Reference Resources
For background information on Theology, there are many reference sources available in both print and electronic format. Use these resources to clarify the meaning of your topic and to check for synonyms (similar words) for your topic words.
The Library's web page listing Electronic Reference resources could also be of value, especially Electronic Subject Dictionaries and Encyclopedias relating to Theology.
Featured Works
Codex Sinaiticus
A manuscript of the Christian Bible written in the middle of the fourth century, Codex Sinaiticus, contains the earliest complete copy of the Christian New Testament. The hand-written text is in Greek.
The New Testament appears in the original vernacular language (koine) and the Old Testament in the version, known as the Septuagint, that was adopted by early Greek-speaking Christians.
In the Codex, the text of both the Septuagint and the New Testament has been heavily annotated by a series of early correctors.
Encyclopedias
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Modern Christian Thought 1993
A Concise Companion to the Jewish Religion (Oxford) 1999
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity 1998
The Encyclopaedia of Judaism (3 vols.) 2000
Harper's Encyclopedia of Religious Education 1990
New 20th Century Encyclopedia of Religious Knowledge 1991
The Oxford Companion to the Bible 1993
The Oxford Guide to People and Places of the Bible 2001
The Papacy: An Encyclopedia (3 vols.) 2002
Dictionaries
A Concise Dictionary of Theology 1991
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church 2000
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Religions 2000
A Dictionary of Buddhism (Oxford) 2004
Dictionary of Ethics, Theology and Society 1996
Dictionary of Pastoral Care and Counseling 2005
A Dictionary of the Bible (Oxford) 2004
Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible 2000
Historical Dictionary of Medieval Philosophy and Theology 2007
New Dictionary of Theology 1988
Oxford Dictionary of Islam 2003
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography 2004
The Oxford Dictionary of Popes 2006
The Oxford Dictionary of Saints 2003
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church 2005
Roget's Thesaurus of the Bible 1992
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait