AtlasesBibliographiesBiographiesChronologiesDictionaries & Encyclopedias
Find Books at Murdoch CampusesFind Books at Other LibrariesFind Chapters in BooksFind New BooksRequest on Document Delivery
Find a Known ArticleFind Articles on a TopicJournal AbbreviationsRequest on Document DeliverySelected EJournal Listings
Selected Internet Sites
Citation & Style GuidesEndNote
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

History 

A guide to History resources for Murdoch University students and staff
Last update: Nov 04th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.murdoch.edu.au/history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Pictures & Images            Print Page
  
 

Picture & Image Databases

Listed below are web sites and databases of Pictorial Collections and Image Databases. Most of the major archival repositories will also have extensive collections, many of which will not have been digitised. It may be necessary for you to make direct enquiries to specific repositories. Contacts can be located by looking at the Archives listing.

  • Art of the First World War - 100 paintings from international collections to commemorate the 80th anniversary of the end of the First World War.
  • British Pathe Film Archive - Images, which date back to the turn of the 20th century, have been captured from the archives of the British Pathe newsreel, a cinema news service that pre-dated television. The project involved rescanning every centimetre of the archive's 3500 hours of 35mm film.
  • By Popular Demand: "Votes for Women" Suffrage Pictures, 1850-1920 - An illustrated reference aid with 38 pictorial portraits and scenes documenting the fight to gain women the vote. Produced as part of the Library of Congress' American Memory Collection.
  • Documenting a Democracy - Picture Album - National Archives of Australia.
  • Images of American Political History - This sites offers some 500 public domain images related to American political history from the colonial era to the present.
  • Images of History on the Web - Created by David Mattison, Access Services Archivist, British Columbia's Archives.
  • London College of Fashion: College Archive - Visual Arts Data Archive - 1,000+ images from the London College of Fashion (LCF) spanning the history of the institution from its beginnings as two needletrade institutions in the early twentieth century to the 1970s.
  • Photo Search - Photographs depicting many aspects of Australia and Australian lifestyle from the 1850's to the 1990's selected from the collection of the National Archives.
  • PICMAN - An Index to Picture & Manuscripts - Contains records of Australian material in the pictures and manuscripts collections of the Mitchell Library, Dixson Library and Dixson Galleries catalogued since 1992.
  • PictureAustralia - Provides a single point of access to over 450,000 digitised images from the pictorial collections of many of Australia's leading cultural heritage institutions.
  • PictureAustralia - Trails - A trail of images compiled by the National Library of Australia.
  • PictureAustralia Trails - Indigenous Australia - Indigenous Arts - A trail of images compiled by the National Library of Australia.
  • Pictures - Mura Gadi - A guide to manuscript, pictorial and oral history materials relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders in the National Library of Australia.
  • Pictures Catalogue - Users can search and browse through images selected from the National Library of Australia Pictorial Collection.
  • TimePix - Over 22 million images, including illustrations, prints, and photographs. Includes archival materials from many popular magazine such as Time, Life, Sports Illustrated, People, and Entertainment Weekly, as well as material from the recently acquired Mansell Collection.
  • Tyrrell Photographic Collection - Provides an important record of city and country life in late 1800s and early 1900s New South Wales with a number of broad themes: Sydney and suburbs; south coast; Blue Mountains; transport; rural New South Wales; shipping; caves; sports; Indigenous peoples of Australia and the South Pacific.
  • Views of the Famine - An excellent collection of contemporary British newspaper articles and illustrations relating to the Great Irish Famine. The site features several contemporary newspapers, including the llustrated London News, the Pictorial Times, and Punch, which demonstrate the range of opinions on the famine and the Irish people held by the British press and their readers. Some of the over 100 contemporary illustrations are in a high-resolution format suitable for printing. Additional features include a full text narrative of a journey in 1847 Ireland and links to other Famine sites.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait