Skip to main content
Murdoch Home Page

Supporting Research at Murdoch: Publication

Publication

Guides to Publishing

Academic Writing: Murdoch University Library has many books that can assist you with academic writing. 

There are also various online guides available :-

  • ‘Why publish?’ - University of Queensland Student Services’ introduction to publishing a journal article
  • Which journals should I publish in? - Warwick University (UK) guide to where and how to start publishing
  • Getting published - University of Melbourne guide to publishing covering tools to measure journal impact and researcher impact; journal directories; and open access journals.

Referencing

The Library provides guides to different referencing styles and the various published style manuals.

Deciding Where to Publish

It is, of course, ideal to submit your manuscript to reputable journals which will both increase the likelihood that that your article will be accepted and also which will maximise the number of people who read and cite your research. Some factors to consider include relevance, reputation, quality control such as peer review, editorial assistance and journal metric indicators.

Information about identifying reputable journals is also available from ! THINK ü CHECK > SUBMIT.

Where to Publish

Journals

Some tools that you may use to identify suitable journals include:

Ulrichsweb : Global Serials Directory provides detailed information about thousands of journals – whether it is peer-reviewed, where it is indexed, number of subscribers and with links to the journal websites for further detailed information about the journal, including instructions for authors. You can use Ulrich’s to identify journals in a specific discipline or subject area.

A measure of the exposure of a published journal articles are journal metric indicators such as SCImago Journal Rank, SNIP or CiteScore - many academics choose to publish in those journals within their discipline that have a higher are journal metric indicator. Scopus provides details of journal metric indicators across the disciplines. Journal websites may also include journal metric indicators or an impact factor of a journal.

Some of the major academic publishers also have tools which can help determine the journal that most closely fits your area of research, for example:

Open Access

Open access research is freely accessible via the Internet and can potentially increase readership and researchers who cite your research. 

Murdoch University Research Repository - The Murdoch Research Repository is an open access digital collection of research created by Murdoch University staff and students. It aims to collect, preserve and make openly available the scholarly output of Murdoch University

Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC) – provides information on alternative scholarly communication models

Where Not to Publish

  • Vanity Publishing

    Vanity publishing usually involves:

    • no peer review process
    • authors paying a fee to publish
    • the publisher selling the published work to readers
    • offers to publish theses
     

    These publishers often gather contacts from conferences and institutional websites. Their offers may appear tempting to early career researchers who are seeking publishing opportunities, but vanity publishing does not undergo the stringent processes of peer review and copy editing.

  • Predatory Publishing

    Predatory publishing usually involves:

    • a professional sounding book,  journal or conference title and often a professional looking website
    • direct approaches to potential authors
    • little or no editorial support 
    • no peer review process or copy editing 
    • authors paying significant fees to publish while the publishers expend very little
    • the use of unsuspecting researchers names on editorial boards or "editing" committees - making use of their reputations and the prestige of their institutions to attract more article submissions and more authors’ fees
     

    More information on predatory publishing and publishers may be found at:

    • Beall’s List:: Potential, Possible, or Probable Predatory Scholarly Open-access Publishers - Jeffrey Beall. This list ceased to be updated on 15th January 2017, but a website created from a cached copy is available.
    • Investigating journals: The dark side of publishing - Declan Butler. This article published in Nature in March 2013 also includes Buyer beware: A checklist to identify reputable publishers.
     

    Neither vanity or predatory publishing should be confused with Open Access publishing.

Research Repository

The Research Repository is an open access digital collection of research created by Murdoch University staff and students.

Copyright

copyright symbol.png Copyright
Information about Copyright for staff and students.