Books on refugee law are shelved at 342.83.
Subject terms to search include:
Asylum, Right of
Convention Relating to the Status of Refugees 1951
Emigration and immigration law
Human rights
Internally displaced persons – Legal status, laws, etc.
Migrant labor – Legal status, laws, etc.
Political refugees – Legal status, laws, etc.
Refugees
Refugees – International cooperation
Refugees – Legal status, laws, etc.
Stateless persons – Legal status, laws, etc.
Vrachnas, Bagaric, Dimopoulos and Pathinayake, Migration and Refugee Law
Crock, Mary, Saul, Ben and Dastyari, Azadeh, Future Seekers II: Refugees and Irregular Migration in Australia (Leichhardt, NSW, Federation Press, 2006)
Mary Crock and Laurie Berg, Immigration, Refugees and Forced Migration Law, Policy and Practice in Australia (Leichardt, N.S.W. Federation Press, 2011)
Guy Goodwin-Gill, The Refugee in International Law
Roz Germov and Francesco Motta, Refugee law in Australia (South Melbourne : Oxford University Press, 2003)
Australian Immigration Law in Lexis Advance - contains policy information and forms.
Administrative Appeals Tribunal (Migration and Refugee Division) – contains an analysis of legal issues relevant to the determination of refugee status in Australia and includes principles from key decisions.
Refworld – contains a collection of reports and information relating to refugees (country situations, policies, cases, legal framework etc.) compiled from UNHCR offices, governments, academic institutions, judicial bodies and international, regional and non-governmental organisations.
UNHCR Compilation of Case Law on Refugee Protection in International Law (2008) –overview of 70+ judgments/decisions from numerous jurisdictions relating to refugee law‑related issues, includes short summaries of poignant issues arising from the cases. The compilation was published in 2008 so the information contained in the compilation may not be the most contemporaneously relevant. However, given that it is a broad overview of the key issues in refugee law, a large portion of the cases remains relevant to the interpretation and application of the Refugee Convention.
Mary Anne Kenny, 'Explainer: How Australia Decides who is a genuine refugee' (23 February 2017) The Conversation.
Australian Year Book of International Law
Harvard International Law Journal
International Journal of Refugee Law
International Journal on Minority and Group Rights
Journal of Immigrant & Refugee Studies
Journal of Migration and Refugee issues
Refugees Magazine – published by the Media Relations and Public Information Service of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees and contains information and stories relating to various situations occurring globally and issues/situations faced by refugees.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law
Taylor & Francis Online Journals – contains some of the journals listed above
Key domestic legislation:
Migration Regulations 1994 (Cth)
Key international conventions:
Convention relating to the Status of Refugees
Protocol relating to the Status of Refugees
Statute of the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees
Cases on refugee law can be located on various databases including:
AustLII – specifically the Refugee Review Tribunal of Australia and the Migration Review Tribunal of Australia databases.
European Court of Human Rights – contains cases from the ECHR.
Administrative Appeals Tribunal (Migration and Refugee Division) – responsible for conducting reviews of visa and visa-related decisions made by the Australian Department of Immigration and Border Protection.
Australia - Department of Immigration and Border Protection – contains information about Australia’s Refugee and Humanitarian Programme.
Australian Human Rights Commission – national human rights institution established by legislation that oversees the application of federal legislation in the area of human rights, anti-discrimination, social justice and privacy.
International Organization for Migration - UN Migration
Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) – the UN agency leading and coordinating international protection of refugees and resolving refugee issues globally.
Refugee Law and Policy - Library of Congress
Refworld – contains a collection of reports and information relating to refugees (country situations, policies, cases, legal framework etc.) compiled from UNHCR offices, governments, academic institutions, judicial bodies and international, regional and non-governmental organisations. Great for obtaining old and current information about what is happening globally.
Immigration Detention Statistics - Australia. Department of Home Affairs
Immigration Detention and Community Statistics Summary - Australia. Department of Home Affairs. August 2020
Immigration Detention Statistics - Australian Human Rights Commission
Migrant Data Matrices - Australian Bureau of Statistics - 2020
Migration, Australia - Australian Bureau of Statistics