Books
Admiralty law texts are shelved at 343.96.
Maritime law texts are shelved at 341.45.
Maritime security and accidents texts are shelved at 363.123.
Subject terms to use in Library Search include:
- admiralty law
- carriage of goods
- law of the sea
- (marit* OR marin* OR ship*) insurance
- (ship* OR marit* OR marin*) (law OR legal)
- (ship* or mari*) (collision OR accident)
- (ship* or mari*) liabil* passenger
- (ship* or mari*) regulat*
- Australian maritime law by Michael White
- Carriage of goods by sea by Stephen Girvin
- Carriage of goods by sea by John F Wilson
- Cases and materials on the carriage of goods by sea by Anthony Rogers, Jason Chuah and Martin Dockray
- Chitty on Contracts
- The law of seamen by Martin J Norris
- The legal order of the oceans : basic documents on law of the sea edited by Vaughan Lowe and Stefan Talmon
- Maritime law edited by Professor Yvonne Baatz
- Principles of carriage of goods by sea by Paul Todd
- Scrutton on Charterparties and Bills of Lading
- Shipping law by Simon Baughen
- Shipping law by Martin Davies, Anthony Dickey
- Time Charters by Michael Wilford
- Voyage Charters by Julian Cooke
A number of maritime books are also available electronically from iLaw.
Reference Resources and Commentary
Maritime Law Topic Research Guide
Halsbury's Laws of Australia via Lexis Advance Pacific
25 - Arbitration
100 - Contract
270 - Maritime Law
425 - Transport
The Laws of Australia via Westlaw Australia
7 Contract: general principles
8 Contracts: Specific
13. Dispute Resolution
13.7 Arbitration
25 Interpretation and Use of Legal Sources
34 Transport
34.1 Shipping
HeinOnline
eBooks and journals
ICLR (Incorporated Council of Law Reporting)
i-law
Lloyd’s Law Reports
Lloyd’s Maritime and Commercial Law Quarterly
The Ratification of Maritime Conventions (commentary)
Books: Marine Fraud & Piracy, London Maritime Arbitration, Admiralty Jurisdiction and Practice, A Practical Guide to International Arbitration in London, etc.
Dictionaries: Commercial Shipping Handbook, Dictionary of Shipping Terms
vLexJustis
English, Singaporean, other Commonwealth countries
Oxford Legal Research Library
International Commercial Law
International Commercial Arbitration
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law
Oxford Reports on International Law
Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law
Oxford Reference Library
Parry & Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law
Guide to Latin in International Law
Westlaw Classic
Arbitration Materials
Arbitration Awards: International
Arbitration Rules: International
> ALL
>> London Court of International Arbitration
International Materials
Cases, Legislation, Treatises, Journals, etc
Many Jurisdictions: UK, Singapore, etc
Westlaw UK
UK & EU Materials
Research Guides
Admiralty & Maritime Law Guide
American Society of International Law
GlobaLex
International Law Research
Comparative Law Research
Foreign Law Research
Institute of Advanced Legal Studies (IALS) Maritime Law (including Carriage of Goods by Sea and Marine Insurance) Guide
Journals and Indexes
Some key journals in this area include:
- Australian and New Zealand Maritime Law Journal
- International Journal of Marine and Coastal Law
- Journal of International Maritime Law (print)
- Journal of Maritime Law and Commerce
- Lloyd’s Maritime and Commercial Law Quarterly
- Loyola Maritime Law Journal
- Malabu: Maritime Law Bulletin
- Maritime studies
- Ocean and Coastal Law Journal
- Tulane Maritime Law Journal
- University of San Francisco Maritime Law Journal
Organisations
Australian Maritime Safety Authority
Comité Maritime International Yearbooks 1998+
International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea
International Maritime Organisation (IMO)
International Maritime Law Institute (IMLI)
Maritime Law Association of Australia and New Zealand
UN Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL)
United Nations - Oceans and Law of the Sea
Case Law
Websites and Other Resources
Admiralty & Maritime Law Guide (US)
Admiralty & Maritime Law Guide International Conventions
Comité Maritime International (CMO)
International Maritime Law Institute
International Maritime Organisation
International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea
Legal Information Institute (LII) Admiralty page
Treaties
Admiralty and Maritime Law Guide US authored site containing links to maritime and admiralty information
AustLII
Australian International Treaty Making Information Kit (DFAT)
Australian Treaties Library
Bowman M.J. & Harris, D.J. Multilateral Treaties : Index and Current Status. (London : Butterworths ; St. Paul, Minn : Mason Pub. Co., 1984 with supplements.) R 341.0265 BOW
Department of Foreign Affairs & Trade Australian Treaties Database
International Maritime Organization (IMO) SOLAS - The International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea
UN Convention on the Law of the Sea
United Nations Treaty Collection
Treaty Reference Guide
WorldLII
International Treaties Collection
Maritime law resources