Murdoch Home Page

Chicago Style: Images

A guide to Chicago referencing style for Murdoch University students and staff

Information

All images, referred to in the text or reproduced in an essay, assignment or presentation, must be cited and included in your reference list.

For more information about copyright, the use of images, and open access sources of images, please go to Copyright Matters.

Format

Image reproduced in a book

Artist or Creator, A. Year. Title: Subtitle. medium (if appropriate). Reproduced in Full details of book.

 

Image from a database

Artist or Creator, A. Year. Title: Subtitle. Place: Publisher. medium (if appropriate), length of work (if appropriate). Database Name.

 

Online image/artwork

Artist or Creator, A. Year. Title: Subtitle. medium (if appropriate). Place: Publisher. Internet address.

 

Original image/artwork (viewed in a gallery or collection)

Artist or Creator, A. Year. Title: Subtitle. Place: Gallery or Collection.

Set columns to be equal width

This box is hidden when viewed publically or in preview - it is only visible in editing mode.
It will change the width of the two columns to be equal (37.5% each).

Examples

Image/photograph/artwork from a book

Leibovitz, Annie. 1996. Olympic Portraits. Boston: Little Brown.

Mapplethorpe, Robert. 1989. Some Women. Boston: Bulfinch Press.

Reproduction in a book

Bedford, Paddy. 2001. Dingo Dreaming. ochre on canvas. Reproduced in McCulloch, Susan, and Emily McCulloch Childs. 2008. McCulloch's Contemporary Aboriginal Art: The Complete Guide, 154. Fitzroy, Vic: McCulloch & McCulloch Australian Art Books.

Image from a book chapter

Ardagna, Claudio Agostino, Ernesto Damiani, Fulvio Frati, and Mauro Madravio. 2007. "Open-Source Solution to Secure E-Government Services." In Encyclopedia of Digital Government, edited by Ari-Veikko Anttiroiko and Matti Malkia, 1300-1305. Hershey, PA: Idea Group Reference. IGI Global e-book.

Hockley, Luke. 2008. "Science Fiction." In The Television Genre Book, edited by Glen Creber, 36-42. 2nd ed. London: Palgrave Macmillan.

Image from a journal article

Smith, Paul Julian. 2015. "Flight of Fancy." Sight&Sound 25, no. 1 (January): 28-31.

Yeh, Quey-Jen, and Xiaojun Xu. 2010. "The Effect of Confucian Work Ethics on Learning About Science and Technology Knowledge and Morality." Journal of Business Ethics 95, no. 1 (August): 111-128. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10551-009-0352-1.

Image from a newspaper

Leunig, Michael. 1995. "Thoughts of a Baby Lying in a Child Care Centre." The Sydney Morning Herald, July 27, 1995: 24.

Image from a database

Kessel, Marion. 1995. The Making of a Monologue: Robert Wilson's Hamlet. New York: Cinema Guild. Video recording, 62:18 mins. Theatre in Video.

Online image/artwork

Heimans, Ralph. 1996. Gloves Off (Tom Uren). oil paint on canvas. Canberra: National Portrait Gallery. http://www.portrait.gov.au/portraits/2000.36/gloves-off-tom-uren.

Newbold, Curtis R. 2014. Can I Use that Picture? The Terms, Laws, and Ethics for Using Copyrighted Pictures. The Visual Communication Guy.  http://thevisualcommunicationguy.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/07/Infographic_CanIUseThatPicture4.jpg.

Nolan, Sydney. 1946. The Encounter. enamel paint on composition board. Canberra: National Gallery of Australia. http://cs.nga.gov.au/Detail.cfm?IRN=28938.

Ryder, Malcolm. 2006. Driving Action with "Values". Archestra. http://www.malcolmryder.com/archives/2006/07/.

Online map

Google Maps. 2015. "The British Library, London, UK."  Google. Accessed February 5, 2015. https://www.google.com.au/maps/place/The+British+Library/@51.529972,-0.127676,17z/data=!3m1!4b1!4m2!3m1!1s0x48761b3b70171395:0x18905479de0fdb25.

Original image/artwork (viewed in a gallery or collection)

Angus, James. 2006. Gorilla, Gorilla, Gorilla. wood veneers, nylon. Perth: Art Gallery of Western Australia.