Textbooks
Property Law texts are shelved at 346.4.
Subject terms to search in the catalogue include: Real property -- Australia; Native title law - Australia; Land tenure -- Law and legislation; Property -- Australia; Property insurance -- Law and legislation.
There are a number of "major texts" in this area with regular editions being released. Check the catalogue for details of the current edition.
- Australian property law : cases and materials / Anthony P Moore, Scott Grattan, Lynden Griggs
- Australian real property law / Anthony Moore, Scott Grattan, Lynden Griggs
- Bradbrook, MacCallum and Moore's Australian real property law / Anthony P. Moore, Scott Grattan, Lynden Griggs
- Butt's land law / Brendan Edgeworth
- Commercial law : commentary and materials / Gail Pearson, Elisabeth Peden, and GJ Tolhurst
- Duties Legislation Western Australia
- Land law / Eileen Webb, Margaret Anne Stephenson
- Law and Business / Ciro, Tony, et al. (concise explanation of the Torrens System)
- Sackville and Neave Australian property law / Brendan Edgeworth ... [et al.]
Commentary & Databases
Halsbury's Laws of Australia - Title 355 Real Property; Title 245 Leases and Tenancies; Title 5 Aboriginals and Torres Strait Islanders.
The Laws of Australia - Title 1: Aborigines and Torres Strait Islanders 1.3. Land Law; Title 28: Real Property.
Journals and Indexes
Some key journals:
- Australian Property Law Journal - Australian
- Construction Lawyer - USA
- The Conveyancer and property lawyer - UK
- Property Law Review - Australian
- Property Management - UK
Full text Journals:
Legislation
Commercial Tenancy (Retail Shops) Agreements Act 1985 (WA)
Land Administration Act 1997 (WA)
Registration of Deeds Act 1856 (WA)
Residential Tenancies Act 1987 (WA)
Transfer of Land Act 1893 (WA)
Legify - easily source all state, territory and federal authorised legislation
Federal Register of Legislation - Commonwealth Legislation
Western Australian Legislation - Western Australian Legislation
LawNow Legislation from Lexis Advance – drill down to a section and click the >> to find related commentary or cases;
Parliament of Australia Bills Digest for bills, links to EM (explanatory memoranda) and Hansard (second reading speeches);
Parliament of Western Australia Hansard - links to EM (explanatory memoranda) and Hansard (second reading speeches).
Case Law
Instructions for How to Source Case Law |
Sourcing Cases by Citation:
- Step 1: Solve the abbreviation of the court reporting series into full using Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
- Step 2: Search for the full name of the court reporting series using Library Search
- Step 3: Source the court reporting series on the correct database (e.g. Lexis Advance or Westlaw Australia) or Library shelves (e.g. All England Law Reports)
Instructions for How to Source Case Law on a Specific Section of Legislation |
Use ICLR to source UK cases.
Court Decisions
State Administrative Tribunal of Western Australia
District Court of Western Australia
Supreme Court of Western Australia
England and Wales High Court (Technology & Construction Court) Decisions
Some key law report series:
- Australian and New Zealand Conveyancing Reports (print)
- Australian and New Zealand Conveyancing Reports 2006+ (online)
- Chancery Division (UK)
- Commonwealth Law Reports
- New South Wales Law Reports
- Privy Council Appeals
- Property, Planning, and Compensation Reports
- Queensland Reports
- Western Australian Reports
Australian Case Law
- CaseBase from Lexis Advance - a citation and abstract service to Australian case law, links to some fulltext.
- Westlaw Australia: Content Type: Cases - a subject index and citator for Australian case law, links to some fulltext.
- CCH iKnowConnect - includes a range of Australian decisions from a number of practice areas.
- AustLII - free full text access to Australian medium neutral citation versions and unreported judgments.
- Jade - free database and current awareness service of Australian case law
- LawCite - a free, automatically generated Australian and international legal case and journal article citator.
- Doyles Construction Lawyers - selected construction law cases
International Case Law
- BAILII - British, Irish, EU case law, legislation and law commission reports
- CommonLII - Case law from 60 Commonwealth and common law jurisdictions
- HeinOnline - English Reports (1220-1867)
- ICLR - Incorporated Council of Law Reporting for England and Wales, full text case law database
- LawCite - a free, automatically generated Australian and international legal case and journal article citator
- vLexJustis - Citatation and abstract of UK, Irish, EU, Singaporean and other international case law
- Westlaw Classic - full text of international legal resources, includes UK, Canada, US and EU Case Law
- Westlaw UK - UK and EU case law
- WorldLII - global international law, broad coverage
Forms and Precedents
Each Court has its own set of court documents which are set out in the relevant legislation and by the Court.
The Source Legal Forms & Precedents Guide lists links to these in detail.
UK Civil procedure - Thomson Reuters Westlaw - Civil Procedure tab includes:
- The White Book (The Supreme Court Practice - UK);
- Bullen and Leake and Jacobs Precedents of Pleadings.
Past editions of the White Book (The Supreme Court Practice UK) (print) White Book (UK Civil Procedure)
The Australian Encyclopedia of Forms & Precedents contains non-litigious precedents and forms for areas such as property, commercial and corporations law.