Database User Guides & Training Webinars
The HELP or SEARCH TIPS buttons in each database give access to guides, tips, videos and webinars.
Free Training Webinars
Use your Murdoch Student email address to register
[StudentNumber@student.murdoch.edu.au]
Can't Make It To A Webinar?
Lexis Advance Training Videos
Westlaw Australia Training Videos
Database User Guides
AustLII User Guides menu: AustLII Help Topics
Relevant guides:
- User Guide to AustLII
- LawCite Help LawCite is a legal case and journal article citatory used to locate judgments and see how these have been subsequently dealt with and commented upon, or to see where journal articles have been cited.
- Case Law Help The case law databases contain the decisions of judges in matters before a court or tribunal. In each decision the judge will go over the facts of the case, the relevant law in the circumstances, and then discuss how the law applies to the relevant facts. The judge may also refer to relevant legislation (laws or "acts" passed by parliament), regulations or international treaties.
CCH IntelliConnect User Guides menu:
Relevant guides:
- CCH IntelliConnect Essentials
- Boolean search connectors Boolean search connectors such as AND, OR, NOT, w/par , “ “, *, indicate the relationship that two or more terms in the search expression must have in order for a document to be included in your search results.
- Filtering your search Sort your search results by jurisdiction, topic or document type. Display your search results by list or category, and sort them by date or relevance.
CINCH Australian Criminology Database
Search Informit, then filter the results by Database:
Select SEARCHING AND RESULTS Tab
HeinOnline User Guides menu:
HeinOnline Training Materials (Guides and Videos)
Relevant guides:
- HeinOnline Searching: quick reference guide
- Tim’s Tricks:10 quick tips for using HeinOnline.
- Law Journal Library HeinOnline contains more than 2,200 full-text journals, with most of these available through the current issue or volume and all available back to inception.
- Case Law Powered by Fastcase Fastcase, a leading next-generation legal research service that features powerful “best-case-first” tools.
User Guides menu: JADE FAQs
Relevant guides:
- Jading in 3 minutes
- Advanced Search
- Creating JADE Alerts
- Litigation History
- Visualisations JADE has 6 Visualisation tools: Similarity, HotSpot, Subsequent Citations, Precedent Tracker, Precedent Timeline and Litigation History.
Jade Professional
The Law Library is able to offer current Murdoch Law Students free access to Jade Professional.
Students must use the Murdoch student email address to subscribe to Jade Professional for free - the system identifies the @student.murdoch.edu.au
A confirmation email with temporary password will be sent to the student email address.
Jade Professional gives access to the Visualisations tool, as well as additional citation resources.
PsycINFO
Scopus
vLexJustis Getting Started Guide
vLexJustis gives access to case judgments and legislation from common law jurisdictions around the world.
Use the search bar at the top to search by title, citation, court, judge or keywords.
Boolean search operators are supported.
All vLexJustis training resources
Webinar Calendar (search for vLexJustis)
Westlaw Australia User Guides