Texts
Criminal Law texts are located in the 345s (Law Library, Level 3) and in the 364s (level 4).
Specific shelf/call/Dewey numbers for Criminal Law topics:
Causes of Crime and Delinquency - 364.2
Conspiracy - 345.231
Crime Prevention - 364.4
Criminal Offences - 364.1
Fraud - 345.263
Homicide - 364.152
Offenders - 364.3
Property Crime - 345.262
Sex Crimes - 364.153
Youth & Juvenile Delinquency - 362.7
Subject terms to search in the catalogue include: Criminal law -- Australia; Criminal law -- Western Australia; Criminal procedure -- Western Australia; Forensic sciences; Evidence, Expert.; Evidence Law -- Western Australia.
There are a number of major texts in this area with regular editions being released.
Check the catalogue for details of the current edition.
- Criminal law in Queensland and Western Australia
- Criminal Law in Queensland and Western Australia: Cases and Commentary
- Principles of Criminal Law in Queensland and Western Australia
- Ross on Crime
To source ebooks, search for a title or topic, then refine the search Results by Book/eBook, and Full Text Online.
Commentary
Lexis Advance: Criminal Law Western Australia.
Expand chapters by clicking on the +, or use the quick find at the top of the screen and tick the sections you want to search, or search the whole publication.
Westlaw Australia (Legal Online): Commentaries – Criminal law
-
Ross on Crime – Note this is multi-jurisdictional – so make sure you focus on the WA notes
See also:
- Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences - Wiley
- Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences
- Dictionary of Law Enforcement - Oxford Reference Online
Journals and Indexes
Indexes:
- Westlaw Australia - Content Type: Secondary Sources - Index to Australian Cases and Journals
- Lexis Advance - CaseBase - Index to Australian cases and journals
- Westlaw UK - Index to UK journals
Full text Journals:
- CINCH (Australian Institute of Criminology database)
- Gale Academic OneFile
- HeinOnline
- Informit
- Lexis Advance
- Oxford Reports on International Law
- ProQuest
- SAGE Journals
- Westlaw Classic
- Westlaw Australia
- Westlaw UK
Statistics
Australian Bureau of Statistics – Click on statistics, then by topic - Crime and Justice
District Court – Click on publications and statistics
Australian Institute of Criminology Click on About Crime and Criminal Justice
UWA Faculty of Law - Reports and Statistics including data from the now defunct Crime Research Centre
Databases
Legislation
Western Australian Legislation - Western Australian legislation
Federal Register of Legislation Commonwealth legislation
-
Click on Advanced Search > Legislation
-
To search the criminal code section 409 type criminal code in the legislation title box then type 409 into the sec/reg/rule search box. From the Jurisdiction menu select Western Australia
- Use the Search results filters to Limit to Jurisdiction
- Used Legislation Advanced Search more options to find Legislation Judicially Considered (Legislation cited (title)): type in criminal code and type the section number in the Legislation cited (provision) box.
-
Go to the Western Australian consolidated acts, click to the relevant section of the legislation and click on [Noteup]. Remember WA legislation on AustLII is NOT always CURRENT (so be sure to check this) and is not the authorised version.
Case Law
Decisions of criminal cases on appeal in the Supreme Court are added to the unreported judgments databases on both Lexis Advance - unreported judgments 1987+ and more recently on Westlaw Australia
Remember jury trials do not produce judgments
AustLII
District Court selected Sentencing Remarks
Supreme Court selected Sentencing Remarks
Australian Criminal Reports (A Crim R) Westlaw Australia. To find specific cases, search by Citation using the format 149 A Crim R 542. The plain text will display, with links to the full text pdf version as well as to cases which have judicially considered this case – Citing References.
Western Australian Reports (WAR)
1983+ Westlaw Australia
1959 - 1982 only available in print in the Law Library
1898 - 1958 - Western Australian Law Reports (WALawRp) - AustLII
Government Resources
Western Australian Hansard
- Western Australia: WA issues a combined Hansard for both the Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council. Look in the subject index directly under the name of the Bill to find references to debates. WA Hansard is online from 1999/2000 onwards.
- Current Bills information & EMs
- Selected Explanatory Memoranda (only - Pre-2000) current
- Note: Hansard is in the Law Library at GR 328.9402 A938 1 (Cth) and GR 328.94102 W527 3 (WA)
- Search by Portfolio may be the most effective method of finding old media statements.
Law Reform Commission of Western Australia
For more information:
Websites
WorldLII resources on Criminal law
