexis Advance)
> select Commentary tab > select Browse from Menu to the left of screen > Select title
Halsbury's Laws of Australia - Title 415 - Tort (Lexis Advance)
Australian Torts Commentary (CCH iKnowConnect)
Journals and Indexes
Some key journals:
Full text Journals:
Legislation
Civil Liability Act 2002 (WA)
Federal Register of Legislation – Commonwealth legislation
Western Australian Legislation – State legislation
Legify – gateway to Australian Jurisdiction
LawNow Legislation from Lexis Advance – drill down to a section and click the >> to find related commentary or cases;
Parliament of Australia Bills Digest – bills, links to EM (explanatory memoranda) and Hansard (second reading speeches);
Parliament of Western Australia Hansard – links to EM (explanatory memoranda) and Hansard (second reading speeches).
Case Law
Australian Case Law
- CaseBase from Lexis Advance - a citation and abstract service to Australian case law, links to some full text. Includes Australian Defamation Law and Practice.
- Westlaw Australia: Content Type: Cases- a subject index and citator for Australian case law, links to some full text.
- CCH iKnowConnect - includes the Australian Torts Reports.
- AustLII - free full text access to Australian medium neutral citation versions and unreported judgments.
- LawCite - a free, automatically generated Australian and international legal case and journal article citator.
- Jade - free database and current awareness service of Australian case law.
International Case Law
- Westlaw Classic - full text of international legal resources, includes UK, Canada, US and EU case law
- Westlaw UK - UK and EU case law
- ICLR - Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for England and Wales, full text case law database
- vLexJustis - UK, Irish, EU, Singaporean and other international case law.
- BAILII - British, Irish, EU case law, legislation and law commission reports
- CommonLII - Case law from 60 Commonwealth and common law jurisdictions
- WorldLII - global international law, broad coverage.
- LawCite - a free, automatically generated Australian and international legal case and journal article citator.
- HeinOnline - English Reports (1220-1867)