Skip to main content
Murdoch Home Page

EndNote: Direct Export from databases

Guide to using EndNote at Murdoch University

Direct Export - adding references directly from databases

Most databases have a Direct Export function that will export a reference from a database into your EndNote library. The steps and terminology may differ slightly from database to database and depending on what internet browser you use. Here is a general outline of the basic steps required by most databases:

  1. Select the references you want to export using either : tick boxes, Add to Folder or Mark Records option.
  2. Look for a way to export your selected references: Export, Export to reference manager, Direct Export, Output or sometimes even Save Citation.
  3. You may need to choose an output method for EndNote eg RIS format.
  4. Then Save, Export, Download or Open.
  5. EndNote will open (you may need to select your library) and the references will appear in the temporary window.

Mac users: The exported references will appear in the Downloads folder. Drag and drop the file into the EndNote icon on the dock

For further information about Direct Export from various databases using different browsers refer to page 28 onwards of the Little EndNote How-to Book

PubMed Direct Export:

  • Tick the references you want to export to EndNote
  • Click on the down arrow at Send to
  • Choose Citation manager
  • Click Create File
  • EndNote will open and the references will appear in the temporary window
  • If using Google Chrome, the download will appear at the bottom left corner > click to open in EndNote

Note:

  • Direct export from PubMed will not work if you use IE8 and Windows XP - you need Windows 7 OR Google Chrome.
  • With Macs and Firefox you might be prompted to Open or Save the file - choose Open > Browse.
  • Highlight the EndNote icon > OK > OK .
  • EndNote may open the Choose an Import Filter box.

  • Scroll down and highlight PubMed (NLM) > Choose.
  • The references will appear in the EndNote temporary window.

Mac users: The exported references will appear in the Downloads folder. Drag and drop& the file into the EndNote icon on the dock.

CINAHL (Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health) EbscoHost:

  • Click Add to folder icon on the right any references you want to export to EndNote.
  • The icon will change to indicating that the item has been sent to the folder.
  • A box will appear on the right:

  • Click Folder View to open the folder.

 ;

  • Tick the references you want to export to EndNote.
  • Click on the Export icon on the right.
  • A dialog box will open.

        

  • Select Direct Export in RIS Format (e.g. CITAVI, EasyBib, EndNote...)
  • Click Save.
  • If using Internet explorer a dialog box will appear at the bottom of the screen.

  • Click Open and the references will appear in the temporary ;window in& EndNote.
  • If using Google Chrome the download will appear at the bottom left corner > click to open in EndNote.

Mac users: The exported references will appear in the Downloads folder. Drag and drop the file into the EndNote icon on the dock.

ScienceDirect:

  • Tick the references you want to export to EndNote.
  • Click Export (top of results).
  • The following dialogue box will drop down.

  • Click RIS (for EndNote, Reference Manager, ProCite)
  • Click Export.
  • If using Internet Explorer, a dialogue box will appear to Open or Save.
  • Click Open and the references will appear in the temporary window in EndNote.
  • If using Google Chrome, the download will appear at the bottom left corner > click Open to import into EndNote.

Mac users: The exported references will appear in the Downloads folder. Drag and drop the file into the EndNote icon on the dock.&

Google Scholar:
It is possible to directly export references from Google Scholar one reference at a time.

There are 2 ways of doing this:

1. Change your Google Scholar settings

  • Click on (top of page)
  • Scroll down to Bibliography manager.

  • Select Show links to import citations into EndNote (default BibTeX - use arrows to find EndNote).
  • Click Save. EndNote links will now appear with the search results. Click on this link to export the citation.
  • To retain settings, you must turn on cookies.

2. Use the Cite links.

  • Search Google Scholar
  • Click on Cite under the reference (citation) you want to export. A Cite box will open.

  • Click EndNote.
  • If using Internet Explorer, the following dialogue box appears

  • Choose Open and the references will appear in the temporary window in EndNote.

Mac users: The exported references will appear in the Downloads folder. Drag and drop the file into the EndNote icon on the dock.

NB: Direct Export from Google Scholar is limited to the citation only - no abstract or URL / DOI links. You can try clicking on the FindIt@Murdoch link or search the article title in a database or online journal to see if that export function includes the abstract.

Problems with Direct Export:

EndNote uses filters to pull records from databases into EndNote. If you experience problems with transferring records from databases you need to update these filters.

CINAHL

PubMed (requires Chrome or IE11 - will not work with IE8)

  • Click on the filter link (or Download if on the EndNote page) > Open.
  • The file will open in EndNote.
  • In EndNote go to > File > 'Save As' > remove the word copy > save.
  • The new filter will then overwrite the outdated file in EndNote.
  • Close the filter file by clicking the small cross OR go to File > Close File.
  • If you are installing the new files on a home PC or Mac, you can copy them directly into the appropriate EndNote program folder (for filters)

MAC users - Select your required filter, control-click and choose Save Linked File to "Downloads". The filter will now appear in your "Downloads" drag the filter file into your Filters folder. Located HD\Applications\ EndNote\Filters

Loading

Video - direct export using firefox

Video produced and kindly shared by EndNote Training.

Tips

If you have a MacIntosh computer use Firefox (free download) to export or import references to EndNote.

Safari, the default Mac browser, requires extensive setting up to work seamlessly with EndNote. Google Chrome may also require some adjustments.

Acknowledgements

This guide has been based, with permission, on the guide created by the King Edward Memorial Hospital Library.