Selected Sites
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Australian Indigenous Studies 

A guide to Indigenous Studies resources for Murdoch University students and staff
Last update: Jul 20th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.murdoch.edu.au/indigenous  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Selected Sites            Print Page
  
 

Selected Internet Sites


Archives

  • Aboriginal Records - State Records Office of Western Australia. The records relating to Aboriginal people held by the SRO are an important source of information for those interested in tracing their family history, particularly for those people who were removed from their families and resettled elsewhere in the State, as well as being a valuable historical resource.
  • AIATSIS - Family Hisory Unit - Comprehensive listing of resources available for Indigenous family history.
  • Indigenous Australia- Where to find records on Indigenous Australians, a guide developed by the National Archives of Australia.
  • Katitjin: a guide to indigenous records in the Battye Library - Compiled by Heather Campbell.

[ Top ]


Arts/Languages

  • Aboriginal Art, Culture, & Spirituality - Features links to art, rock art and music sites
  • Aboriginal Languages of Australia There are more than 200 Australian Indigenous languages. About 20 languages are strong, but endangered: the others have been destroyed, live in the memories of the elderly, or are being revived by their communities. This site has annotated links to 180 resources for about 60 languages. About 25% of these resources are produced or published by Indigenous people.
  • Australia Council: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Arts - Information about policy, grants, events and resources.
  • Australian Indigenous Languages - Project supported by AIATSIS providing information resources for Australian Indigenous Languages (Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages).
  • Berndt Museum of Anthropology - Australian Aboriginal art and cultural materials.
  • Black Words - Black Words is a searchable database and a forum for communication. It supersedes AustLit's Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Writers subset which was created from 2001-2006 to record Indigenous literature, writers and writing. Black Words builds on, and extends, this work. The database includes a comprehensive list of contemporary Indigenous storytellers.
  • FATSIL - National body for community based Indigenous language programs in Australia.
  • Language Map - Tindale Maps
  • Language Map - Aboriginal Australia map ("Horton Map")
  • 'Our Culture, Our Future' - Report on Australian indigenous cultural and intellectual property rights.
  • PictureAustralia Trails - Indigenous Australia - Indigenous Arts and Indigenous Dance. Indigenous Australians have a traditional culture that relies heavily on art and dance and storytelling to explain the natural world.
    Follow the Indigenous Arts trail for images that illustrate the beauty of these traditions.
    Dance has always been important in the cultural life of Indigenous Australians. Follow the Indigenous dance and dancers trail for images, old and new, showing how photographers and artists have captured and imagined Indigenous dancing.

    Indigenous Australians should note that this trail may include images or names of people now deceased.

[ Top ]


Databases

  • Agreements, Treaties and Negotiated Settlements(ATNS) Project - The ATNS database is an online gateway which links together current information, historical detail and published material relating to agreements made between Indigenous people and others in Australia and overseas. The ATNS database is designed for the use of Indigenous and other community organisations, researchers, government and industry bodies.
  • Anthropological Index Online - An index to the current periodicals in the Museum of Mankind Library (incorporating the former Royal Anthropological Institute library). The Library's holdings cover all areas of cultural and social anthropology, ethnography and material culture, from mainstream theoretical journals to specialist interest publication in all geographical regions. Contains considerable content relevant to Aboriginal Studies.
  • AusAnthrop - Site dedicated to research and resources in anthropology with special accent on Aboriginal Australia, including access to the tribes and language database.

[ Top ]


General Resources

  • Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Page - Designed to be a starting point for links to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Information in Victoria and Australia and to act as a platform for the local Victorian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community to publish their own information on the Internet.
  • Aboriginal Studies WWW Virtual Library: The Internet Guide to Aboriginal Studies - Extensive list of sites covering General Resources, Koori Web Resources, Aboriginal History, Australian Native Title Documents, Aboriginal Languages, Aboriginal Art & Culture, and Online Databases.
  • AIATSIS Homepage - AIATSIS-web presents information about the diverse resources of the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies. Coverage includes the Library, Native Title research unit, publications, research, and news and events. It is possible to download PDF version of AIATSIS reserch documents from this site. This site can also help with access to further information or arrange a visit to AIATSIS in Canberra.
  • Centre for Aboriginal Economic Policy Research - This Centre was established to investigate issues relating to the stimulation of economic development for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people; to identify and analyse the factors affecting Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander participation in the labour force; and to assist in the development of government strategies aimed at raising the level of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander participation in the labour market. Many of the Centre's research publications can be downloaded in pdf format from this site.
  • European Network for Indigenous Australian Rights (ENIAR) - Promotes awareness on indigenous issues and provides information for Indigenous Australians about Europe and international organisations.
  • Indigenous.gov.au - the Indigenous Portal, a site for and about Aboriginal peoples and Torres Strait Islanders.
  • Indigenous Affairs Resources - Australian Parliamentary Library.
  • Indigenous Knowledge (IFLA) - A draft statement on indigenous knowledge and knowledge traditions by the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions.
  • Indigenous Peoples of Australia - A collection of links to sites relating to the indigenous peoples of Australia. The sites are organised according to the following categories: Arts, Culture, Education, Environment, Health, Media, Social development, Tribes, and Women.
  • Mura Gadi - A guide to manuscript, pictorial and oral history materials relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders in the National Library of Australia's online catalogue.
  • PANDORA - Australian Indigenous Studies. PANDORA (Preserving and Accessing Networked Documentary Resources of Australia), contains archived internet-accessible sites and publications that may no longer be available from their current or original internet sites.
  • Western Australia. Department of Indigenous Affairs. - A guide to information regarding the Western Australian Department of Indigenous Affairs. The site includes materials relating to indigenous policies and governance, departmental publications, indigenous lands and sites, and family history. Please note - As of December 2003 the Department of Indigenous Affairs Library closed to the public.

[ Top ]


Health

[ Top ]


Human Rights/Law

  • Indigenous Justice Clearinghouse - The aim of the clearinghouse is to promote discussion and disseminate relevant Indigenous justice information to government policy makers and those working in the Indigenous justice field. In the research database, you can find information on Indigenous justice research including research projects, datasets, evaluations, published papers and reports, descriptions of relevant programs and links to other websites.
  • Human Rights & Equal Opportunity Commission, Australia - Reports on a range of human rights issues including Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Social Justice.
  • Indigenous Peoples and the Law - This guide contains links to Internet resources and documents in the area of Federal law and Indigenous peoples, as well as providing links to other guides and directories which contain material on State and Territory and overseas law.

[ Top ]


Native Title

  • AIATSIS - Native Title Research Unit - The Native Title Research Unit identifies pressing research needs arising from the recognition of native title, conducts relevant research projects to address these needs, and disseminates the results. They publish a regular newsletter, an Issues Papers series, and publications arising from research projects.
  • National Native Title Tribunal including determinations, annual reports and questions and answers. Provides access to a consolidated version of the Native Title Act 1993 , incorporating changes proposed by the the Native title Amendment Bill 1997.
  • Determinations also available on AustLII
  • Native Title Reports - Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission. Under the Native Title Act 1993, the Commissioner is required to make a Native Title Report to federal Parliament each year. Through these reports, the Commissioner gives a human rights perspective on native title issues.

[ Top ]


Reconciliation

  • Reconciliation Australia - Provides a national focus for the process of reconciliation between Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and the wider Australian community.
  • Treaty - Since 1979 there have been calls for a treaty with indigenous Australians. The selected material from the AIATSIS collection of publications and papers gives an overview of this debate. There are also links to other contemporary information on Treaty.
  • Treaty - Advancing Reconciliation Conference - Proceedings of Treaty - Advancing Reconciliation - A National Conference on Racism, Land and Reconciliation in a Global Context, Murdoch University, 26 -28 June 2002.

[ Top ]


Stolen Generations

[ Top ]

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait