Skip to main content

EndNote

EndNote Online

What is EndNote Online?

EndNote Online (formerly EndNote Web) is the online counterpart to EndNote desktop.

It can be used to enhance the usability of the desktop version or as a standalone reference management product.

Register for an EndNote Online account.

Using EndNote Online allows you to:

  • Make your EndNote Desktop library available online via your EndNote Online library ("Synching" your libraries)
  • Save online references from databases and library catalogues into your EndNote library (direct export)
  • Manually enter references
  • Import references in a plain text file
  • Organise references into groups
  • Share groups with other users of EndNote Online

The 3 main advantages of using the desktop and online versions together are:

  • Search and download references from Murdoch's databases and e-collections
  • Share references with colleagues
  • Access and manage your research from anywhere

For help: EndNote Online Help

Syncing EndNote Desktop and Online

To enable syncing between your EndNote desktop and your EndNote online account, you must have registered for an EndNote web account and have Syncing enabled on your EndNote desktop version.

If you meet both of these conditions, click the Sync icon  in the toolbar and the sync should occur automatically.

If you have an EndNote web account and your desktop library is not automatically syncing to it, you need to set your Syncing Preferences:

  1. In EndNote desktop, click Edit, then Preferences.
  2. Make sure your login details for EndNote web are entered, then click Enable Sync.
  3. If you wish to sync your desktop and online libraries automatically (every 15 minutes), then tick the Sync Automatically box.

Sharing your EndNote Desktop Library

While sharing your entire desktop library with other EndNote users has been possible since Version X7.2, Endnote X9 introduces a couple of new features:

  • it allows users to share specific groups, rather than their entire library
  • it allows users to specify read-only or read-and-write-access to other users

To share a library you and all your colleagues will need:

  • EndNote X7.2 or later loaded onto to the desktop (Note: X7.2 will allow sharing with up to 14 colleagues; X8 and X9 increase this limit to 100.)
  • an EndNote Online account (see the EndNote Online - The basics tab for instructions on setting up an account)
  • an email account

How it works:

  • You can share with anyone using EndNote X7.2, X8 or X9
  • Share your entire EndNote library, including references, PDFs, and annotations, or just specific groups
  • You can assign read-only or read-and-write access to different users
  • Everyone can add to, annotate and use the library at the same time
  • Review the activity of the changes your collaborators are making
  • There’s no charge for sharing, no library size limit and no charge for unlimited cloud storage

Sharing references

To share your EndNote references:

  • Sign in to EndNote Online
  • Go to Organise > Manage My Groups
  • Click Manage Sharing
  • Click ‘Start sharing this group’
  • Enter the emails you want to share your references with
  • Assign ‘Read only’ or ‘Read & Write’ permissions
  • Click Apply
  • Click Close window.

You will see the email address added on the ‘Manage Sharing’ page.

To view references shared with you:

  • Log in to EndNote Online
  • You should see a Groups Shared by Others heading with the linked Group
  • Click the Group name to view the shared references.

To transfer references to your own EndNote Library:

  • Tick the box of the reference you want to transfer
  • In the Add to group… drop-down menu, select a group
  • Go to EndNote Desktop
  • Click 'Sync'
  • Once sync is complete, you should be able to see the references in that group.

Note: This will only transfer the reference, not the PDF. You will need to find full-text to add the file.

Acknowledgements

 This page has been adapted from the Notre Dame University Library LibGuide