Skip to main content

Chemistry - Subject Guide

Journals and Databases

Chemistry Databases

Database Description
Scopus A multidisciplinary database which is very strong in the sciences and has many useful search features. It includes all the journals indexed in Medline.
SciFinder Provides web-based access to Chemical Abstracts (CA) covering all aspects of chemistry and other disciplines as they relate to chemistry. Nearly 650,000 documents and 123,000 patents are added each year.
ChemSpider A free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 26 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
Web of Science Core Collection
Web of Science Core Collection is a prestigious citation index for scientific and scholarly research. It includes a collection of over 18,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals), as well as conference proceedings and book data, in over 250 disciplines. A Web of Science Core Collection Guide is available.
CHERUB: Chemical Engineering Reference User Bibliography Indexes chemical engineering literature, including general and specialist topics. It includes subjects such as design and operation of chemical plant and equipment, chemical process information, process control, environmental considerations and mineral processing..
American Chemical Society Journals Full text of most journals published by the American Chemical Society. Subjects covered include biological sciences, engineering, environmental science, mathematical and physical sciences, and veterinary and biomedical sciences. Chemical & Engineering News is not included.
Royal Society of Chemistry Package Gold Journals and newsletters in chemistry and related disciplines, from the 19th century to present. Included are journals with an environmental perspective, such as Green Chemistry and Journal of Environmental Monitoring.
ScienceDirect Multidisciplinary collection of full text journals, reference works, books, and a web search engine (Scirus).
Wiley Online Library A multidisciplinary seamless integrated collection of resources, including journals, reference works and books, laboratory protocol manuals, and the Cochrane Library database.
Current Contents Connect Provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic data from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Cover-to-cover indexing of journal articles, reviews, meeting abstracts, editorials, etc., is provided for more than 7500 international journals covering all disciplines.

PubChem
PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. PubChem is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool 

Sigma-Aldrich

Search Sigma-Aldrich Documents and Web Content by Keyword:

Includes: Web Pages, PDFs, DataSheets, Technical Bulletins, Brochures, etc.

Discover Chemistry Journals with BrowZine