Skip to Main Content

Vancouver - Referencing Guide

E-journals

Information

From a full text database

Full text databases include ProQuest, ScienceDirect and PsycARTICLES, to name a few.

Journals in full text databases are usually not free on the internet but are purchased on subscription by the Library.

Most articles in full text databases include a DOI, which should be included in your reference if given.

If no DOI is available, the internet address is cited. When including the internet address of articles retrieved from searches in full-text databases, please use the Recommended URLs for Full-text Databases, which are the URLs for the main entrance to the service and are easier to reproduce.

From the internet

Unlike journal articles from full text databases, these are often freely available on the internet.

Some publishers offer recent issues for free and earlier issues for a subscription fee.

Include the DOI, if available, or the complete internet address.

Format

Standard format for citation

From a full text database:

DOI available:

#. Author A, Author B. Title of article. Abbreviated Title of Journal. year;vol(no):page numbers. doi:10.XXX/XXXXX.XX.

 

No DOI available:

#. Author A, Author B. Title of article. Abbreviated Title of Journal [format]. year [cited year abbreviated month day];vol(no):page numbers. Available from: Internet address.

 

From the internet:

DOI available:

#. Author A, Author B. Title of article. Abbreviated Title of Journal. year;vol(no):page numbers. doi:10.XXX/XXXXX.XX.

 

No DOI available

#. Author A, Author B. Title of article. Abbreviated Title of Journal [format]. year [cited year abbreviated month day];vol(no):page numbers. Available from: Internet address.

Examples

Journal article from a full text database

1. Palsson G, Hardardottir KE. For whom the cell tolls: debates about biomedicine (1). Curr Anthropol. 2002;43(2):271+. doi:10.1086/338302.

2. Abalos E, Carroli G, Mackey ME. The tools and techniques of evidence-based medicine. Best Pract Res Clin Obstet Gynaecol. 2005;19(1):15-26. doi:10.1016/j.bpogyn.2004.10.008.

3. Allen C, Crake D, Wilson H, Buchholz A. Polycystic ovary syndrome and a low glycemic index diet. Can J Diet Pract Res [Internet]. 2005 [cited 2005 Jun 30];Summer:3. Available from: http://il.proquest.com.

Journal article from the internet

4. Scholz T. Evidence based medicine: from science to patient. J Tissue Sci Eng. 2012;3:e113. doi: 10.4172/2157-7552.1000e113.

5. Eisen SA, Kang HK, Murphy FM, Blanchard MS, Reda DJ, Henderson WG, et al. Gulf War veterans' health: medical evaluation of a U.S. cohort? Ann Intern Med [Internet]. 2005 [cited 2005 Jun 30];142(11):881+. Available from: http://www.annals.org/.

6. Sillick TJ, Schutte NS. Emotional intelligence and self-esteem mediate between perceived early parental love and adult happiness. E-Jnl Appl Psych [Internet]. 2006 [cited 2010 Aug 6];2(2):38–48. Available from: http://ojs.lib.swin.edu.au/index.php/ejap/article/view/71/100.

Journal article from a preprint database

7. Kording KP, Mensch B. Ten simple rules for structuring papers. BioRxiv [preprint]. 2016 bioRxiv 088278 [posted 2016 Nov 28; revised 2016 Dec 15; revised 2016 Dec 15; cited 2017 Feb 9]: [12 p.]. Available from: https://www.biorxiv.org/content/10.1101/088278v5.