Skip to Main Content

Biomedical Science - Subject Guide

Journals and Databases

Biomedical Science Databases

Database Description
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy A collection of over 300 3D rotational gross anatomy videos. Images are direct video recordings of real human anatomic specimens with tissues retaining the colour, texture, and mobility of the living body. The bones are shown first, then joints and their movements, then the muscles, and then the blood vessels and nerves. The Video atlas is organised into 5 volumes by body region: upper extremity, lower extremity, the trunk, head & neck and internal organs.
BIOSIS Citation Index Indexes journals, reviews, conferences, patents and books in the biological and biomedical sciences.

CAB Abstracts

Covers a range of applied life science disciplines including health and biomedical science, agriculture, environmental science, food science, marine science, and veterinary science with selected full text articles.
Cochrane Library Indexes journals, reviews, conferences, patents and books in the biomedical sciences.
Health & Medical Complete (ProQuest) This database provides broad coverage of clinical and biomedical literature, as well as access to over 900 full text biomedicine journals.
Health Collection (Informit) This collection features comprehensive coverage of Australian content relevant to key disciplines including general, specialist and allied health.
Medline (Ovid) The United States National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database for medicine, nursing, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences.
Medline (WoS) The United States National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database for medicine, nursing, veterinary medicine, allied health, and the pre-clinical sciences.
PubMed Includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals. Subject coverage includes all areas of medicine and related disciplines. Also available are links to full text journals in PubMed Central and links to a series of molecular and genome databases.
Sage Research Methods Allows researchers to explore methods and concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
Scopus Indexes resources in health and life sciences, chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, social sciences, psychology, and economics, business and management.
Web of Science Core Collection Web of Science Core Collection is a prestigious citation index for scientific and scholarly research. It includes a collection of over 18,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals), as well as conference proceedings and book data, in over 250 disciplines. A Web of Science Core Collection Guide is available.

Discover Biomedical Science Journals with Browzine