NOTICE: This guide is currently under review, with a new guide to be launched before Semester 1, 2025. In the meantime, please direct any queries or feedback about this guide to the Library's Digital Experience via our Enquiry and Feedback form.
Textbooks
Corporations Law texts are shelved at 346.66
Subject terms to search in the catalogue include: Corporate law; Business enterprises; Company law; corporations
There are a number of "major texts" in this area with regular editions being released. Check the catalogue for details of the current edition.
- Austin, R P & Ramsay, I M, Ford’s Principles of Corporations Law
- Hanrahan, Pamela, et al, Commercial Applications of Company Law
- Lipton, Phillip and Herzberg, Abe, Understanding Company Law
- Woodward, Susan et al, Corporations Law – In Principle
Commentary
- Ford's Principles of Corporations Law
- Australian Corporation Law Principles & Practice
- Australian Journal of Corporate Law
- Lindgren's Business Law of Australia
- Takeovers and Reconstructions in Australia
- Navigate Practice Areas to:
- Company and Securities Law
- Corporate Governance & Compliance Law - contains the Australian Directors Manual, Australian Corporate Practice Manual etc
- Robson's Annotated Corporations Legislation
- Australian Bankruptcy Law and Practice
- Company Receivers and Administrators
Centre for Corporate Law & Securities Regulation (Melbourne Law School - The University of Melbourne)
- CCLSR includes media commentary, bulletins, useful links
- History of Australian Corporate Law - guide to key documents in the development of Australian corporate law
Journals and Indexes
There are a number of databases that contain relevant journal articles:
Business databases:
Company Information:
Australian materials:
- CaseBase Journals Index
- Australian Business Law Review
- Company and Securities Law Journal
- Corporate Governance e-journal by Bond University
International materials:
- Westlaw Classic - Legal database and News sources, Legal Journals Index (UK journal index), Canadian resources
- Westlaw UK - Legal database and News sources, Legal Journals Index (UK journal index)
Databases
Legislation
Key pieces of legislation that apply to corporations include:
- Australian Constitution 1901 (Cth)
- Corporations Act 2001 (Cth)
- Australian Securities & Investments Commission Act 2001 (Cth)
- Partnership Act 1895 (WA)
Simple instructions for sourcing source legislation and extrinsic materials
Legislation:
Other resources relating to legislation:
- LawNow Legislation from Lexis+ – drill down to a section and click the >> to find related commentary or cases on Lexis+
- Parliament of Australia Bills Digest for bills, links to EM (explanatory memoranda) and Hansard (second reading speeches)
- Parliament of Western Australia Hansard - links to EM (explanatory memoranda) and Hansard (second reading speeches)
Government & Business Resources
ASIC (Australian Securities and Investments Commission)
Business.gov.au - Business gateway to Government information and services
The Treasury - Australian Government
Parliamentary Joint Committee on Corporations and Financial Services
Australian Stock Exchange (ASX)
Centre for Corporate Law & Securities Regulation - Melbourne Law School - University of Melbourne
