Directories of Archive and Manuscripts
- Australian Historic Records Register
(10 Microfiche) Link Level 2 MF 994.016 AUS
Electronic Resource - Collections in Perth: a Guide to Commonwealth Government Records (Midalia) (2000)
Link Level 3 R 351.9402387 MID 2000
Many directories of archival materials are now available on the Internet where they are likely to be much more up to date. See the following internet sites:
- Directory of Archives in Australia - Provides information on archival repositories, collections and to contacts in the archival profession.
- Katitjin: a guide to indigenous records in the Battye Library - Compiled by Heather Campbell.
- Register of Australian Archives and Manuscripts (RAAM) - Contains information contributed by libraries, archives, museums and historical societies on their holdings of personal papers and records of non-government organisations.
For directories of archives in other countries see additional entries under the Archives lsting below.
Archives
Primary source material can be found in archival collections in Australia and worldwide.
Australia
- Archives of Australia - The Archives of Australia network is a collaboration between the National Archives of Australia, the State and Territory archives, and a number of other Australian archive organisations.
- National Archives of Australia - Provides links to the resources of Australian Archives as well as to most other major archives in Australia.
- ScreenSound Australia: the National Collection of Screen and Sound - Collecting, preserving and telling the Australian story in film, sound and television.
- State Records Office of Western Australia
World-wide
- National Archives Worldwide - Links to national archives compiled by the National Archives of Ireland
Images
Listed below are internet sites and databases which include image collections. Most of the major archival repositories will also have extensive collections, many of which will not have been digitised. It may be necessary for you to make direct enquiries to specific repositories. Contacts can be located by looking at the Archives listing above. Indigenous Australians should note that these collections may include images or names of people now deceased.
- Photo Search - Photographs depicting many aspects of Australia and Australian lifestyle from the 1850's to the 1990's selected from the collection of the National Archives.
- Picture Album - Documenting a Democracy - Australia's Story - National Archives of Australia.
- PictureAustralia - Provides a single point of access to over 450,000 digitised images from the pictorial collections of many of Australia's leading cultural heritage institutions.
- PictureAustralia - Trails - A trail of images compiled by the National Library of Australia.
- PictureAustralia Trails - Indigenous Australia - Indigenous Arts - A trail of images compiled by the National Library of Australia.
- PictureAustralia Trails - Indigenous Australia - Indigenous Dance - A trail of images compiled by the National Library of Australia.
- Pictures - Mura Gadi - A guide to manuscript, pictorial and oral history materials relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders in the National Library of Australia.
- Pictures Catalogue - Users can search and browse through images selected from the National Library of Australia Pictorial Collection.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait