Skip to Main Content

Sociology and Community Development - Subject Guide

Journals and Databases

Sociology & Community Development Databases

Sage Research Methods (SRM) should be your first point of reference.

Informit, a multidisciplinary collection of Australasian resources covering a wide range of subjects, is also a key database for articles on Australian government social policy.

Database

Description
Academic OneFile Multidisciplinary collection of journals, many of them peer-reviewed.
Academic Video Online Academic Video Online includes a variety of video material spanning subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
APA-FT (Australian Public Affairs Full Text
APA-FT indexes Australian content in journals, newspapers, conferences and books covering economic, political and public affairs.
Asian Film Online  Asian Film Online comprises over 450 narrative feature films, documentaries, and shorts. The collection provides Asian perspectives on Asian issues.
Clickview ClickView contains over 6,500 educational videos, and provides access to 18 Australian free-to-air TV channels.
EduTV
Informit EduTV is an online TV streaming resource for Australian tertiary institutions.
Families & Society Collection Covers family, marriage, women; culture and institutions, private, civil and family law; social services and public welfare.
FAMILY Indexes resources on all aspects of the family in Australia.
Humanities & Social Sciences Collection A collection of Australian and Asia-Pacific content in the humanities and social sciences.
JSTOR An archive of back issues of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and health and general sciences.
MAIS: Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies Indexes resources on all aspects of Australian immigration and multicultural issues
Oxford Academic A multidisciplinary collection of over 150 journals, including many titles in the humanities and social sciences.
ProQuest Central ProQuest Central is the largest, multidisciplinary, full-text database including journals, conference proceedings, annual reports, theses and dissertations.
SAGE Journals A multidisciplinary collection of journals. Includes many business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine titles. 
SAGE Research Methods SAGE Research Methods (SRM) allows researchers to explore methods and concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.