NOTICE: This guide is currently under review, with a new guide to be launched before Semester 1, 2025. In the meantime, please direct any queries or feedback about this guide to the Library's Digital Experience via our Enquiry and Feedback form.
Textbooks
Evidence texts are shelved at 345.6 and 347.6
Subject terms to search in the catalogue include: Evidence (Law) -- Australia; Evidence, Expert; Australia. Evidence Act 1995; Witnesses -- Australia; Admissible evidence -- Australia; Evidence Law -- Western Australia
- Australian evidence : a principled approach to the common law and the uniform acts / Andrew Ligertwood, Gary Edmond
- Expert evidence / Ian Freckelton, Hugh Selby
- Rules of evidence in Australia: text & cases / Kenneth J Arenson, Mirko Bagaric
Commentary
- Australian High Court and Federal Court Practice Commentary
- Australian Uniform Evidence Law Commentary
Lexis Advance: Commentaries. Access the Source Directory, browse to locate criminal law, click on browse, then Criminal Law Western Australia. You can open the “chapters” by clicking on the +, or use the quick find at the top of the screen and tick the sections you want to search, or search the whole publication.
Westlaw Australia: Commentaries – Criminal law
-
Ross on Crime – Note this is multi-jurisdictional – so make sure you focus on the WA notes
See also:
- Dictionary of Law Enforcement - Oxford Reference Online
- Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences - Wiley
- Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences - Science Direct Reference
Databases
Case Law
Decisions of criminal cases on appeal in the Supreme Court are added to the unreported judgments databases on both Lexis Advance - unreported judgments 1987+ and more recently on Westlaw Australia
Remember jury trials do not produce judgments
AustLII
District Court selected Sentencing Remarks
Supreme Court selected Sentencing Remarks
Australian Criminal Reports (A Crim R) Westlaw Australia. To find specific cases, search by Citation using the format 149 A Crim R 542. The plain text will display, with links to the full text pdf version as well as to cases which have judicially considered this case – Citing References.
Western Australian Reports (WAR) 1983+ Westlaw Australia, prior to 1983 only available in print
Journals and Indexes
Full text journals: