Skip to Main Content

Biological Sciences - Subject Guide

Journals and Databases

Biological Sciences Databases

Database Description

ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts

Search Help

Indexes resources on fisheries, aquaculture, biological and ecological aspects of marine, freshwater and brackish environments.

BIOSIS Citation Index

Search Help

Indexes journals, reviews, conferences, patents and books in the biological and biomedical sciences

CAB Abstracts

Search Help

Covers a range of applied life science disciplines including Biology,  biotechnology, molecular science, agriculture, environmental science, food science, marine science, and veterinary science with selected full text articles.

Informit (Australian databases)

Search Help 
Select the
SEARCHING AND RESULTS tab

Includes ENDANGER covering threatened species and REEF which includes biology and zoology of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park.

JSTOR Global Plants

Search Help

Brings together collections of more than 270 herbaria from around the world and also includes reference works and primary sources.

Protocol Exchange

Search Help

An Open Repository for the deposition and sharing of protocols for scientific research.

SAGE Research Methods

Search Help

Allows researchers to explore methods and concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.

SciFindern

Search Help

SciFindern provides web-based access to Chemical Abstracts (CA) covering all aspects of chemistry and other disciplines as they relate to chemistry.

Scopus

Search Help / Help Video

Indexes resources in biotechnology and molecular science, health and life sciences, chemistry, physics, mathematics, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, social sciences, psychology, and economics, business and management.

Web of Science Complete

Search Help

A prestigious citation index for scientific and scholarly research, which includes a collection of over 18,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals), as well as conference proceedings and book data, in over 250 disciplines. A Web of Science Core Collection Guide is available.
All Databases  Databases can be browsed by Subject or Title.  Example: Biological Sciences databases

Library Search

Search Help

Results can be filtered by:

  • Scholarly and peer reviewed
  • Content type e.g. journal articles, books
  • Date
  • Subject

Discover Biological Sciences Journals with BrowZine