Reference Resources
For background information on Australian Indigenous Studies, there are many reference sources available in both print and electronic format. Use these resources to clarify the meaning of your topic and to check for synonyms (similar words) for your topic words.
The Library's web page listing Electronic Reference resources could also be of value, especially Electronic Subject Dictionaries and Encyclopedias relating to Australian Indigenous Studies.
Encyclopedias
AusAnthrop - Indigenous peoples, languages and dialectal groups
The Australian People: An encyclopedia of the nation, its people and their origins 2001
Encyclopaedia of Aboriginal Australia (electronic) 1994
Encyclopaedia of Aboriginal Australia (print) 1994
Indigenous Peoples and Environmental Issues: An encyclopedia 2003
Language Dictionaries
Alyawarr to English Dictionary 1992
Eastern and Central Arrernte to English Dictionary 1994
Illustrated Dictionary of the South-west Aboriginal Language 1996
Macquarie Aboriginal Words 1994
Noongar Dictionary: Noongar to English and English to Noongar 1997
Pintupi/Luritja Dictionary 1992
Pitjantjatjara/Yankunytjatjara to English Dictionary 1992
Wangkatha Dictionary 2002
Atlases
Cultural Atlas of Australia, New Zealand and the South Pacific 1995
The Gaia Atlas of First Peoples 1990
Macquarie Atlas of Indigenous Australia: Culture and society through space and time 2005
Biographies
Aborigines of New Norcia 1845-1914 1989
Aborigines of the Albany Region 1821-1898 1989
Aborigines of the Southwest Region 1829-1840 1989
Australian Dictionary of Biography
Australian Indigenous Servicemen WWI 2003
Dictionary of Western Australians Vol.X:
Far from home, Aboriginal prisoners of Rottnest Island 1838-1931 1997
Who's Who in Australia 1927-
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait