Skip to Main Content

History - Subject Guide

Journals and Databases

History Databases

Database Description
Academic OneFile A multidisciplinary collection of journals (many of them peer-reviewed) and reference sources.
Adam Matthew Digital collections of manuscripts and rare printed sources that are both detailed enough for scholarly research and accessible enough for undergraduate use.
Archives Unbound A collection of documents covering topics including U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history. Broad topic clusters include: African American studies; American Indian studies; Asian studies; British history; Holocaust studies; LGBT studies; Latin American and Caribbean studies; Middle East studies; political science; religious studies; and women’s studies.
Bibliography of Asian Studies BAS indexes resources on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia.
British History Online A collection of nearly 1300 volumes of primary and secondary content relating to British and Irish history, and histories of empire and the British world. BHO also provides access to 40,000 images and 10,000 tiles of historic maps of the British Isles.
Cambridge Histories Online This unique historical reference compendium contains over 300 volumes published since 1960. These are grouped into topics, making it quick and easy to search and browse through an array of historical subject areas. 
Chinese Foreign Policy Database Curating 1000s of documents from Chinese and international archives, this database offers insights into China’s foreign policy since 1949 and its relationship to ideology, revolution, the economy, and traditional Chinese culture.
Empire Online This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.
Endangered Archives Program The Endangered Archives Programme captures forgotten and still not written histories, often suppressed or marginalised. It gives voice to the voiceless: it opens a dialogue with global humanity’s multiple pasts.
Humanities & Social Sciences Collection A collection of Australian and Asia-Pacific content in the humanities and social sciences. Included are journals, books, conference proceedings, research papers and reference materials.
Japan Center for Asian Historical Records An online database by the National Archives of Japan, designed for releasing historical documents concerning modern Japanese relations with other countries. 
JSTOR
JSTOR is an archive of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and health and general sciences. Also included is the 19th Century British Pamphlets collection comprising the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in UK research libraries.
ProQuest Central ProQuest Central is the largest, multidisciplinary, full-text database including journals, conference proceedings, annual reports, theses and dissertations.
SAGE Journals A multidisciplinary collection of journals. Includes many business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology and medicine titles.
SAGE Research Methods SAGE Research Methods (SRM) allows researchers to explore methods and concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings
Southeast Asia Digital Library The Southeast Asia Digital Library (SEADL) exists to provide educators, students, scholars and members of the general public with a wide variety of materials published or otherwise produced in Southeast Asia.
Twentieth Century Religious Thought Twentieth Century Religious Thought is a multivolume online collection that brings together the seminal works and archival materials related to key worldwide religious thinkers from the early 1900s until the turn of the 21st century.
Wilson Center Digital Archive: International History Declassified The Digital Archive contains once-secret documents from governments all across the globe, uncovering new sources and providing fresh insights into the history of international relations and diplomacy.
Women in the National Archives This resource comprises the Finding Aid to Women's Studies Resources in The National Archives (formerly the Public Record Office), and original documents on the suffrage question in Britain, the Empire and Colonial Territories.
World Digital Library The WDL is an online archive of cross-cultural treasures and significant historical documents including books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints and photographs, sound recordings, and films.

Pictorial & Film Databases

Database Description
British Pathe Film Archive Images, which date back to the turn of the 20th century, have been captured from the archives of the British Pathe newsreel, a cinema news service that pre-dated television. The project involved rescanning every centimetre of the archive's 3500 hours of 35mm film.
East Asia Image Collection Digitized photographs, negatives, postcards, and slides of colonial Taiwan (1900-45) and occupied Japan (1947-52).
Documenting a Democracy - Picture Album National Archives of Australia.
Images of American Political History This sites offers some 500 public domain images related to American political history from the colonial era to the present.
Images of History on the Web Created by David Mattison, Access Services Archivist, British Columbia's Archives.
London College of Fashion: College Archive - Visual Arts Data Archive 1,000+ images from the London College of Fashion (LCF) spanning the history of the institution from its beginnings as two needletrade institutions in the early twentieth century to the 1970s.
Mura Gadi A guide to manuscript, pictorial and oral history materials relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders in the National Library of Australia.
PhotoSearch Photographs depicting many aspects of Australia and Australian lifestyle from the 1850's to the 1990's selected from the collection of the National Archives.
Manuscripts, Oral History and Picture Catalogue State Library of New South Wales
Pictures, Photos Objects Trove, National Library of Australia
Pictures Users can search and browse through images selected from the National Library of Australia Pictorial Collection.
Time & Life Pictures Over 22 million images, including illustrations, prints, and photographs. Includes archival materials from many popular magazine such as Time, Life, Sports Illustrated, People, and Entertainment Weekly, as well as material from the recently acquired Mansell Collection.
Tyrrell Photographic Collection Provides an important record of city and country life in late 1800s and early 1900s New South Wales with a number of broad themes: Sydney and suburbs; south coast; Blue Mountains; transport; rural New South Wales; shipping; caves; sports; Indigenous peoples of Australia and the South Pacific.
Views of the Famine An excellent collection of contemporary British newspaper articles and illustrations relating to the Great Irish Famine. The site features several contemporary newspapers, including the illustrated London News, the Pictorial Times, and Punch, which demonstrate the range of opinions on the famine and the Irish people held by the British press and their readers. Some of the over 100 contemporary illustrations are in a high-resolution format suitable for printing. Additional features include a full text narrative of a journey in 1847 Ireland and links to other Famine sites.
Votes for Women: the Struggle for Women's Suffrage An illustrated reference aid with 38 pictorial portraits and scenes documenting the fight to gain women the vote. Produced as part of the Library of Congress' American Memory Collection.

Discover History Journals with BrowZine