EndNote X9 Guide

Cite While You Write (CWYW) allows you to access EndNote from within Microsoft Word to insert citations into the text of your Word documents.

Note that you should install EndNote after you install Microsoft Word because when you install EndNote, an EndNote menu is added to the top toolbar. This menu will not appear if you install Word after EndNote.

Please also note that CWYW cannot be used with Word 365 in your internet browser. To use CWYW, you will need to download the Microsoft Office suite to your computer. Murdoch University students can access Microsoft Office 365 Pro Plus, which includes Microsoft Office installation, here: Microsoft Office for Students

Adding citations

Note: Before inserting citations, ensure that the output referencing style in Word matches your style in EndNote.

There are two ways to insert a citation into your paper: one is without leaving the Word document, the other is to go out to the EndNote library.

To use either method for any referencing style, you should begin by inserting the cursor where you want the in-text/footnote citation to appear in your Word document.

1. From Word:
Click Insert Citation. Type the author(s) name into the Find & Insert My References box and select the relevant reference then click Insert.

2. From the EndNote Library:
If you are in Word, click EndNote X9 tab and click on the Go To EndNote icon:  In the EndNote library, click the Insert Citation icon (). The reference will be added to your document where you have placed the cursor.

Alternatively, if you have not placed the cursor where the reference needs to go in your document, you can go back to Word, find the right spot, click on the small arrow next to 'Insert Citation' and click 'Insert Selected Citation(s)'.

For further assistance see the CYWY FAQ's or search the EndNote Knowledgebase

Adding page numbers to citations

To add a page number to your in-text or footnote citation use the Edit & Manage Citation(s) option and type the page number/s in the Pages box, eg. 22 (or 22-25). You do not need to type p or pp.

Editing citations

When writing your paper, you may need to make modifications to the citations.

One example of this is in an author-date style like APA. If you have incorporated the author's name into the sentence of your text, you need to edit the in-text citation so that the name is not repeated e.g. "Thiele (2019) in her analytical piece, offers an alternative hypothesis to the commonly held...."

To edit your citations:

• Click on the citation (either in the in-text or footnote citation) in the Word doc so that it is highlighted
• Using the EndNote toolbar in the Word doc, go to Edit & Manage Citation(s)
• Under the Edit Citation tab, choose the format you require from the dropdown list (in this example you would choose Exclude Author) then click OK

For further assistance see the CYWY FAQ's or search the EndNote Knowledgebase

Editing bibliographies

To edit your bibliography/reference list:

• Click the  icon in the Bibliography group on the Endnote X9 tab
• Click the Layout tab to change fonts, add a title (ie. ‘Bibliography’ or ‘Reference List’), and adjust indents and other formatting settings
• To change the text of the bibliography/reference list (eg. capitalisations), you will need to make the necessary edits in EndNote and then click Update Citations and Bibliography. 
  

Converting citations to plain text

When sharing your document with another person, it is best to convert the citations to plain text rather than use the formatting “field codes”. This is because the other person may not have the same version of EndNote, and thus the field codes may not work properly.

To convert your citations to plain text:

• Click Convert Citations and Bibliography
• Select Convert to Plain Text
• Save the document.

• The citations and bibliography/reference list will be retained in your selected style, but the links to EndNote will be broken.
  

Deleting citations

If you wish to delete a reference, do NOT use the back button or use the delete/backspace key - these actions could corrupt your document.

To delete a citation:

• Click Edit & Manage Citation(s)
• Click the arrow next to Edit Reference
• Select ‘Remove citation’.

If you do not cite the reference anywhere else in your paper, the entry will also be removed from your bibliography or reference list.

This page has been adapted from the Notre Dame University Library LibGuide