Request on Document Delivery
AtlasesBibliographiesBiographiesChronologiesDictionaries & Encyclopedias
Find Books at Murdoch CampusesFind Books at Other LibrariesFind Chapters in BooksFind New BooksRequest on Document Delivery
Find a Known ArticleFind Articles on a TopicJournal AbbreviationsRequest on Document DeliverySelected EJournal Listings
Selected Internet Sites
Citation & Style GuidesEndNote
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

19th Century British Social History 

A guide to resources for Murdoch University students and staff
Last update: Nov 04th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.murdoch.edu.au/british  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Pictures & Images            Print Page
  

Suggest a Link

 
 

Picture & Image Databases

Listed below are web sites and databases of Pictorial Collections and Image Databases. Most of the major archival repositories will also have extensive collections, many of which will not have been digitised. It may be necessary for you to make direct enquiries to specific repositories. Contacts can be located by looking at the Archives listing.

  • The Arts in Victorian Britain - Includes Photography and Illustration.
  • By Popular Demand: "Votes for Women" Suffrage Pictures, 1850-1920 - An illustrated reference aid with 38 pictorial portraits and scenes documenting the fight to gain women the vote. Produced as part of the Library of Congress' American Memory Collection.
  • Images of History on the Web - Created by David Mattison, Access Services Archivist, British Columbia's Archives. 
  • Views of the Famine - An excellent collection of contemporary British newspaper articles and illustrations relating to the Great Irish Famine. The site features several contemporary newspapers, including the llustrated London News, the Pictorial Times, and Punch, which demonstrate the range of opinions on the famine and the Irish people held by the British press and their readers. Some of the over 100 contemporary illustrations are in a high-resolution format suitable for printing. Additional features include a full text narrative of a journey in 1847 Ireland and links to other Famine sites.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait