Skip to main content

EndNote

Extras

Downloading Output Styles

Output styles determine the appearance of references in a bibliography. EndNote has over 4,500 output styles, around 500 of which are supplied with the software. If you haven’t found the style you need, you can download the complete set or choose individual styles from the EndNote Output styles website.

To download a style and add it to EndNote:

  • Search for the style you require in the search box and click Seach.
  • Click Download and then open the file you have downloaded. This will open the style in EndNote.
  • In EndNote go to File > Save As... Remove the word 'copy' and click Save, then click File > Close Style.

To locate your downloaded style in EndNote:

  • Click on the down arrow below References > Select Another Style.
  • Scroll through the list to find your style. Select it and click Choose.

Troubleshooting tips

  • If you have trouble downloading a style, try a different browser.
  • You must save the style files in the correct folder where your copy of EndNote has been installed.
  • If you are having problems with existing styles in EndNote you may need to update these files. Follow the directions explained left for the problem style files - removing the word 'copy' will ensure that the updated file overwrites the older version.
  • For further information go to the EndNote Help 

A note on Australian Output Styles

Australian Output Styles site contains bibliographic styles for several Australian journals that you would need to conform to for your article or manuscript submission if you want to publish in that journal. Although some of these styles are found in EndNote.com, not all of them are.

Journal title abbreviations (Vancouver style)

The Vancouver style requires the use of specific Journal title abbreviations. EndNote refers to these are ‘term lists’, which need to be added separately.

To upload a terms list:

  • Go to Tools > Open Term Lists > Journal Terms List
  • If there are existing terms, select all the existing terms (use Ctrl+A), and click Delete Term
  • Switch to the Lists tab and click Import List…
  • Double-click the ‘Medical’ file.
  • This will begin the import. Click OK when done
  • You should now see all the journal abbreviations in the term list.

Adding references to EndNote fom a Word document

(The contents of this page have been adapted from the University of Western Australia by permission.)

A frequently-asked EndNote question is: "I already have my references in a bibliography that I typed in Word. Can I transfer these references to EndNote?"

It is difficult to import references from Word into EndNote, and not recommended. Rather, you should be using the methods previously discussed: manual entry, or exporting from databases or Library Search.

However, there may be partial solutions to help with this, including the use of other citation-management software such as Zotero (in combination with CrossRef) or WizFolio.

Zotero and CrossRef method

  1. Install Zotero.
  2. Go to CrossRef and paste your bibliography into the query box. You will need to register for a CrossRef account.
  3. Extract the references using Zotero
  4. Export the references from Zotero to EndNote.

Wizfolio method

  1. Sign up for WizFolio
  2. Copy your reference list from Word document and paste in WizFolio
  3. Extract the references, and check for errors
  4. Export references as a RIS file.

Other methods

For Apple Macintosh

Install Ref2RIS to convert your bibliography into the RIS format, and edit it. Then import the RIS file into EndNote.

Combining Thesis Chapters

Step 1  Make a Copy of Each Chapter

  • Make a copy of each chapter as a separate Word document so you can always return to the originals if something goes wrong. Give them a name such as chap1copy.doc, chap2copy.doc and so on.

Step 2  Unformat Citations

  • If you've been using Instant Formatting, each chapter will have formatted in-text citations like this: (Jones, 1957), with a bibliography at the end of each chapter.
  • In Word, open up each one of your chapter copies and use the EndNote tool Convert Citations and Bibliography > Convert to Unformatted Citations.This should change any citations to their unformatted form to look like this: {Jones, 1957 #4} and the bibliography will disappear.

Step 3  Combine the Chapters

When your thesis, chapter, etc. is complete, you are ready to merge all chapters into a single document. 

  • Select all the text (try Ctrl+A) in your copy of chapter 2 and paste it at the end of your copy of chapter 1. Repeat these steps for the remaining chapter copies until the thesis is in one document. When you have finished, save this document as your master copy of the thesis, for example, .thesis_master.doc
  • Open thesis_master.doc and on the EndNote tab in Word choose Update Citations and BibliographyEndNote will format all your citations and create a bibliography at the end of the document. Save your changes.
    Note: when you unformat citations it disables Instant Formatting in Word. If you would like to restore this, on the EndNote tab click on the small down arrow to the right of Bibliography so you can change your preferences. When the dialogue box opens up, click on the Instant Formatting tab, click on Turn On and then on OK.

Final Step  Remove Field Codes

When you are ready to submit your thesis the final step is to remove the EndNote field codes. These codes link your documents with your EndNote library.

  • Using the EndNote tab in Word, choose Convert Citations and Bibliography Convert to Plain Text.
  • A new copy of your thesis will be created without links to EndNote. Save this document with a new name such as thesis_unlinked.doc and submit this copy.
  • This is not your thesis_master.doc. Should you need to make any changes to your references you must use thesis_master.doc which is still linked to EndNote. When you are happy, remove the field codes and save another 'clean' copy called, for example, thesis_unlinked2.doc