Water Catchment Management Web Sites
The Internet provides a vast range of resources in the environmental science discipline. Listed below are some examples of sites which have useful information that would be relevant to the study of Water Catchment Management. It is by no means an exhaustive list of the available resources.
The Library also has guides to information resources available for Environmental Science, Environmental Policy and Law and Environmental Impact Assessment. These can also be accessed from the Library Home Page by clicking on the link to Tutorials and User Guides. From this page you can also gain access to Citation Guides, which provide details on how to correctly cite references in assignments and reports.
You may also wish to look at the Home Page for the Environmental Science programme at Murdoch University. It includes details of courses offered, staff profiles and staff publications.
Cooperative Research Centre for Tropical Rainforest Ecology and Management
Supports research into the sustainable use, management and conservation of Australia's tropical rainforests - CRC now ceased, but the website will remain online as a portal for access to over sixty research and annual reports, best practice manuals, workshop and conferencing proceedings and general information items, as well as contact information for Rainforest CRC personnel.
Cooperative Research Centre for Water Quality and Treatment
Undertakes research into water quality management and health risk reduction, from catchment and reservoir management and water treatment to the distribution of drinking water to consumers' taps. Information on research being performed is provided. Now ceased and replaced by the Water Quality Research Australia Limited (WQRA).
CSIRO Land and Water
The Australian Commonwealth's Department of Environment and Heritage's website which provides extensive information about the work being done for the protection and conservation of the environment.
Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts
This site provides information about the research being done on complex land and water management problems by Australia's largest research organisation. This work is being done with the aim of developing strategies to ensure a new basis for the sustainable management of the Australian landscape. Includes information about tropical Australia.
eWater Cooperative Research Centre
The result of a merger between two former Cooperative Research Centres
- the CRC for Catchment Hydrology and the CRC for Freshwater Ecology -
and a number of other water-focused organisations. eWater's core business is building water management tools for operating river systems to optimise environmental and economic outcomes, integrated systems for efficient urban water management, tools for managing catchments in varying climate and land-use, tools for developing monitoring programs, and decision support systems for guiding investment in river and catchment restoration.
Global Water Partnership
A working partnership among all those involved in water management including government agencies, public institutions, and private companies, whose goal is to support countries in the sustainable management of their water resources. An associated program of the GWP is GLOBWINET
- The Global Water Information Network, which provides access to information on materials, organisations and people in water management.
Hydrology and Water Resources Programme
World Meteorological Organization's program which provides for the collection and analysis of hydrological data as a basis for assessing and managing freshwater resources, for example, for human consumption, sanitation, irrigation, hydropower production and water transport, and for flood forecasting systems and the prediction of droughts.
International Hydrological Programme
UNESCO's program which aims to enhance water resources management for sustainable development and the adaptation of the hydrological sciences to cope with the expected changing climate and environmental conditions. Also has the goal of integrating developing countries into the worldwide ventures of research and training.
International Peat Society
A non-governmental and a non-profit-making organisation which promotes the wise use of mires, peatlands and peat by advancing scientific, technical, economic and social knowledge and understanding. Has an international focus that includes Asia.
International Water Management Institute
A
scientific research organisation specialising in water use in agriculture and integrated management of water and land resources in developing countries.
IUCN Wetlands and Water Resources
The World Conservation Union's site which examines issues to do with sustainable use of wetlands and water resources. It describes initiatives from around the world.
Land and Water Australia
An Australian government statutory corporation responsible for research and development aimed at the productive and sustainable management of the land, water and vegetation resources.
OzCoasts: Information about Australia's Estuaries and Coasts OzCoasts is a publicly accessible online database with a web-based interface that provides comprehensive information about Australia's coasts (including its estuaries and coastal waterways) to natural resource managers, marine scientists, planners, policy makers and the general public. This information and data helps to generate a better understanding of Australia's coastal environments. The content of OzCoasts represents the collaborative efforts of more than 100 coastal
scientists from a wide range of government agencies and universities.
Regional Humid Tropics Hydrology and Water Resources Centre for Southeast Asia and the Pacific
This site is available in Malay or English and provides details of co-operative research and co-ordination between the countries in the Humid Tropics with regards to water related problems.
Department of Water
Responsible for the protection and management of Western Australian water resources, including wetlands, rivers, estuaries, inlets and groundwater. This site provides information relating to water resources, as well as access to some online publications including reports on technical, allocation, protection, management and hydrogeology topics.
Water Corporation of Western Australia
The utility responsible for the provision of water, wastewater, and drainage and irrigation services to households, businesses and farms across Western Australia
Water Quality Research Australia Limited (WQRA)
WQRA will undertake collaborative research of national application on drinking water quality, recycled water and relevant areas of wastewater management.
Wetlands International
A global non-profit organisation which is focused on wetland conservation and sustainable management. Provides access to a lot of information.
Wet Tropics Management Authority
The Authority is responsible for the coordination of the management of the Wet Tropics World Heritage Area in north-east Queensland. This site provides a wide range of resources including visitor, species and management information.
World Commission on Dams
This site provides an archive of information arising from the World Commission on Dams including details of case studies used and reports into the social, environmental and economic impacts of dams.
Submit Your Favourite Links
Do you have favourite links that you would like to see on the Selected Web Sites page? Click on Submit a Link to forward your favourites for consideration.
Subject Guide |
Ph. 9360 7271
Room 3.015. South Wing Level 1
The Library
Murdoch University
Murdoch
Western Australia
6150
Send Email
Subjects:
Environmental Science
Evaluating Sites
Evaluate internet sources carefully before including them in your research materials.
The main criteria for evaluating a web site are:
- Who is the author? It is important to check the author's credentials to determine whether he/she has the knowledge and authority to supply credible information. Check to see if any contact details are provided
- How current is the information? See when the document was created and when it was last updated
- What is his/her interest in the material? Can you detect any bias in the content and are you able to determine the purpose of the site? Check the address to identify the type of organisation producing the document. Be aware that commercial interests and some politically motivated sites may not present a balanced view
- What sort of content is there? Can the content be considered comprehensive and of good quality? Does it provide links to other documents? Check on the audience the information is aimed at (e.g. primary school students or university students)
Description
Loading content... please wait



Submit a Link
Loading content... please wait