Murdoch Home Page

Supporting Research at Murdoch: Measuring output

Scopus Journal Ranking

Scopus has an Analystics tab which allows you to compare the performance of up to 10 journals. The main two measures are:

SJR - SCImago Journal and Country rank

SNIP Source-Normalised Impact per Paper

Vew this 4 minute video for an introduction to SJR and SNIP by Dr Lisa Geitjenbeek-Colledge,

[Elsevier Publishing, 2009.  “SJR and SNIP”. YouTube video, posted February 10, 2010.  www.youtube.com/watch?v=XEvc3SZY8sA.]

SJR and SNIP versus Impact Factor

View this short 4-minute video for an explanation of the differences between SJR, SNIP and Journal impact factors, by Dr Lisa Geitjenbeek-College, Product Manager for SciVal. 

[Elsevier Publishing, 2009.  “SJR and SNIP versus IMPACT FACTOR”. YouTube video, posted February 10, 2010. www.youtube.com/watch?v=GGDB1y3SUyA.]

Research Output Measurement

Use the resources in this guide to find metrics to measure the impact of your research.

The MyRI (Measuring your Research Impact) online tutorial, produced by a group of Irish academic libraries, comprises 3 modules. It is designed to be worked through module by module but if you just want to calculate your h-index or how many times your publications have been cited, you can select these options from the side-bar menu

Module 1 : Introduction to Bibliometrics

Module 2 : Track your Research Impact

Module 3 : Journal Ranking and Analysis.

Measuring your output is easier if you have a research profile and an ORCID (Open Researcher and Contributor ID).

Which Tools Measure Your Research Impact?

Scopus

is an online citation database that covers the physical, health and life sciences  It has a higher proportion of social sciences and humanities when compared to Web of Science. Scopus allows you to measure your h-index using the Scopus citation data.

Scival

allows you to compare the research performance of individuals and groups to Australian and global benchmarks as well as identify and evaluate collaboration partners.

Web of Science

is an online citation database that covers sciences including agriculture, biology, environmental sciences, engineering, chemistry, physics and health sciences. It allows you to measure your h-index using the WOS data as well as creating a citation analysis report for authors.

Google Scholar  

Google Scholar is a free tool which provides citation data. Citations in Google Scholar include 'Cited by' counts. Note that Google Scholar citations have been criticised for duplications and misidentifications. Careful analysis and verification of results is recommended. The Publish or Perish software program analyzes academic citations based on information from Google Scholar.

Which Tools Measure Journal Impact?

CiteScoreMetrics  is a tool for measuring the citation impact of journals. CiteScore calculates the average number of citations received in a calendar year by all items published in that journal in the preceding 3 years.

Scopus Compare Sources  This tool uses Scopus data to compare journal titles using a range of indicators including CiteScore,SJR, SNIP and total citations.

SJR - SCImago Journal Rank is a prestige metric based on the number number of citations received by a journal in a particular year and the prestige of the journals that make those citations. It allows you to select 10 journals in a specific field. The results are uploaded into graphs, making it easy to see how journals are performing relative to each other.

Journal Citations Report JCR is a subscribed database which delivers quantifiable statistical data, based on citation data, on more than 8,200 science and social sciences journals. As from June 2016 Murdoch no longer subscribes to this database.

Publish or Perish are free tools harvesting data from Google Scholar.

Other resources

Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory  - a resource to find information on 300 000+ journals of all types, including peer reviewed journals, open access  journals and electronic titles. Search or browse to find titles in a subject area. Use the circulation data to get a sense of how wide a journal's audience is.

References

Delgado-López-Cózar, Emilio and Cabezas-Clavijo, Álvaro 2013. Ranking journals: could Google Scholar Metrics be an alternative to Journal Citation Reports and Scimago Journal Rank? Learned Publishing 26(2):101-114. doi: 10.1087/20130206

Elkins, M. R., Maher, C. G., Herbert, R. D., Moseley, A. M. and Sherrington, C. 2010. Correlation between the Journal Impact Factor and three other journal citation indices. Scientometrics 85: 81–93. doi: 10.1007/s11192- 010-0262-0

Jacsó, P. 2010. Comparison of journal impact rankings in the SCImago Journal and Country Rank and the Journal Citation Reports databases. Online Information Review, 34: 642–657 doi: 10.1108/14684521011073034

Scopus vs Web of Science

Acknowledgements

Information on this page was developed using information from the following:

Analyse Citation & Measure Impact - Curtin

Research Impact Measurement - UWA

CiteScoreMetrics Help

Research Repository

The Research Repository is an open access digital collection of research created by Murdoch University staff and students.

Copyright

copyright symbol.png Copyright
Information about Copyright for staff and students.