Selected 19th Century British History Sites
- Archon - Archives On-Line - The principal information gateway for UK archivists and users of manuscript sources for British history. Hosted and maintained by the Royal Commission on Historical Manuscripts.
- British Empire - Broad overview of the history of the British Empire.
- British Parliamentary Publications and Information- Brings together in one guide all information on British Parliamentary publications. Deals only with the publications / Internet sites for the House of Commons and House of Lords.
- Census Returns for England & Wales - Useful site produced by GenDoc, a genealogical research company in the UK
- Charles Booth Online Archive: Charles Booth and the survey into life and labour in London (1886-1903) - Charles Booth was a 19th century Victorian-era Englishman concerned with the rapid increase in poverty and human suffering throughout London that developed during the late 19th century.
- Ecclesiastical Census of 1851 - Records information from the Public Record Office UK
- GenDocs: Genealogical Research in England & Wales
- History Learning Resources - History courseware with online tuturials on a wide range of topics in European History from the History Department at Warwick University. Good British coverage.
- History Online - An important resource for historians, especially those working in the UK or studying in Britain. Essentially a database of some 30,000 records. Searchable categories include: books, journals, and articles published in the UK (some with abstracts); higher education History teachers in the UK; history theses completed in the UK since 1900 as well as theses in progress; and seminars and conferences held at the IHR.
- Institute of Historical Research UK
- Internet Library of Early Journals (ILEJ) - A joint project by the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford, to digitize selected twenty-year runs of three eighteenth and three nineteenth-century journals. Journals include: Annual Register (1758-78), Gentleman's Magazine (1731-50), Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society (1757-77), Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine (1843-52), Notes and Queries (1849-69) and The Builder (1843-9).
- Nineteenth Century Public Health and Epidemics: Some PRO Sources - Compiled by the Public Record Office UK
- Pamphlet Collection, London School of Economics - An online guide to some 90,000 pamphlets, many from the 19th and early 20th centuries. Issues covered include political parties, social policy, poor laws, transport etc. Includes European and International materials. A most useful collection for researchers and historians.
- Passenger lists leaving UK 1890-1960
- Planning the Research Trip to Britain - A great site from Victoria Research Web, including advice on places to stay, things to see, general guides, research tips etc.
- Proceedings of the Old Bailey London 1674-1834 - A fully searchable online edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing accounts of over 100,000 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court.
- Public Record Office - The National Archives of Great Britain - Provides links to the resources of the PRO as well as to other resources.
- RHS Bibliography of British and Irish History - A major resources from the Royal Historical Society providing access to 300,000 records
- Victoria Research Web - VRW is dedicated to the scholarly study of the nineteenth century in Britain, and to aiding researchers, teachers, and students in their investigations of any and all aspects of this fascinating period.
- Victorian Census Project (Staffordshire University) - This database has the potential to significantly broaden our understanding of British society in the nineteenth century in a number of areas, including health and disease, education and literacy, occupations and employment, and migration. At present, four sub-sets of variables relating to the 1831 and 1861 censuses, and the Scottish Registrar General's Annual Report for 1861, can be downloaded from the site
- Victorian Dictionary - Guide to the social history of Victorian London
- The Victorian Web - Project funded by the University Scholars Program, National University of Singapore
- The Workhouse - Peter Higginbotham's web site devoted to the workhouse, a feature of the English landscape for over two hundred years providing employment for the destitute in return for board and lodging.
Ireland
- British and Irish Archaeological Bibliography - Information on archaeology, historic buildings, maritime and industrial archaeology, environmental history, and the conservation of material culture - with a geographical focus on the Republic of Ireland and the United Kingdom. Provides access to a free online database holding over 92,000 references to material published from 1695 to 1991.
- CELT - Corpus of Electronic Texts - An extensive online resource for contemporary and historical Irish documents in literature, history and politics.
- Chronology of Ireland - Information on people and events connected to Ireland over the past four centuries.
- Database for Irish Historical Statistics - Contains recurrent statistics for Ireland for the nineteenth and twentieth centuries collected from a variety of printed census sources.
- Documents [in Irish History]
- EIRData - Electronic Irish Records Dataset - Princess Grace Irish Library (PGIL) web site includes two datasets, a detailed biblgiography, the library catalogue, and electronic texts.
- History of the North of Ireland
- Irish Penal Laws - This site offers the full text of penal statutes passed in the reigns of Queen Elizabeth I, William and Mary, King William III, Queen Anne, King George I and I1.
- Irish Resources in Other Archives Around the World - Compiled by the National Archives of Ireland.
- Irish Resources in the Humanities - Site developed by Susan Schreibman at University College Dublin
- National Archives of Ireland
- Research Guide: Irish Studies - Selected Irish studies resources available at the Boston College Libraries, including internet resources
- Sources for Women's History - Compiled by the National Archives of Ireland
- Sources in the National Archives [of Ireland] for Research into the Transportation of Irish Convicts to Australia (1791-1853)
- Timelines of Irish History
- Transportation Records - Compiled by the National Archives of Ireland
- Views of the Famine - An excellent collection of contemporary British newspaper articles and illustrations relating to the Great Irish Famine. The site features several contemporary newspapers, including the llustrated London News, the Pictorial Times, and Punch, which demonstrate the range of opinions on the famine and the Irish people held by the British press and their readers. Some of the over 100 contemporary illustrations are in a high-resolution format suitable for printing. Additional features include a full text narrative of a journey in 1847 Ireland and links to other Famine sites.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait