Outstanding Resource
Provides fulltext access to significant news items from thousands of Australian and international sources.
Interesting Article
The Newspaper is Dead: Read All About It! - by Ken Liss
Newspapers
- Fulltext electronic newspaper collections
- Free newspaper collections online
- Newspapers in print and on microfilm
Full Text Electronic Newspaper Collections
- Australian Newspapers Digitisation Program (Beta) - A free online service that will enable full-text searching of newspaper articles. This will include newspapers published in each state and territory from the 1800s to the mid-1950s, when copyright applies. List of included titles.
- Factiva.com - Provides fulltext access to significant news items from over 6000 international sources, including more than 100 Australasian sources. Coverage includes articles from newspapers, news wires, press releases, company announcements and journals. Also provides information on companies and industries.
Off campus access is available for current Murdoch staff and students only. - Google News Archive - Also provides access to historic newspapers from the Australian Newspapers Digitisation Program (beta) and Papers Past (New Zealand)
- Papers Past - Contains more than one million pages of digitised New Zealand newspapers and periodicals. The collection covers the years 1839 to 1920 and includes publications from all regions of New Zealand.
- Proquest - Abstracting, full-text and image database which includes ABI/INFORM Global and Academic Research Newspapers.
Off campus access is available for current Murdoch staff and students only. - The Times Digital Archive - Facsimile images of the complete digital edition of The Times (London) for the period 1785-1985. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Off campus access is available for current Murdoch staff and students only.
Free Newspaper Collections Online
- Australian Newspapers Online - National Library of Australia site. Provides access to the home pages and in some cases recent full text of Australian newspapers. Links to many regional newspapers are available. Select by title, state or town.
- ABYZ News Links - Portal to online news sources from around the world. Primarily newspapers but also many broadcast stations, internet services, magazines, and press agencies.
- onlinenewspapers.com - Newspapers worldwide, by country.
Newspapers in Print and on Microfilm
- Murdoch Library newspaper holdings - Murdoch Library holds a number of newspaper titles in print and in some cases on microfilm. Most are in the Main Library on the Murdoch campus and some are in the Rockingham Campus Library.
News Sources
Free Online News Sites
- ABC Newsonline - Australian Broadcasting Corporation news.
- BBC News - British Broadcasting Corporation news.
- CNN.com - News from the United States and other countries.
- Inter Press Service News Agency - News service focussing on environmental, sustainability, human rights and globalisation issues.
- Newseum: World's Most Interactive Museum - Innovative site that displays daily newspaper front pages from around the world in their original, unedited form.
Index to International News Sources
- Keesing's Record of World Events - Printed index to national and international current affairs based on information obtained from press, broadcasting, official and other sources.
Held in the Reference Collection in the Main Library of the Murdoch campus at R 905 K26 1.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait