Safety at Murdoch
The Murdoch University Wellbeing, Safety and Health Guide will direct you to a wide range of lab safety resources found in the Library and online.
Specific lab safety information is not provided here. Instead reference should be made to guidelines, policies and procedures provided by the University.
The Office of Occupational Safety and Health is responsible for ensuring the development and implementation of Policies and Procedures to ensure that Staff, Students, Visitors and Contractors are not, so far as is practicable, exposed to hazards and risks within the workplace.
The office of OSH works in consultation with and provides advice and assistance to the elected Safety & Health Representatives and the Safety & Health Committees.
Guidance on matters such as OSH Legislation, Incident & Hazard Reporting and Investigation, Ergonomics, Safe Systems of Work, Manual Handling, Safety Audits can be obtained either on line through the various links below or by contacting the Office of OSH.
Journals for Chemical Safety
Provides you with details of literature reports on safety and health hazards surrounding chemicals encountered in chemical and related industries, including key scientific and trade journals.
Provides you with details of literature reports on safety measures, potential hazards and new legislation affecting workers in laboratories, including key scientific and trade journals.
Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas, including Toxline.
Chemical safety and laboratory safety books
Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards by Call Number: R 660.2804 BRE 2017ISBN: 9780081009710Publication Date: 2017Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards, Eighth Edition presents the latest updates on the unexpected, but predictable, loss of containment and explosion hazards from chemicals and their admixtures and actual accidents. The extensively cross-referenced book enables readers to avoid explosion and loss of containment of chemicals. Primary and more specialized sources are easily traced, and this new edition includes available record updates, also adding a number of new records. In this newly updated and expanded edition, the content is presented in a clear and user-friendly format.
Bretherick's handbook of reactive chemical hazards [electronic resource] : an indexed guide to published data by ISBN: 0750643420Publication Date: 1999A database on reactive chemical hazards. It attempts to include every chemical for which documented information on reactive hazards has been found. The content covers over 5000 elements or compounds and as many again of secondary entries involving two or more compounds.
CRC Handbook of Laboratory Safety by Call Number: 542.10289 CRC 2000ISBN: 0849325234Publication Date: 2000Expanded and updated, The CRC Handbook of Laboratory Safety, Fifth Edition provides information on planning and building a facility, developing an organization infrastructure, planning for emergencies and contingencies, choosing the correct equipment, developing operational plans, and meeting regulatory requirements.
Laboratory Safety for Chemistry Students by Call Number: 542.0289 HIL 2016ISBN: 9781119027669Publication Date: 2016Provides knowledge and models of good practice needed by students to work safely in the laboratory as they progress through four years of undergraduate laboratory work. Covers a thorough exposure to chemical health and safety so that students will have the proper education and training when they enter the workforce or graduate school
Prudent practices in the laboratory [electronic resource] : handling and disposal of chemicalsISBN: 0309052297Publication Date: 1995Updates and combines two publications, Prudent Practices for Handling Hazardous Chemicals in Laboratories (1981) and Prudent Practices for Disposal of Chemicals from Laboratories (1983). Explore the current culture of laboratory safety and provides an updated guide to federal regulations. Organized
Prudent practices in the laboratory [electronic resource] : handling and management of chemical hazardsISBN: 9780309138659Publication Date: 2011Prudent Practices in the Laboratory--the book that has served for decades as the standard for chemical laboratory safety practice--now features updates and new topics. This revised edition has an expanded chapter on chemical management and delves into new areas, such as nanotechnology, laboratory security, and emergency planning.
Chemical Safety Online Resources
ACS - Chemical & Laboratory Safety
Chemists understand that working with chemicals and developing new materials and chemical processes involve some degree of risk. Specific incidents in academic, industrial, and public settings emphasize the need for clear focus on safety throughout the chemistry enterprise.
Royal Society of Chemistry - Lab Safety Modules
Excellent resource on all aspects of Lab Safety- including general safety, chemical, waste products and so on.
This blog covers chemical safety issues in academic and industrial research labs as well as in manufacturing and serves as a unique forum for exchange and discussion of lab and plant safety and accident information.
Journals on Chemical Safety
Chemosphere is an international journal that includes the following sections and subject fields: Environmental Chemistry (including Persistent Organic Pollutants and Dioxins), Toxicology and Risk Assessment, Treatment and Remediation.
Chemical health & safety (Online)
A joint publication of the American Chemical Society and the ACS Division of Chemical Health and Safety, this journal focuses on news, information, and ideas relating to issues and advances in chemical health and safety.
Journal of hazardous materials (Online)
The Journal of Hazardous Materials publishes full-length research papers, review articles, and case studies that improve our understanding of the hazards and risks that certain materials pose to public health and the environment.
Process Safety Progress covers process safety for engineering professionals. It addresses such topics as incident investigations/case histories, hazardous chemicals management, hazardous leaks prevention, risk assessment, process hazards evaluation, industrial hygiene, fire and explosion analysis, preventive maintenance, vapor cloud dispersion, and regulatory compliance, training, education, and other areas in process safety and loss prevention, including emerging concerns like plant and/or process security.