Skip to Main Content

Footnote - Referencing Guide

E-journals

Information

•  Access dates are only included for items without a date of publication or modification, see the Chicago Manual of Style, 17th ed., sec. 14.12.

•  Regardless of pagination, include issue number and month or season of publication if given.

From a full text database

  Full text databases include Academic OneFile, ProQuest, and ScienceDirect, to name a few.

  Journals in full text databases are usually not free on the internet but are purchased on subscription by the Library.

  Most articles in full text databases include a DOI, which should be included in your reference if given.

  If no DOI is available, the Database name is cited rather than the internet address.

From the internet

  Unlike journal articles from full text databases these are often freely available on the internet.

  Some publishers offer recent issues for free and earlier issues for a subscription fee.

•  Include the DOI, if available, or the internet address.

Format

Standard format for citation

From a full text database:

DOI available:

Article Author, A. A., and B. B. Article Author. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume, no. issue number (Month or Season (if given) Year): inclusive page or paragraph numbers. https://doi.org/10.XXX/XXXXX.XX.

 

No DOI available:

Article Author, A. A., and B. B. Article Author. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume, no. issue number (Month or Season (if given) Year): inclusive page or paragraph numbers. Database Name.

 

From the internet:

DOI available:

Article Author, A. A., and B. B. Article Author. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume, no. issue number (Month or Season (if given) Year):inclusive page or paragraph numbers. https://doi.org/10.XXXX/XXXXX.XX.

 

No DOI available:

Article Author, A. A., and B. B. Article Author. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume, no. issue number (Month or Season (if given) Year): inclusive page or paragraph numbers. Internet address.

Examples

Journal article from a full text database

Buchanan, Jason. "Nation States: The Cultures of Irish Nationalism." Modern Fiction Studies 55, no. 4 (Winter 2009): 857+. ProQuest.

Hampton, Mark. "The Press, Patriotism, and Public Discussion: C. P. Scott, the Manchester Guardian, and the Boer War, 1899–1902." The Historical Journal 44, no. 1 (March 2001): 177-197. https://doi.org/10.1017/S0018246X01001479.

Nicholson, Helen. "Women on the Third Crusade." Journal of Medieval History 23, no. 4, (1997): 335-349. https://doi.org/10.1016/S0304-4181(97)00013-4.

Journal article from the internet

Jotischy, Andrew. "The Christians of Jerusalem, the Holy Sepulchre and the Origins of the First Crusade." Crusades 7 (October 2008): 35-57. http://eprints.lancs.ac.uk/19762/1/proofs_Crusades_7_03_Jotischky.pdf.

Powell, James M. "The Crusades in Recent Research." The Catholic Historical Review 95, no. 2 (April 2009): 313-319. https://doi.org/10.1353/cat.0.0412.