Citation and AbbreviationsDictionaries and EncyclopediaForms and PrecedentsLaw SchoolsLegal DatabasesProfessional Associations
Law Reform DocumentsParliament - Bills and PapersParliament - Hansard etcTreaties & Int'l Organisations
* LegislationAustralian Case LawInt'l & Foreign Case LawRecent Australian Decisions
BooksJournalsLegal PublishersLooseleaf PublicationsTheses
Case Law DevelopmentsGovernment AlertsLegal NewsLegislative ChangesNew Book and Journal AlertsRecent Australian Decisions
Guides and HandoutsHow To Develop A Search StrategyPublishers' Tutorials
Constitutional LawCorporationsCriminal lawMaritime LawResearching Environmental PolicyTorts
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Law 

Law Resources for Murdoch University
Last update: Nov 13th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.murdoch.edu.au/law  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Dictionaries and Encyclopedia            Print Page
  
 

Australian Encyclopedia

  • Legal Online Laws of Australia
    An out of date edition is in print on the South Wing Level 3 at R 348.94046 AUS

  • Lexis Nexis AU Halsbury's Laws of Australia
 

Other Encyclopaedia

International Encyclopaedia


Jurisdictional Encyclopaedia

LexisNexis TRS
browse via Legal (excluding US) to country level- examples below

  • The Laws of New Zealand (LONZ)
  • Halsbury's Laws of Hong Kong
  • Halsbury's Laws of England Monthly Review (Note we only have Halsbury's Laws of England in print.)

Westlaw
browse via International Directory- International materials to country level.

  • Canadian Abridgment
  • Canadian Encyclopaedic Digest

United States

LexisNexis TRS
browse via Secondary Legal to get to

  • American Jurisprudence 2d
  • Restatements of the Law (USA)

Westlaw
browse via International Directory - US - Treatises, CLEs, Practice Guides

  • Corpus Juris Secundum
  • Restatements of the Law (USA)

The Oxford Reference Online Premium

 
 

Australian Dictionaries

LexisNexis AU

See also:

  • Online case law databases - search boxes words and phrases
  • Shelf number: R 340.013 (South Wing 3) for other legal dictionaries

 

 

Other Dictionaries

In the print reference area - South Wing Level 3, R340.013

  • Strouds Judicial Dictionary of Words and Phrases
  • The CCH Macquarie dictionary of law
  • Words and Phrases Legally Defined
  • Blacks Law Dictionary

Free Legal Dictionaries on the Web - use with caution.

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait