Outstanding Resource
The Water Encyclopedia, Third Edition: Hydrologic Data and Internet Resources
The quintessential book of data relating to water, The Water Encyclopedia: Hydrologic Data and Internet Resources, Third Edition arose from the premise that most of the information provided within this publication could be easily found on the Internet. As the editors and their team of contributors soon discovered, using the Internet for research can be problematic. Too much, too little, and questionable data sets can influence the caliber of your results.
The new edition contains more than 1100 tables and 500 figures providing data related to weather, surface water, ground water, water use, water quality, waste water, pollution, and water resource management. The first two chapters are completely new and discuss data management and international data collection. The pollution chapter has grown to contain some 450 plus tables and figures. Wastewater, previously included within the pollution chapter, is presented as a new standalone chapter.
Whether
you are looking for a specific piece of information or exploring many
topics, this edition is a portal to quality facts and data sets.
Retaining the elements that made the previous editions bestsellers, the
third edition elucidates the many changes within the environmental
industry and in water-related issues during the last decade. Prepared
by scientists and engineers, the book has been significantly expanded
beyond the scope of the second edition. Reflecting changes not only in
information but also technology, whenever possible, the text includes
an Internet address that guides you to the appropriate source.
Reference Resources (printed and electronic)
Reference materials can be used to find background and general information on specific aspects of Water Catchment Management. Use these resources to clarify the meaning of your topic and to check for synonyms (similar words) for your topic words. The following reference materials include both printed and electronic encyclopaedias, dictionaries and other items that may be useful for your research. To find other reference material held in the library choose Keyword search in the Library Catalogue, then type in the particular aspect of Environmental Science that you are interested in, together with the term dictionaries or, alternatively, encyclopedias.
The Library's web page listing Electronic Reference could also be of value, especially the Electronic Subject Dictionaries and Encyclopedias page. Here you will find a list of many of Murdoch's online reference resources relevant to Environmental Science.
NB Please see Off Campus Access for information about how to access the Library's electronic resources remotely.
Encyclopedia of life sciences
Encyclopedia of hydrology and water resources (1998)
The environment dictionary (1998)
Glossary of water terms
International glossary of hydrology
The Macmillan dictionary of the Australian environment (1991)
The water encyclopedia : hydrologic data and internet resources (2007)
Water Quality Association (WQA) glossary of terms
Subject Guide |
Ph. 9360 7271
Room 3.015. South Wing Level 1
The Library
Murdoch University
Murdoch
Western Australia
6150
Send Email
Subjects:
Environmental Science
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait