AtlasesBibliographiesBiographiesChronologiesDictionaries & Encyclopedias
Find Books at Murdoch CampusesFind Books at Other LibrariesFind Chapters in BooksFind New BooksRequest on Document Delivery
Find a Known ArticleFind Articles on a TopicJournal AbbreviationsRequest on Document DeliverySelected EJournal Listings
Selected Internet Sites
Citation & Style GuidesEndNote
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

History 

A guide to History resources for Murdoch University students and staff
Last update: Nov 04th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.murdoch.edu.au/history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Research Collections            Print Page
  
 

Research Collections

Digital Collections 

  • Defining Gender 1450-1910 - Five centuries of advice literature relating to gender studies. Over 50,000 images of original manuscript and printed material, addressing themes such as leisure and entertainment, consumer culture, education and the body. Includes contextual essays by 17 leading scholars with hypertext links to source materials. 
     
  • 19th Century British Pamphlets View Title List | About this Collection (.pdf) 
    This collection contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in UK research libraries. Pamphlets were an important means of public debate, covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of their day. They have been underutilized within research and teaching because they are generally quite difficult to access – often bound together in large numbers or otherwise hard to find in the few research libraries that hold them. The digitization of more than 20,000 pamphlets from seven UK institutions will provide researchers, students, and teachers with an immensely rich and coherent corpus of primary sources with which to study the socio-political and economic landscape of 19th century Britain.

Microform Collections
Research collections in microform are shelved on South Wing Level 1 room 1.016. They can be viewed on the Reader/Printer located within the room. Access to the Reader/Printer can be booked for a period of up to 2 hours (which may be extended if there are no other bookings). Booking sheets and instructions are located next to the Reader/Printer. Bookings can also be made from off campus by contacting Janice Pell on 9360 2154 or by email to Janice Pell

Guides to the Microform Collection 

Where available, printed guides accompany the various collections and are shelved adjacent to the microform collections.

Special Collections

The Library's Special Collections area houses archival and research material of special significance to the University. There is a large amount of manuscript material, much of it associated with donations.

View the Special Collections web page for a description of some of the collections together with instructions on how to access. Many collections are yet to be described so it may be necessary to make an appointment with Grant Stone, Manager of Scholarly Resources, in order to appreciate the full breadth of the holdings.

 

Liaison Librarian

Profile ImagePam Mathews
Contact Info:
Room 2.010, South Wing Level 2
Murdoch University Library
Telephone 9360 7272
Send Email

Subjects:
History, Sociology, Community Development, Sustainability

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait