Skip to Main Content

Chicago - Referencing Guide

E-journals

Information

Access dates are ony included for items without a date of publication or modification, see the Chicago Manual of Style, 17th ed., sec. 15.50.

  The issue number is preceded by no. and the month or season is included in round brackets; if no month or season is given then the no. is omitted and the issue number is given in round brackets.

  The issue number should be included, even if pagination is continuous across the whole volume.

From a full text database

Full text databases include Academic OneFile, ProQuest, and ScienceDirect, to name a few.

Journals in full text databases are usually not free on the internet but are purchased on subscription by the Library.

Most articles in full text databases include a DOI, which should be included in your reference if given.

If no DOI is available, the Database name is cited rather than the internet address.

From the internet

Unlike journal articles from full text databases, these are often freely available on the internet.

Some publishers offer recent issues for free and earlier issues for a subscription fee.

Include the DOI, if available, or the internet address.

Format

Standard format for citation

From a full text database:

DOI available:

Article Author, A. A., and B. B. Article Author. Year. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume number, no. issue number (Month or Season): inclusive page or paragraph numbers. https://doi.org/10.XXX/XXXXX.XX.

 

No DOI available:

Article Author, A. A., and B. B. Article Author. Year. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume number, no. issue number (Month or Season): inclusive page or paragraph numbers. Database Name.

 

From the internet:

DOI available:

Article Author, A. A., and B. B. Article Author. Year. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume number, no. issue number (Month or Season): inclusive page or paragraph numbers. https://doi.org/10.XXXX/XXXXX.XX.

No DOI available:

Article Author, A. A., and B. B. Article Author. Year. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume number, no. issue number (Month or Season): inclusive page or paragraph numbers. Internet address.

Examples

Journal article from a full text database

Döring, Dorothea, Anita Roscher, Fabian Scheipl, Helmut Küchenhoff, and Michael H. Erhard. 2009. "Fear-related Behaviour of Dogs in Veterinary Practice." The Veterinary Journal 182, no. 1 (October): 38-43. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.tvjl.2008.05.006.

Elwood, C., P. Devauchelle, J. Elliott, V. Freiche, A. J. German, M. Gualtieri, E. Hall, E. Den Hertog, R. Neiger, D. Peeters, X. Roura, and K. Savary-Bataille. 2010. "Emesis in Dogs: A Review." Journal of Small Animal Practice 51, no. 1 (January): 4-22. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1748-5827.2009.00820.x.

McCoy, T. 2010. "Are Antihistamines Effective in Canine Atopy?" Veterinary Medicine 105, no. 10 (October): 464. ProQuest.

Oskouizadeh, K., T. Zahraei-Salehi, and S. J. Aledavood. 2010. "Detection of Bartonella henselae in Domestic Cats' Saliva." Iranian Journal of Microbiology 2, no. 2 (June): 80-84. CAB Abstracts Full Text Select.

van Vuren, Petrus Jansen, and Janusz T. Paweska. 2010. "Comparison of Enzyme-linked Immunosorbent Assay-based Techniques for the Detection of Antibody to Rift Valley Fever Virus in Thermochemically Inactivated Sheep Sera." Vector-Borne and Zoonotic Diseases 10, no. 7 (September): 697-699. https://doi.org/10.1089/vbz.2009.0213.

Journal article from the internet

Meng, X. J., B. Wiseman, F. Elvinger, D. K. Guenette, T. E. Toth, R. E. Engle, S. U. Emerson, and R. H. Purcell. 2002. "Prevalence of Antibodies to Hepatitis E Virus in Veterinarians Working with Swine and in Normal Blood Donors in the United States and Other Countries." Journal of Clinical Microbiology 40, no. 1 (January): 117-122. https://doi.org/10.1128/JCM.40.1.117-122.2002.

Journal article from the internet (no month or season available)

Bisias, G., A. Burriel, S. Boutsini, S. Kritas, and L. Leontides. 2010. "A Serological Investigation Of Some Abortion Causes Among Small Ruminant Flocks In Greece." The Internet Journal of Veterinary Medicine 8 (2): 27+. http://www.ispub.com/journal/the_internet_journal_of_veterinary_medicine/volume_8_number_2_27/article/a-serological-investigation-of-some-abortion-causes-among-small-ruminant-flocks-in-greece.html.