Textbooks
Comparative Law texts are shelved at 340.2
Subject terms to search in the catalogue include: Comparative law
Comparative Law text that focus on a particular area of law - such as comparative constitutional law, comparative criminal law and comparative contract law - are shelved through the Law Library. Search the Library Catalogue to locate these texts.
There are a variety of useful texts for this area of the law, some include:
- The Cambridge companion to comparative law / edited by Mauro Bussani and Ugo Mattei
- Concise introduction to comparative law / Prof. Dr. Michael Bogdan
- Legal traditions of the world : sustainable diversity in law / H. Patrick Glenn
- The Oxford handbook of comparative constitutional law / edited by Michel Rosenfeld and András Sajó
Journals and Indexes
Key journals in this area include:
- Duke Journal of Comparative & International Law
- European Journal of Comparative Law and Governance (3 year embargo on full text articles)
- Indonesian Journal of International & Comparative Law
- Journal of Comparative Law
- Journal of International and Comparative Law
- Loyola of Los Angeles International and Comparative Law Journal
- Maastricht Journal of European and Comparative Law
- Notre Dame Journal of International and Comparative Law
Key Databases include:
- CaseBase (Index to Australian cases and journals)
- HeinOnline - Includes foreign and international law resources database, the US "Treaties and Agreements" library, and the European Center for Minority Issues
- Informit - AGIS Plus text, APAFT – (Australian legal journals and newspapers)
- Kluwer International Journals (now available through SpringerLink Journals)
- Oxford Academic Journals (multidisciplinary)
- Oxford Reports on Public International Law
- Oxford University Comparative Law Forum
- Westlaw Classic – Legal Journals Index (UK), ILM, Legal Journals Index
- Westlaw UK
- WorldLII - International Law collection
- Bodleian Library Comparative Law Study Guide
Case Law
Members of the Free Access to Law Movement (FALM) Provides links to Country based organisations providing freely available case law, legislation, law reform and secondary sources.
Oxford Reports on Public International Law
Websites
EUR-Lex provides free access to EU law, Preparatory Acts, Case Law, Agreements and other public documents
Global and Comparative Law Resources - Library of Congress
GlobaLex - Foreign, Comparative and International Law
International Academy of Comparative Law
International Chamber of Commerce (ICC)
International Court of Justice
LegiGlobe - legal systems of the world
LLRX guide to Comparative and Foreign Law
Oxford Public International Law
Oxford University Comparative Law Forum
UNIDROIT - Organisation for the unification of international private law
Union of International Associations Links to selected organizations
Directory of United Nations System Organizations
Official Web Site Locator for United Nations System of Organization
United Nations System of Organizations Alphabetic Index of Websites of the United Nations System of Organizations
United Nations Document Search
United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime
WTO - World Trade Organisation