History - Subject Guide

A creative look at the Australian film and television industry from its earliest days to the present, including clips from Australian feature films.world.

The Mitchell Library collections focus on Australia; documenting the history and society of Australian people including European exploration and discovery. The collection includes a wide range of formats; books, maps, works of art, photographs, coins, stamps, magazines, ephemera, sound recordings and electronic resources. It is the pre-eminent collection of Australiana in the world.

Developed by the National Archives of Australia this site contains original texts, transcripts and information relating to various constitutional documents of the 19th and 20th century from State, Federal and Imperial sources.

Guide covers Acts, Hansards, Gazettes and Parliamentary Papers located in Australia's National, State and Territory libraries or available on the Internet.

Compiled by the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.

Compiled by the Parliamentary Library, Parliament of Australia.

Photographs depicting many aspects of Australia and Australian lifestyle from the 1850's to the 1990's selected from the collection of the National Archives.

Provides links to research publications, exhibitions and other Australian studies sites relating to Australian culture and society.

Users can search and browse through images selected from the National Library of Australia Pictorial Collection.

A discovery service for Australian research data.

Find and access Australian and online resources: books, images, historic newspapers, maps, music, archives and more.

A free online service that will enable full-text searching of newspaper articles. This will include newspapers published in each state and territory from the 1800s to the mid-1950s, when copyright applies.

State Records Office of Western Australia. Records relating to Aboriginal people held by the SRO are an important source of information for those interested in tracing their family history, particularly for those people who were removed from their families and resettled elsewhere in the State, as well as being a valuable historical resource.

A comprehensive site providing links to sources on Australian Aboriginal history, social issues, art and culture.

Selected by the Subject Librarian for Australian Indigenous Studies at Murdoch University Library.

Research material, including bibliographies, on Aboriginal and Islander Studies, as well as a catalogue of Aboriginal Studies Press publications.

Images, wartime history, the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Biographical Index, and the ability to search by language group.

South West Aboriginal Land and Sea Council.

A guide to manuscript, pictorial and oral history materials relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders in the National Library of Australia.

Guide to records from the National Archives of Australia.

The National Trust (WA) in partnerships with the Friends of the Battye Library Inc.

The Journals of Lachlan & Elizabeth Macquarie.

Provides an important record of city and country life in late 1800s and early 1900s New South Wales with a number of broad themes: Sydney and suburbs; south coast; Blue Mountains; transport; rural New South Wales; shipping; caves; sports; Indigenous peoples of Australia and the South Pacific.

Seeks to record comprehensive information on all 332,000 men and women (i.e. nurses) who served in the the Australian Imperial Force 1914-19.

Covers the Australia-Japan relationship from 1901-1957, concentrating particularly on the wartime relationship.

Lists sources, resources, courses and current researchers in the field of Australian media history. It is designed to be a central tool of Australian media history research.

Compiled by the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.

Mark Gregory's collected union songs, including those produced during the 1998 waterfront dispute. Covers songs, articles, recordings, books, song links and union links.