NOTICE: This guide is currently under review, with a new guide to be launched before Semester 1, 2025. In the meantime, please direct any queries or feedback about this guide to the Library's Digital Experience via our Enquiry and Feedback form.
Textbooks
Insurance texts are shelved at 346.86.
Subject terms in the catalogue include Australia (insurance OR "insurance law").
Some texts include:
- Australian Insurance Law: A First Reference / Greg Pynt
- The Law of Liability Insurance / Hon. Desmond Derrington QC and Ronald Shaw Ashton
- Sutton on Insurance Law / Ian Enright and Robert Merkin
Commentary
- Title 110: Contract
- Title 235: Insurance
- Title 7: Contract: General Principles
- Title 8: Contracts: Specific
- Title 22: Insurance and Income Security
Australian and New Zealand Insurance Commentary (CCH iKnowConnect):
on the left sidebar, expand 'Insurance Law' and then click 'Australian and New Zealand Insurance Commentary'
Insurance and Reinsurance (i-law):
on the i-law left sidebar, click 'Insurance and Reinsurance' and then click 'Publications'
Kelly And Ball Principles Of Insurance Law (Lexis Advance):
from the LexisNexis AU homepage, click 'Commentary' and then click 'Browse'
Mann’s Annotated Insurance Law (Westlaw Australia):
click on the + Legislation and Commentary, scroll down the alphabetical listing of Product titles.
UK titles
Birds' modern insurance law by John Birds
Marine insurance law by Özlem Gürses
Journals
Key Databases
Key Journals
- Australian Insurance Law Bulletin: provides summaries and analysis of insurance news, policies, legislation and case law development.
- Insurance Law Journal: provides analysis of significant issues in Australian and international insurance law with a focus on insurance law in Australia and New Zealand.
- International Insurance Law Review: covers developments in the law relating to insurance and reinsurance, as well as international litigation issues, especially in common law jurisdictions
- Journal of Business Law
Databases
Legislation
Key Australian legislation relating to insurance law include:
- Insurance Act 1973 (Cth)
- Second Reading Speech, Insurance Bill 1973 (Cth)
- Commonwealth, Parliamentary Debates, House of Representatives, 23 May 1973
- Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth)
Application of recommendations of the Financial Services Royal Commission:
- Financial Sector Reform (Hayne Royal Commission Response) Act 2020
- Financial Sector Reform (Hayne Royal Commission Response) Bill 2020, EM, Second Reading Speech, Bills Digest
- Financial Sector Reform ( Hayne Royal Commission Response No. 2) Bill 2020, EM, Second Reading Speech, Bills Digest
- Financial Sector Reform (Hayne Royal Commission Response—Protecting Consumers (2019 Measures)) Act 2020
- Financial Sector Reform ( Hayne Royal Commission Response) - Protecting Consumers (2019 Measures)) Bill 2019, EM, Second Reading Speech, Bills Digest
- Financial Sector Reform (Hayne Royal Commission Response—Stronger Regulators (2019 Measures)) Act 2020
- Financial Sector Reform ( Hayne Royal Commission Response) - Stronger Regulators (2019 Measures)) Bill 2019, EM, Second Reading Speech, Bills Digest
There is also specific legislation for different areas of insurance such as:
- Health Insurance Act 1973 (Cth)
- Life Insurance Act 1995 (Cth)
- Marine Insurance Act 1909 (Cth)
- Motor Vehicle (Third Party Insurance) Act 1943 (WA)
- Motor Vehicle (Catastrophic Injuries) Act 2016 (WA)
Legislation databases:
- Commonwealth - Federal Register of Legislation
- Western Australian Legislation
- UK - Legislation.gov.uk
- Legify - links to authoritative versions of legislation from Australian jurisdictions
Other resources relating to legislation:
- vLexJustis links to UK legislation and related materials
- LawNow Legislation from Lexis Advance - drill down to a section and click the >> to find related commentary or cases on Lexis Advance
- Parliament of Australia Bills Digest for bills, links to Explanatory Memoranda and Hansard (second reading speeches)
- Parliament of Western Australia Hansard for links to Explanatory Memoranda and Hansard (second reading speeches)
Case Law
Relevant Australian Case Citators
-
CaseBase from Lexis Advance: a citation and abstract service to Australian case law, links to some fulltext.
-
Westlaw Australia: a subject index and citator for Australian case law, links to some fulltext.
-
AustLII: free full text access to Australian medium neutral citation versions and unreported judgments.
-
Jade: free database and current awareness service of Australian case law
-
LawCite: a free, automatically generated Australian and international legal case and journal article citator.
Relevant UK Case Citators
- Westlaw UK: access to UK and EU legal materials including cases
- BAILII: free full text access to British, Irish, EU case law, legislation and law commission reports
- ICLR: access full text authorised case law
- i-law: access to cases, legislation and commentary on insurance law
- vLexJustis: full text of UK, Irish, EU, Singapore and other international case law
Websites
Australian and New Zealand Institute of Insurance and Finance (ANZIIF): education, training and professional development organisation that provides services for the insurance and finance industry.
Australian Insurance Law Association: national non-profit organisation formed to provide a forum for the promotion, review, development and debate of insurance law through seminars, workshops and conferences.
Australian Prudential Regulation Authority (APRA) - General Insurance: government body that supervises general insurers under the Insurance Act 1973. APRA's website includes useful publications for insurers and the general public.
Australian Securities & Investments Commission (ASIC) - Insurance: basic overview of the types of insurances available.
Australian Financial Complaints Authority (AFCA): provides dispute resolution for areas including insurance law.
International Comparative Legal Guides (ICLG) - Insurance and Reinsurance (Australia): brief guide to Australian insurance law.
In the Wake of Disasters - Chapter 2: a 2012 government report that provides an overview of the general insurance industry in Australia.
The Law Reform Commission Report No. 20: Insurance Contracts (also available from Westlaw Australia)