General Resources
Public international law governs the relationships between national governments and intergovernmental organizations.
Private international law governs the choice of law to apply when there are conflicts in the domestic law of different nations related to private transactions between those nations.
Dewey numbers for legal print resources:
Human rights - 341.48 International law - 341
Politics – 323 Space law - 341.47
Use of force - 341.6, 355 and 363.32
Search terms for Library Catalogue searching:
Aeronautics - Law and legislation Airspace (International law)
Human rights International law
Intervention (International law) Neutrality
Space law War (International law)
Major texts:
- Akehurst's modern introduction to international law / Peter Malanczuk
- Guide to Latin in international law
- International law : contemporary principles and practices / Gillian D. Triggs
- Kluwer Arbitration - texts on international commercial arbitration
- Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law
- Parry & Grant encyclopaedic dictionary of international law
Databases:
- GlobaLex (NYU): Guides to international, comparative and foreign law research
- HeinOnline
- Informit
- International Court of Justice
- Kluwer Law International
- LegalTrac
- Lexis Advance
- Oxford Legal Research Library - texts on international commercial law and international commercial arbitration
- ProQuest
- vLexJustis
- From the Quick Search screen, Select Cases, then International Law Reports from the Series drop-down menu
Westlaw Australia - Westlaw Classic
- Westlaw UK
- WorldLII
Research Guides
American Society for International Law (ASIL)
Electronic Resource Guide [to International Law] (ERG) / American Society for International Law (ASIL)
Frequently-Cited Treaties & Other International Instruments LibGuide / University of Minnesota
GlobaLex (NYU)
- Guides to international, comparative and foreign law research.
Guide to Law Online / The Law Library of Congress
- Includes international and multinational as well as specific nations
The International Law Commission – Research Guide
- Select Research > Texts, Instruments and Reports > Sources of International Law
Introduction to International Law / Robert Beckman and Dagmar Butte
The Practitioner’s Guide to International Law / The Law Society of NSW
Public International Law Guide / University of Western Australia
Public International Law Research / UniMelbourne
Public International Law Resources - WorldLII
Researching the United Nations Documents
United Nations International Law Research Guide
WorldLII – links to a number of other research guides
World Treaty Library Training Video / HeinOnline
Journals, Reports & Encyclopaedia
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law
Oxford Public International Law - provides facts of the case with analysis
Oxford Reports on International Law
Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law
Tereposky, Greg and Daniel Hohnstein, 'Searching for the Rule of Law in Today's Uncertain International Trade Environment' (2019) 27(3) Australian Law Librarian 134
History of International Law Timeline
Interactive History of International Law Timeline.
Stretching from 1494 to present, the timeline marks 109 key events marking the most important developments in the history of international law.
Each date links through to an Oxford University Press resource.
International Organisations
International Chamber of Commerce (ICC)
International Court of Justice
Oxford International Organizations (OXIO) - primary materials and analysis on the law of international organizations
UNIDROIT - Organisation for the unification of international private law
Union of International Associations Links to selected organizations
- Alphabetic Index of Websites of the United Nations System Organizations
- Directory of United Nations System Organizations - categorizes and links to UN system and related organizations
- Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General
- Official Document System of the UN
- United Nations Documentation Centre
- United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime
Australian Government Information
Attorney General site - International Law
Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade - International relations information
Office of International Law - Attorney General's Department
Treaties
Australian Treaties Database (DFAT)
Australian International Treaty Making Information Kit (DFAT)
Australian Treaties Library (AustLII)
Department of Foreign Affairs & Trade
EUR-Lex Access to European Union Law
International Treaties Collection (WorldLII)
LawCite - search by parties to treaties
Maritime law resources (WorldLII)
Treaty Research Guide (Vanderbilt University)
International Human Rights
European Center for Minority Issues
European Court of Human Rights and Case Law Portal
Inter-American Court of Human Rights to search for case-law by treaty articles
International Customary Human Rights Law from the International Red Cross
United Nations Development Program
Universal Declaration of Human Rights
United Nations Human Rights - Office of the High Commissioner
European Court of Human Rights (EHRC) - on Thomson Reuters Westlaw indexed on vLexJustis
Space Law
Useful resources:
- Air and Space Law (Journal)
- Montreal Convention
- Manuals > Montreal Convention (commentary updating service)
- Space Law : Basic Legal Documents
- Space Policy Journal
- European Air Law (looseleaf commentary - EU materials)
- The ultimate space law collection / Dorina Andoni
International Organisations:
- Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space
- European Centre for Space Law
- International Civil Aviation Organization
- International Institute of Space Law
- International Law Association, Space Law Committee
- International Space Law, The United Nations Office for Outer Space Affairs
- The Office of Outer Space Affairs
Other useful sources:
- AIAA Proceedings of the Colloquium on the Law of Outer Space
- International Institute of Space Law – Publications
- National Center for Remote Sensing, Air and Space Law – The University of Mississippi School of Law
Use of Force
AFP (Australian Federal Police)
Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
Centre for International Security Studies
Defence Intelligence Organisation (DIO)
Department of Homeland Security
Global Terrorism Database (GTD)
International Institute for Counter-Terrorism
UN Action to Counter Terrorism
US Department of State - Bureau of Counterterrorism (CT)
See also the Security, Terrorism and Counterterrorism Subject Guide.