Skip to main content

MLA - Referencing Guide

E-journals

Information

From a full text database

  Full text databases include Academic OneFile, ProQuest, and PsycARTICLES, to name a few.

•  Include the name of the database used and the DOI of the article; if no DOI is available, include the internet address.

From the internet

  Unlike journal articles from full text databases, these are often freely available on the internet.

  Some publishers offer recent issues for free and earlier issues for a subscription fee.

  Include the DOI or internet address.

Format

Standard format for citation

From a full text database:

Author. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol., no., year, pp. pages. Database Name, doi: or internet address.

 

From the internet:

Author. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol., no., year, pp. pages. doi: or Internet address.

Examples

Journal article from a full text database

Holmes, Christopher. "The Limits of World Literature." Literature Compass, vol. 13, no. 9, 2016, pp. 572–584. Wiley Online, doi: 10.1111/lic3.12338.

Hill, Thomas D. "Beowulf's Roman rites: Roman ritual and Germanic tradition." The Journal of English and Germanic Philology, vol. 106, no. 3, pp. 325-335. Academic OneFile, go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=AONE&sw=w&u=murdoch&v=2.1&id=GALE%7CA406902269&it=r&asid=9907188cb862743c5dc1c89bbd48ff1a.

Journal article abstract accessed from online database

Spencer, H.L. "Book and Verse: A Guide to Middle English Biblical Literature." Review of English Studies, vol. 52, no. 206, 2001, p. 249, Abstract. ProQuest, search.proquest.com.libproxy.murdoch.edu.au/docview/204775920?accountid=12629.

Please note: Abstract citations are only included in a works cited list if the abstract is substantial or if the full-text of the article could not be accessed.

Journal article from the internet: open access

Chartier, Roger. "Everything and Nothing: The Many Lives of William Shakespeare." Journal of Early Modern Studies, vol. 5, 2016, pp. 17-26, doi:10.13128/JEMS-2279-7149-18066.

Journal article from the internet: subscribed

Etherington, Ben, and  Jarad Zimbler. "Field, Material, Technique: On Renewing Postcolonial Literary Criticism." The Journal of Commonwealth Literature, vol. 49, no. 3, pp. 279-297, doi: 10.1177/0021989414538435.