Request on Document Delivery
AtlasesBibliographiesBiographiesChronologiesDictionaries & Encyclopedias
Find Books at Murdoch CampusesFind Books at Other LibrariesFind Chapters in BooksFind New BooksRequest on Document Delivery
Find a Known ArticleFind Articles on a TopicJournal AbbreviationsRequest on Document DeliverySelected EJournal Listings
Selected Internet Sites
Citation & Style GuidesEndNote
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

19th Century British Social History 

A guide to resources for Murdoch University students and staff
Last update: Nov 04th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.murdoch.edu.au/british  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Bibliographies            Print Page
  
 

Reference Resources

For background information on the discipline of History, there are many reference sources available in both print and electronic format.  Use these resources to clarify the meaning of your topic and to check for synonyms (similar words) for your topic words.

The Library's web page listing Electronic Reference resources could also be of value, especially Electronic Subject Dictionaries and Encyclopedias relating to History

 
 

Bibliographies and Guides to the Literature

Bibliographies can greatly assist in identifying relevant resources for the period.

Altholz, Josef - Victorian England 1837-1901. 1970.
 

Annual bibliography of British and Irish history

Annual bulletin of historical literature - Electronic resource
1975-1982

Annual Bibliography of British & Irish History 1975-2002
Continued by Royal Historical Society Bibliography 2002-

Brown, Lucy M. - Bibliography of British history 1789-1851. 1977

Chartist movement : a new annotated bibliography. 1995

Doughan, David - Feminist periodicals, 1855-1984 : an annotated critical bibliography of British, Irish, Commonwealth and international titles. 1987.

Hanham, Harold J. - Bibliography of British history 1851-1914. 1976.

Harrison, R. - The Warwick guide to British labour periodicals 1790-1970 : a checklist.

Kanner, Barbara - Women in English social history, 1800-1914 : a guide to research. 3 vols.

Martin, Geoffrey H. - A bibliography of British and Irish municipal history. 1972- 

Palmegiano, E. - Crime in Victorian Britain : an annotated bibliography from nineteenth-century British magazines. 1993 

Propas, Sharon W. - Victorian studies : a research guide. 1992

Smith, Robert A. - Late Georgian and Regency England 1760-1837. 1984

Ward, William - British periodicals and newspapers, 1789-1832: a bibliography of secondary sources. 1972.


Writings on British History: a bibliography of books and articles on the history of Great Britain from about 400 A.D. to 1914

Women of England from Anglo-Saxon times to the present : interpretive bibliographical essays /edited by Barbara Kanner

Stephens, William B. - Sources for English local history. 1973
 

Victorian Studies - This important journal publishes an annual list of the previous year's publications in economic and social history 

Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait