Selected History Sites
| Historiography General History Australian History
|
European History |
Historiography
- Historiography of World History
- Reading, Writing and Researching for History
- Understanding Society Through its Records - Using graphics and interactivity this site distinquishes records from other forms of information and demonstrates the work they perform as the documentary glue holding society together.
[ Top ]
General History Sites
- Best of History Web Sites - This site provides categorized links to hundreds of history-related web sites that have been reviewed for quality, accuracy and usefulness. Sites with engaging content and useful multimedia technologies are most likely to be included.
- Deb's Historical Research Page - Broad coverage. Strong on 17th and 19th century British history.
- History Guide - An internet-based subject gateway from the University Library, Gottingen (Germany). Resources are described and evaluated.
- History Net - Sponsored by the National Historical Society, and it contains hundreds of full-length articles drawn from the history magazines of Cowles Enthusiast Media.
- History Online - Provides high-quality information resources for the teaching and learning of history. Essentially a database of some 30,000 records. Searchable categories include: books, journals, and articles published in the UK (some with abstracts); higher education History teachers in the UK; history theses completed in the UK since 1900 as well as theses in progress; and seminars and conferences held at the IHR.
- Humbul Humanities Hub- Providing access to online humanities resources.
- Internet Resources in History - Compiled by Tennessee Technological University
- Internet Classics Archive - One of the premiere online depositories of classical literature, the site now boasts 441 works by 59 authors, mostly Greco-Roman, but also including some Persian and Chinese authors (all in English translation)
- Links for Students of History and the Social Sciences - Compiled by Professor Dan Graf
- TimePix - Over 22 million images, including illustrations, prints, and photographs. Includes archival materials from many popular magazine such as Time, Life, Sports Illustrated, People, and Entertainment Weekly, as well as material from the recently acquired Mansell Collection.
- World Lecture Hall - The World Lecture Hall (WLH) contains links to pages created by faculty worldwide who are using the Web to deliver class materials.
[ Top ]
Australian History
General Australian
- Australia Now - A Statistical Profile - Provides a comprehensive overview of the economic and social conditions of contemporary Australia, together with administrative and legislative background.
- Australian Constitution - Full text of the Australian Constitution from Austlii.
- Australian Electronic Text Collections at SETIS - University of Sydney Library
- Australian Heritage Commission - Register of the National Estate
- Australian History on the Internet - National Library of Australia
- Australian-Irish Heritage Association
- Australian Information Server in History & the Humanities (AISHH) - A joint initiative by the Department of History & Politics at James Cook University of North Queensland, and the Department of History at the University of Melbourne.
- Australian Literary and Historical Texts - A Collection of 18th, 19th and Early 20th Century Texts - From the University of Sydney, the collection consists of nearly 90 full text Australian literary, historical and political works in a fully searchable database.
- Australian Mining History Association
- Australian Newspapers Digitisation Program (Beta) - A free online service that will enable full-text searching of newspaper articles. This will include newspapers published in each state and territory from the 1800s to the mid-1950s, when copyright applies.
- Australian Places: - a Gazetteer of Australian Cities, Towns and Suburbs - Aims documents the statistics and facilities on offer for 6,000 Australian cities, towns and suburbs. Listings include excerpts from historical gazetteer entries, historical and current visual material and virtual tours of selected locations.
- australian screen - A creative look at the Australian film and television industry from its earliest days to the present, including clips from Australian feature films.world.
- Australians At War - Animated documentaries, video, audio and activities of Australians at war designed to complement the Australians at War TV series.
- Centre for Irish Studies (Aust) - A collaborative project involving Murdoch University, the Australian-Irish Heritage Association and staff members of other Western Australian universities.
- Decisions of the Superior Courts of New South Wales, 1788-1899 - This database contains decisions from of the Supreme Court of New South Wales handed down prior to 1900. At present, there are two ways to find this material, a Case Index and a Subject Index.
- Documenting a Democracy: Australia's Story - Developed by the National Archives of Australia this site contains original texts, transcripts and information relating to various constitutional documents of the 19th and 20th century from State, Federal and Imperial sources.
- Documents on Australian Foreign Policy - Compiled by the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.
- Electronic Australiana - The National Library of Australia offers access to a range of electronic Australiana.
- The Electronic Journal of Australian and New Zealand History - Offers access to Australian and New Zealand history under a range of headings including Scholarly Articles, Book Reviews, History in Electronic Media, Editions of Historical Documents, Teaching Resources, and Conference News.
- GovPubs: the Australian Government Publications Guide - Guide covers Acts, Hansards, Gazettes and Parliamentary Papers located in Australia's National, State and Territory libraries or available on the Internet
- Guide to Australian Literary Manuscripts - The database consists of electronic guides, or finding aids, for more than eighty collections of Australian literary manuscripts.
- Historical Information on the Parliament of Australia - Compiled by the Parliamentary Library, Parliament of Australia.
- International Australian Studies Network - Includes links to all related Studies Centers and Associations throughout the world.
- Mitchell & Dixson Collections - Australian Research Collections, State Library of New South Wales
- National Centre for Australian Studies (Monash University) - Provides links to research publications, exhibitions and other Australian studies sites relating to Australian culture and society.
- National Library of Australia - Detailed listings of the Library's own collections, services and exhibitions as well as extensive links to other important sites, e.g. government resources, State libraries, electronic journals etc.
- The People's Voice: Australian Community History Online - An interesting project aimed at bringing together the stories of communities from across Australia
- Photo Search - Photographs depicting many aspects of Australia and Australian lifestyle from the 1850's to the 1990's selected from the collection of the National Archives.
- Patrick O'Farrell and the Irish in Australia - Information on the purchase by the National Library of Australia of a substantial collection of pamphlets, printed ephemera, manuscripts and personal papers assembled over many years by Patrick O’Farrell.
- PICMAN - An Index to Picture & Manuscripts - Contains records of material in the pictures and manuscripts collections of the Mitchell Library, Dixson Library and Dixson Galleries catalogued since 1992.
- PictureAustralia - Provides a single point of access to over 450,000 digitised images from the pictorial collections of many of Australia's leading cultural heritage institutions.
- PictureAustralia - Trails - A trail of images compiled by the National Library of Australia.
- Pictures Catalogue - Users can search and browse through images selected from the National Library of Australia Pictorial Collection.
- Register of Australian Archives and Manuscripts (RAAM) - Contains information contributed by libraries, archives, museums and historical societies on their holdings of personal papers and records of non-government organisations.
[ Top ]
Indigenous Australians
- Aboriginal Records - State Records Office of Western Australia. Records relating to Aboriginal people held by the SRO are an important source of information for those interested in tracing their family history, particularly for those people who were removed from their families and resettled elsewhere in the State, as well as being a valuable historical resource.
- Aboriginal Studies WWW Virtual Library - The Internet Guide to Aboriginal Studies - A comprehensive site providing links to sources on Australian Aboriginal history, social issues, art and culture.
- AIATSIS (Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies) - Research material, including bibliographies, on Aboriginal and Islander Studies, as well as a catalogue of Aboriginal Studies Press publications.
- Australian Indigenous Studies Selected Internet Sites - Selected by the Subject Librarian for Australian Indigenous Studies at Murdoch University Library.
- Decisions of the Superior Courts of New South Wales, 1788-1899 - This database contains decisions from of the Supreme Court of New South Wales handed down prior to 1900. At present, there are two ways to find this material, a Case Index and a Subject Index. Particularly useful for references to Aboriginal Land Rights.
- Katitjin: a guide to indigenous records in the Battye Library - Compiled by Heather Campbell.
- Mura Gadi - A guide to manuscript, pictorial and oral history materials relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders in the National Library of Australia.
- PictureAustralia Trails - Indigenous Australia - Indigenous Arts - A trail of images compiled by the National Library of Australia.
- Records about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders - Guide to records from the National Archives of Australia.
Settlement to Federation
- Australian Federation Full Text Database
- Australian Mining History Bibliography - Compiled on behalf of the Australian Mining History Association by Mel Davies, University of Western Australia, 1997.
- Australian Periodical Publications 1840-1845: Australian Cooperative Digitisation Project - A digital library of Australian journals that began publication between 1840-1845.
- Decisions of the Superior Courts of New South Wales, 1788-1899 - This database contains decisions from of the Supreme Court of New South Wales handed down prior to 1900. At present, there are two ways to find this material, a Case Index and a Subject Index.
- Federation Gateway - This site from the National Library of Australia contains digitised images of all the major people involved in the federation campaign, photographs and invitations.
- Federation Resources - National Archives of Australia
- George Raper Collection - This rare First Fleet collection allows us to experience the voyage that changed Australian history through the eyes of seventeen year old Midshipman George Raper.
- Journeys in Time 1809-1822 - The Journals of Lachlan & Elizabeth Macquarie.
- Lachlan Macquarie Room
- Matthew Flinders Project - This site celebrates the bicentenary of Matthew Flinders' epic circumnavigation of Australia.
- Mutiny on the HMS Bounty
- Passenger lists leaving UK 1890-1960
- Sir Joseph Banks' Papers - Mitchell & Dixson Libraries, State Library of New South Wales.
- Sources in the National Archives [of Ireland] for Research into the Transportation of Irish Convicts to Australia (1791-1853)
- Tyrrell Photographic Collection - Provides an important record of city and country life in late 1800s and early 1900s New South Wales with a number of broad themes: Sydney and suburbs; south coast; Blue Mountains; transport; rural New South Wales; shipping; caves; sports; Indigenous peoples of Australia and the South Pacific.
- Transportation Records Database - Compiled by the National Archives of Ireland
[ Top]
Modern Australia
- AIF Project - Seeks to record comprehensive information on all 332,000 men and women who served in the the Australian Imperial Force 1914-1919.
- Australia-Japan Research Project - Covers the Australia-Japan relationship from 1901-1957, concentrating particularly on the wartime relationship.
- Australian Media History Database - Lists sources, resources, courses and current researchers in the field of Australian media history. It is designed to be a central tool of Australian media history research.
- Australian Mining History Bibliography - Compiled on behalf of the Australian Mining History Association by Mel Davies, University of Western Australia, 1997.
- Australia's Prime Ministers - National Archives of Australia
- Documents on Australian Foreign Policy - Compiled by the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.
- Historical Parliamentary Information - Parliamentary Library, Canberra
- Leading the Way: Sir John Monash - Monash University Archives' first on-line exhibition celebrating the life of engineer and military hero Sir John Monash.
- Papers of Edmund Barton - National Library of Australia
- The People's Voice: Australian Community History Online - An interesting project aimed at bringing together the stories of communities from across Australia
- Prime Ministers of Australia - Parliamentary Library, Canberra.
- Robert Gordon Menzies (1894-1978)
- Union Songs - Mark Gregory's collected union songs, including those produced during the 1998 waterfront dispute. Covers songs, articles, recordings, books, song links and union links.
[ Top ]
European History
- Encyclopedia of 1848 Revolutions - This online encyclopedia contains a large number of articles written by scholars from around the world on topics related to the "Springtime of the Peoples," the popular revolutions that spread across Europe in 1848.
- European History Primary Sources - An index of scholarly websites that offer online access to primary sources on the history of Europe.
- History Resources for Students - History courseware with online tuturials on a wide range of topics in European History from the History Department at Warwick University.
- Pamphlet Collection, London School of Economics - An online guide to some 90,000 pamphlets, many from the 19th and early 20th centuries. Issues covered include political parties, social policy, poor laws, transport etc. Includes European and International materials. A most useful collection for researchers and historians.
[ Top ]
Great Britain
- Archon - Archives On-Line - The principal information gateway for UK archivists and users of manuscript sources for British history. Hosted and maintained by the Royal Commission on Historical Manuscripts.
- British Empire - Broad overview of the history of the British Empire.
- British Parliamentary Papers - A guide to 19th century British Parliamentary publications held in Murdoch University Library.
- British Parliamentary Publications and Information- Brings together in one guide all information on British Parliamentary publications. Deals only with the publications / Internet sites for the House of Commons and House of Lords.
- Census Returns for England & Wales - Useful site produced by GenDoc, a genealogical research company in the UK
- Charles Booth Online Archive: Charles Booth and the survey into life and labour in London (1886-1903) - Charles Booth was a 19th century Victorian-era Englishman concerned with the rapid increase in poverty and human suffering throughout London that developed during the late 19th century.
- Ecclesiastical Census of 1851 - Records information from the Public Record Office UK
- GenDocs: Genealogical Research in England & Wales
- History - American and British - Research and Reference Gateway: Research Guides created by Rutgers University Libraries.
- History Learning Resources - History courseware with online tuturials on a wide range of topics in European History from the History Department at Warwick University. Good British coverage.
- History Online - An important resource for historians, especially those working in the UK or studying in Britain. Essentially a database of some 30,000 records. Searchable categories include: books, journals, and articles published in the UK (some with abstracts); higher education History teachers in the UK; history theses completed in the UK since 1900 as well as theses in progress; and seminars and conferences held at the IHR.
- Institute of Historical Research UK
- Internet Library of Early Journals (ILEJ) - A joint project by the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford, to digitize selected twenty-year runs of three eighteenth and three nineteenth-century journals. Journals include: Annual Register (1758-78), Gentleman's Magazine (1731-50), Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society (1757-77), Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine (1843-52), Notes and Queries (1849-69) and The Builder (1843-9).
- London College of Fashion: College Archive - Visual Arts Data Archive - 1,000+ images from the London College of Fashion (LCF) spanning the history of the institution from its beginnings as two needletrade institutions in the early twentieth century to the 1970s.
- 1901: Living at the Time of the Census - This virtual exhibition uses words, pictures and documents to open a door onto life in 1901.
- 19th Century British Social History - LibGuide to resources. Compiled by Pam Mathews, Liaison Librarian for History, Murdoch University Library.
- Nineteenth Century Public Health and Epidemics: Some PRO Sources - Compiled by the Public Record Office UK
- Pamphlet Collection, London School of Economics - An online guide to some 90,000 pamphlets, many from the 19th and early 20th centuries. Issues covered include political parties, social policy, poor laws, transport etc. Includes European and International materials. A most useful collection for researchers and historians.
- Passenger lists leaving UK 1890-1960
- Planning the Research Trip to Britain - A great site from Victoria Research Web, including advice on places to stay, things to see, general guides, research tips etc.
- Proceedings of the Old Bailey London 1674-1834 - A fully searchable online edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing accounts of over 100,000 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court.
- Public Record Office - The National Archives of Great Britain - Provides links to the resources of the PRO as well as to other resources.
- RHS Bibliography of British and Irish History - A major resources from the Royal Historical Society providing access to 300,000 records
- Victoria Research Web - VRW is dedicated to the scholarly study of the nineteenth century in Britain, and to aiding researchers, teachers, and students in their investigations of any and all aspects of this fascinating period.
- Victorian Census Project (Staffordshire University) - This database has the potential to significantly broaden our understanding of British society in the nineteenth century in a number of areas, including health and disease, education and literacy, occupations and employment, and migration. At present, four sub-sets of variables relating to the 1831 and 1861 censuses, and the Scottish Registrar General's Annual Report for 1861, can be downloaded from the site
- Victorian Dictionary - Guide to the social history of Victorian London
- The Victorian Web - Project funded by the University Scholars Program, National University of Singapore
- The Workhouse - Peter Higginbotham's web site devoted to the workhouse, a feature of the English landscape for over two hundred years providing employment for the destitute in return for board and lodging.
Ireland
- Australian-Irish Heritage Association
- British and Irish Archaeological Bibliography - Information on archaeology, historic buildings, maritime and industrial archaeology, environmental history, and the conservation of material culture - with a geographical focus on the Republic of Ireland and the United Kingdom. Provides access to a free online database holding over 92,000 references to material published from 1695 to 1991.
- CELT - Corpus of Electronic Texts - An extensive online resource for contemporary and historical Irish documents in literature, history and politics.
- Centre for Irish Studies (Aust) - A collaborative project involving Murdoch University, the Australian-Irish Heritage Association and staff members of other Western Australian universities.
- Chronology of Ireland - Information on people and events connected to Ireland over the past four centuries.
- Database for Irish Historical Statistics - Contains recurrent statistics for Ireland for the nineteenth and twentieth centuries collected from a variety of printed census sources.
- Documents [in Irish History]
- EIRData - Electronic Irish Records Dataset - Princess Grace Irish Library (PGIL) web site includes two datasets, a detailed biblgiography, the library catalogue, and electronic texts.
- Genealogy - Compiled by the National Archives of Ireland
- History of the North of Ireland
- Information on the Irish State
- Irish Internet Hub - Your Passport to Irish Locations on the Web
- Irish News and Information - Online news sources, newspapers and magazines.
- Irish Penal Laws - This site offers the full text of penal statutes passed in the reigns of Queen Elizabeth I, William and Mary, King William III, Queen Anne, King George I and I1.
- Irish Republican History and Information
- Irish Resources in Other Archives Around the World - Compiled by the National Archives of Ireland.
- Irish Resources in the Humanities - Site developed by Susan Schreibman at University College Dublin
- Irish Serials in the Boston College Libraries - An online, searchable database of noted Irish serials in the Boston College Libraries' collection, with a date range from 1685 to the present and covering Irish history, literature, politics, art, archaeology, economics, genealogy, music, and law
- Irish Studies Programs
- National Archives of Ireland
- Research Guide: Irish Studies - Selected Irish studies resources available at the Boston College Libraries, including internet resources
- Research Webpage - The personal webpage of John Peter Saunders, Masters student of Comparative Literature and Communications at Murdoch University, Perth, Western Australia. John's field of interest is that of the continued global transmission and transformation of oral history originating from the Connaught region of Ireland.
- Sources for Women's History - Compiled by the National Archives of Ireland
- Sources in the National Archives [of Ireland] for Research into the Transportation of Irish Convicts to Australia (1791-1853)
- Timelines of Irish History
- Transportation Records - Compiled by the National Archives of Ireland
- Views of the Famine - An excellent collection of contemporary British newspaper articles and illustrations relating to the Great Irish Famine. The site features several contemporary newspapers, including the llustrated London News, the Pictorial Times, and Punch, which demonstrate the range of opinions on the famine and the Irish people held by the British press and their readers. Some of the over 100 contemporary illustrations are in a high-resolution format suitable for printing. Additional features include a full text narrative of a journey in 1847 Ireland and links to other Famine sites.
Scotland
- Scottish Economic History Database, 1550-1780
- Search for Scotland - A complimentary site to the BBC's new ten-part series exploring the history of Scotland.
France
- Bibliotheque Nationale de France
- Encyclopedia of 1848 Revolutions
- France in World War 11
- French History: A Guide to Resources & Research on the Web
- Napoleonic Guide - Focusing on French history between 1796 to 1815, the site offers information on the era's major powers, armies, soldiers, battles, the Naval War, the War of 1812, and much more.
[ Top ]
Germany
- A Concrete Curtain: the Life and Death of the Berlin Wall - A hypertext history of the Berlin Wall and the significant events of the cold war that featured prominently in its life and death.
- German Propaganda Archive - This site offers a good cross-section of translated propaganda material from Nazi Germany and the German Democratic Republic (GDR).
[ Top ]
Italy
- Italian Life Under Fascism - Selections From the Fry Collection, Department of Special Collections, University of Wisconsin-Madison
[ Top ]
Russia & Eastern Europe
- Beyond the Pale: the History of Jews in Russia
- The Chairman Smiles: Posters from the Former Soviet Union, Cuba and China
- Chronology of Russian History
- Joseph Stalin Reference Archive 1879 - 1953
- Russian & East European History - Internet resources relating to Russian and East European history maintained by the Tennessee Technological University
- REESWeb: Russian & East European Studies - Comprehensive index of electronic resources on the Balkans, the Baltic states, the Caucusus, Central Asia, Central Europe, the CIS, Eastern Europe, the NIS, the Russian Federation, and the former Soviet Union.
- Russian History on the Internet
- Sources on Russia and the Former Soviet Union
[ Top ]
North American History
General American History
- American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library - American Memory historical collections contain documents, motion pictures, photographs, and sound recordings about many topics in the history of the United States.
- Digital Classroom - The Digital Classroom provides materials from the National Archives and methods for teaching with primary sources.
- Documenting the American South: The Southern Experience in 19th Century America - Includes fourteen narratives on slavery, thirteen diaries/memoirs, twenty autobiographies, and new resources are being added.
- History - American and British - Site created by Rutgers University Libraries.
- Images of American Political History - This sites offers some 500 public domain images related to American political history from the colonial era to the present.
- Making of America - This site is part of a collaborative project between Cornell University and the University of Michigan focusing on American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The Making of America Project site at University of Michigan includes 200,000 pages of American publications from 1850 to 1900, it will include approximately 650,000 pages and several journals in the near future.
- United States History - Extensive list of links relating to United States history maintained by the Tennessee Technological University
[ Top ]
Native American History
- Edward C. Curtis's The North American Indian - A complete collection of the images included in Edward S. Curtis's The North American Indian. Originally published in 20 volumes between 1907 and 1930, the work contained over 1,500 illustrations and more than 700 portfolio plates, all of which are featured at the site.
- Index of Native American Resources on the Internet
- Indigenous Peoples of the Americas
- Native American Documents Project - California State University, San Marcos. Documents about the history of federal policy concerning native peoples.
- Native Americans and the Frontier West
[ Top ]
Colonial American History
- American Colonies Ring - This Web Ring is dedicated to research, living history, and search function sites related to the North American Colonies in the 17th and 18th Centuries.
- Approaches to Early American Culture, 1607-1865
- Archiving Early America: Historic Documents from 18th Century America
- Early America History Review: A Journal of Fact and Opinion on the People, Issues and Events of 18th Century America
- Index to Source Material - Full text of primary sources and transcripts throughout American history
- Model Editions Partnership: Historical Editions in the Digital Age - The Documentary History of the First Federal Congress, the Ratification of the Constitution and the Bill of Rights, Papers of General Nathanael Greene, Henry Laurens,Lincoln Legal Papers, Papers of Margaret Sanger, Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony.
- Salem Witchcraft Trials 1692 - Famous American Trials
- The Town Crier Online - The Town Crier is an active forum of educators, historians, students, researchers and journalists with one common interest: Early America.
- Witchcraft in Salem Village, Now Danvers, Massachusetts - This site, created by the Danvers Archival Center and hosted by the Electronic Text Center at the University of Virginia, offers a number of primary documents and other materials related to the Witchcraft Outbreak of 1692 that will interest historians and students.
[ Top ]
Revolutionary American History
- The American Revolution - Complements the official companion site to PBS's Liberty! documentary series. This American Revolution website offers a chance to join in national discussions of American revolutionary origins.
- George Washington Papers at the Library of Congress 1741-1799 - From the Manuscript Division, Library of Congress.
- Index to Source Material - Full text of primary sources and transcripts throughout American history
- Model Editions Partnership: Historical Editions in the Digital Age - The Documentary History of the First Federal Congress, the Ratification of the Constitution and the Bill of Rights, Papers of General Nathanael Greene, Henry Laurens,Lincoln Legal Papers, Papers of Margaret Sanger, Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony.
- Liberty! The American Revolution - The official online companion to Liberty! The American Revolution, a series of six one-hour documentaries to be broadcast on PBS
- Papers of George Washington - University of Virginia
- Rise and Fall of Alexander Hamilton
- Spy Letters of the American Revolution - This digital exhibition from the Clements Library displays and contextualizes a collection of letters written by spies during the American Revolution. Includes narratives related to espionage, spying tehniques, maps tracing spy letters' routes, biographies and a timeline of major events in the American Revolutionary War.
- Thomas Paine National Historical Association - Features an archive of Thomas Paine's works.
- The Town Crier Online - The Town Crier is an active forum of educators, historians, students, researchers and journalists with one common interest: Early America.
- Time Line - America During the Age of Revolution, 1764-1775 - Created by the Library of Congress
[ Top ]
The Civil War
- American Civil War Roundtable of Australia - NSW Chapter
- Index to Source Material - Full text of primary sources and transcripts throughout American history
- Lincoln/Net - The Abraham Lincoln Historical Digitization Project aims to bring together digital versions of documents, images, and even music related to Abraham Lincoln's life in Illinois from institutions throughout that state.
- The Valley of the Shadow: Two Communities in the American Civil War - An archive of material relating to the Civil War/ University of Virginia Research Project
[ Top ]
Modern America
- American Life Histories: Manuscripts from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1940 - Manuscript Division, Library of Congress
- Psychedelic Sixties: Literary Tradition and Social Change - Compiled by the Special Collections Dept. University of Virginia Library
- September 11 Digital Archive - Uses electronic media to collect, preserve, and present the history of the September 11, 2001 attack in New York, Virginia, and Pennsylvania and the public responses to them
- The Sixties Project & Viet Nam Generation, Inc.
- 20th Century America
[ Top ]
Military History
World War 1
- AIF Project
- Art of the First World War - 100 paintings from international collections to commemorate the 80th anniversary of the end of the First World War.
- Australians at War - Animated documentaries, video, audio and activities of Australians at war designed to complement the Australians at War TV series.
- Australians at War Film Archive - Designed to film and record the stories of over two thousand war veterans as a permanent asset for posterity. It is an unmatched historical collection, a resource for all Australians interested in our wartime heritage.
- Causes of War - Australian War Memorial educational website.
- First AIF Database Project - Seeks to record comprehensive information on all 332,000 men and women (i.e. nurses) who served in the the Australian Imperial Force 1914-19.
- The Great War Society - To Study All Aspects of the Great War and Its Effects on the 20th Century
- Leading the Way: Sir John Monash - Monash University Archives' first on-line exhibition celebrating the life of engineer and military hero Sir John Monash.
- Mapping Our Anzacs - An innovative tool to browse 375,971 records of service in the Australian Army during World War 1 according to the person's place of birth or enlistment.
[ Top ]
World War 11
- Australia-Japan Research Project - Covers the Australia-Japan relationship from 1901-1957, concentrating particularly on the wartime relationship.
- Australians At War - Animated documentaries, video, audio and activities of Australians at war designed to complement the Australians at War TV series.
- Australians at War Film Archive - Designed to film and record the stories of over two thousand war veterans as a permanent asset for posterity. It is an unmatched historical collection, a resource for all Australians interested in our wartime heritage.
- Causes of War - Australian War Memorial educational website.
- Historic Government Publications from World War II: a Digital Library - Compiled by Southern Methodist University
- Internet Resources on Genocide and Mass Killings - World War 11 Resources - Compiled by Dr S.D. Stein
- World War 11 Resources - Primary source materials on the Web. Original documents regarding all aspects of the war.
- World War 11- The War in Europe
[ Top ]
The Holocaust
- The Holocaust - a Guide for Teachers
- The Holocaust Collection
- Holocaust Survivors - This site offers students or any visitor invaluable personal accounts of the Holocaust.
- Resources on Genocide, War Crimes and Mass Killings - Compiled by Dr S.D. Stein
- Nizkor Project
- remember.org
- United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, Washington D.C.
- Voices of the Holocaust - Seventy interviews of Holocaust survivors conducted in 1946.
- Witness Legacy: Contemporary Art About the Holocaust - A travelling exhibition of 63 works of contemporary art exploring the linkages between the Holocaust and creativity
[ Top ]
Vietnam
- Australians At War - Animated documentaries, video, audio and activities of Australians at war designed to complement the Australians at War TV series.
- Australians at War Film Archive - Designed to film and record the stories of over two thousand war veterans as a permanent asset for posterity. It is an unmatched historical collection, a resource for all Australians interested in our wartime heritage.
- Socialist Republic of Viet Nam - World-Wide Web Virtual Library
- Viet Gate - Gateway to the Online Vietnamese Community
- Vietnam Project - This site contains over 1.5 million pages of materials online, ranging from photographs, slides, audio and video recordings, and a number of oral histories.
- Vietnam 60's
- Vietnam War Declassification Project - To commemorate the 25th anniversary of the fall of Phnom Penh and Saigon, the Ford Presidential Library has released nearly 30,000 pages of newly declassified material concerning the Vietnam War.
- The Wars for Vietnam: 1945-1975
[ Top ]
Public History
- Public History - Australian Centre for Public History, University of Technology, Sydney
[ Top ]
Women's History
- AFSCME LaborLinks - Annotated links to diverse information on the history of women in the labor movement.
- American Women's History: A Research Guide - Site maintained by Ken Middleton of Middle Tennessee State University Library, describing and linking to all general and subject specific information and primary sources in women's history.
- American Women's History: A Research Guide - Primary Sources - Archival collections and primary sources by type.
- Archival Sites for Women's Studies - Compiled by the Women's Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries.
- By Popular Demand: "Votes for Women" Suffrage Pictures, 1850-1920 - An illustrated reference aid with 38 pictorial portraits and scenes documenting the fight to gain women the vote. Produced as part of the Library of Congress' American Memory Collection.
- Defining Her Life: Advice Books for Women - An exhibition of advice and conduct books from the past 300 years from the University of Delaware Special Collections Department.
- Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World - Includes a searchable bibliography, links to art collections, anthology of translations and desired translations of primary sources, and links to many other resources.
- Emma Goldman Papers - Comprehensive site describing the collected papers of this famous activist, including finding aids to the collection, photographs, selected writings, and bibliographical essays and references.
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index - Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages
- Genesis: Developing Access to Women's History Sources in the British Isles - This database holds descriptions of women's history collections from libraries, archives and museums from around the British Isles.
- Motherhood, Social Service and Political Reform: Political Culture and Imagery of American Woman Suffrage - Users can browse the gallery of 50 images or take a more in-depth tour of the woman's suffrage movement.
- Multimedia Sites in Women's History - Maintained by Ken Middleton at Middle Tennessee State University, lists and annotates internet accessible multimedia sites on primarily American women's history.
- Suffragists Oral History Project (UC Berkeley Library) - Interviews with twelve leaders and participants in the woman's suffrage movement.
- ViVa: A Bibliography of Women's History in Historical and Women's Studies Journals - ViVa is a current bibliography of articles about women's and gender history.
- Votes For Women: Selections From the National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection, 1848-1921 - 165 books, pamphlets, and other artifacts documenting the campaign for Woman Suffrage. Produced as part of the Library of Congress' American Memory Collection.
- Witchcraft Bibliography Project Online
- Witchcraft in Salem Village, Now Danvers, Massachusetts - This site, created by the Danvers Archival Center and hosted by the Electronic Text Center at the University of Virginia, offers a number of primary documents and other materials related to the Witchcraft Outbreak of 1692 that will interest historians and students.
- Witches on the Web: A Review of Some Scholarly Sites on Witches - Compiled by Fabienne Baider and Anita Liang
- Women and Gender Studies Web Sites (WSSLINKS) - A comprehensive list of sites compiled by the Women's Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries.
- Women in American History - The editors of Encyclopaedia Britannica Online have put together this collection of biographical information on women in American history from 1600 to the present.
- Women's History Sites (WSSLINKS) - Compiled by the Women's Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries.
- The Women's Library - The most extensive collection of women's history in the UK.
- Women's Studies Internet Resources - Compiled by Pam Mathews, Liaison Librarian, Murdoch University Library.
- Women's Studies Research Collections on Microform in Murdoch University Library - Guide to microform collections relating to women's studies held in Murdoch University Library. Compiled by Pam Mathews, History & Women's Studies Librarian, Murdoch University Library.
- Women's History Review
- WWWomen - History
[ Top ]
Suggest a Link
Do you have links that you would like to see on the Selected History Sites page? Click on Submit a Link to forward your favourites for consideration.



Submit a Link
Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait