History - Subject Guide

This online encyclopedia contains a large number of articles written by scholars from around the world on topics related to the "Springtime of the Peoples," the popular revolutions that spread across Europe in 1848.

An index of scholarly websites that offer online access to primary sources on the history of Europe.

An online guide to some 90,000 pamphlets, many from the 19th and early 20th centuries. Issues covered include political parties, social policy, poor laws, transport etc. Includes European and International materials. A most useful collection for researchers and historians.

A broad overview of the history of the British Empire.

An important resource for historians, especially those working in the UK or studying in Britain. Essentially a database of some 30,000 records. Searchable categories include: books, journals, and articles published in the UK (some with abstracts); higher education History teachers in the UK; history theses completed in the UK since 1900 as well as theses in progress; and seminars and conferences held at the IHR.

Charles Booth was a 19th century Victorian-era Englishman concerned with the rapid increase in poverty and human suffering throughout London that developed during the late 19th century.

A joint project by the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford, to digitize selected twenty-year runs of three eighteenth and three nineteenth-century journals. Journals include: Annual Register (1758-78), Gentleman's Magazine (1731-50), Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society (1757-77), Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine (1843-52), Notes and Queries (1849-69) and The Builder (1843-9).

The principal information gateway for UK archivists and users of manuscript sources for British history.

A fully searchable online edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing accounts of over 100,000 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court.

VRW is dedicated to the scholarly study of the nineteenth century in Britain, and to aiding researchers, teachers, and students in their investigations of any and all aspects of this fascinating period.

The primary research resource for British and Irish archaeology.

An extensive online resource for contemporary and historical Irish documents in literature, history and politics.

An online, searchable database of noted Irish serials in the Boston College Libraries' collection, with a date range from 1685 to the present and covering Irish history, literature, politics, art, archaeology, economics, genealogy, music, and law.

Covers period from June 7 1921 to March 28 1972.

An excellent collection of contemporary British newspaper articles and illustrations relating to the Great Irish Famine. The site features several contemporary newspapers, including the illustrated London News, the Pictorial Times, and Punch, which demonstrate the range of opinions on the famine and the Irish people held by the British press and their readers. Some of the over 100 contemporary illustrations are in a high-resolution format suitable for printing. Additional features include a full text narrative of a journey in 1847 Ireland and links to other Famine sites.

This online encyclopedia contains a large number of articles written by scholars from around the world on topics related to the "Springtime of the Peoples," the popular revolutions that spread across Europe in 1848.

Focusing on French history between 1796 to 1815, the site offers information on the era's major powers, armies, soldiers, battles, the Naval War, the War of 1812, and much more.

This site offers a good cross-section of translated propaganda material from Nazi Germany and the German Democratic Republic (GDR).