Associations And Organisations
- Australian Heritage Council- The Australian Heritage Council is the principal adviser to the Australian Government on heritage matters. The Council assesses nominations for the National Heritage List and the Commonwealth Heritage List and compiles the Register of the National Estate.
- Ecotourism Association of Australia- Provides information on the Association, and links to a web Ecotourism Information Centre looking at current research and an Australian Heritage Commission database.
- Environment: Department of Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities- Provides a wide range of resources on Australia's environment.
- ICLEI's Website - a searchable website for the International Council for Local Environmental Initiatives with two main areas of focus - the Local Agenda 21 initiative from the UN's Earth Summit, and climate change.
- IGLTA (International Gay & Lesbian Travel Association) - IGLTA is dedicated to elevating the standards of the hospitality/travel industry and supporting the business and professional members serving the needs of gay/lesbian travellers.
- Pacific Asia Travel Association - PATANet - The Pacific Asia Travel Association is a not-for-profit travel trade association serving government tourist offices, airlines, hotels and other travel-related companies throughout the Pacific Asia region. Has information on PATA member countries, on the organisation and its work, and links to an on-line journal Issues and Trends, Pacific Asia Travel.
- TTF (Tourism and Transport Forum) Australia - TTF Australia is a national advocacy body for the tourism, transport and infrastructure sectors providing independent and non-political representation for the tourism industry. Many of TTF Australia's research documents are available in pdf format from this site.
- Tourism Division of the Commonwealth Dept of Resources, Energy & Tourism - Has a wide range of statistics on tourism in Australia, tourism forecasts for Australia, and a number of on-line publications.
- Tourism Research Australia - research information and publications relating to marketing and tourism industry performance in Australia.
- Travel & Tourism Research Association - The Travel & Tourism Research Association is a professional organisation of providers and users of travel and tourism research. The TTRA advances the quality, value and use of travel and tourism research and marketing information for the improved effectiveness of travel and tourism marketing, planning and development.
- United Nations Headquarters Homepage - Provides links to UN web pages and resources on the Internet, plus links to UN documents - some of which are available on-line.
- U.S. Travel Association - has facts, profiles, research publications and statistics about the travel and tourism industry in America.
- World Bank - gives socio-economic indicators and data for both developed and developing countries.
- World Tourism Organisation - The WTO is the leading international organisation in the field of travel and tourism. It serves as a global forum for tourism policy issues. Includes details of statistics and WTO publications. Some sections are available only to subscribers.
- World Travel and Tourism Council - the Global Business Leaders' Forum for Travel and Tourism. Conducts economic research into the area of travel and tourism, and provides comprehensive access to online publications.
- World Tourism Cities Federation- WTCF promotes coordinated economic and social development of World Tourism cities, enhance urban development, elevate the image of cities, strengthen inter-city international exchanges through tourism and innovate the mechanism of member cooperation.
- World Indigenous Tourism Alliance - The World Indigenous Tourism Alliance (WINTA) is an Indigenous-led global network of Indigenous and non-Indigenous interests that seek to give practical expression to the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples through tourism.
- Western Australian Aboriginal Tourism Operators Council - A not for profit Association representing Indigenous tourism in Western Australia. WAITOC comprises membership from all regions within Western Australia. The Association is autonomous and provides advice and information to all relevant State Government agencies as well as the tourism industry sector. WAITOC promotes Aboriginal tourism and provides a supportive network for Aboriginal tourism operators within Western Australia.
[ Top ]
Australian And South Pacific Tourism Authorities
- Tourism Australia - Tourism Australia is the Federal Government statutory authority responsible for international and domestic tourism marketing as well as the delivery of research and forecasts for the sector.
- Canberra Tourism - Canberra Tourism is the gateway to travel and tourism information for the Australian Capital Territory.
- Northern Territory Tourist Commission - The NTTC provides information on travel and tourism planning and policy for Australia's Outback Northern Territory.
- South Australian Tourism Commission - A tourism update featuring new products, events and South Australian Tourism Commission news.
- South Pacific Tourism Organisation - Online resource for South Pacific Islands travel information, representing 13 island nations in the South Pacific region.
- Tourism New South Wales - Tourism New South Wales is the New South Wales Government's tourism marketing and policy agency.
- Tourism Queensland - A guide to Tourism Queensland's services, information and research on the Queensland tourism industry. Links to Queensland Holidays - a comprehensive travel guide to holidaying in Queensland, including the Great Barrier Reef, the Outback, beaches, islands, and rainforests.
- Tourism Tasmania - Provides travel and tourism information regarding Tasmania for visitors, government agencies, operators and the media.
- Tourism Victoria - Tourism Victoria is the State Government authority responsible for developing and marketing Victoria as a premium tourist destination for Australian and international travellers.
- Tourism West Australia - Provides information and maps on the WA regions, tourism associations, and links to internet sites relevant to WA tourism.
[ Top ]
International Tourism Authorities
- Tourism Offices Worldwide Directory - A directory of official government tourism agencies worldwide.
- Hong Kong Tourism Board - Includes information on trip planning, shopping, dining, touring, heritage, events. Details about the role of Hong Kong as a gateway to China are also given.
- Indonesia Tourism - Search for general information, maps and facts about tourism in Indonesia.
- Tourism Authority of Thailand - Search for information on things to do and see, festivals and events, and advice for the traveller.
- Tourism Malaysia - Includes information on regional attractions, accommodation and events.
- Tourism New Zealand - Search for information on accommodation, transport and sights and activities.
- Your Singapore - All of the information you need to make planning your trip to Singapore easy, and to discover new things you weren’t aware of. Look through the pages to find out about getting to and around Singapore, where to stay, eat and shop, and how to discover the heritage and culture of the Lion City.
[ Top ]
General Tourism Resources
- Australian Customs Service - Information on customs procedures, requirements and the facilitation and concession schemes administered by the Australian Customs Service.
- International Federation for Information Technology and Travel & Tourism - Discussion, exchange and development of knowledge about the use and impact of new information and communication technologies in the travel and tourism industry. The website aims to bring the latest industry news, events and projects from around the globe.
- Intute: Travel and Tourism - Provides free access to high quality Tourism resources on the Internet. Each resource has been evaluated and categorised by subject specialists based at UK universities. The target audience is students, staff and researchers in higher and further education.
- World Tourism Directory.com- A comprehensive tourism industry directory with 110,000 entries from 330 countries, states, and territories. The directory includes contact information for ministries of tourism; national, regional, local tourist boards; tourism and travel industry associations; a huge list of inbound tour operators; airline companies; accommodation associations; outdoor and recreational activity associations; and tourism media.
[ Top ]
Online Tourism Journals
- Asia Pacific Journal of Tourism Research - The official publication of the Asia Pacific Tourism Association, includes conference papers and selected articles.
- Journal of Travel and Tourism Marketing - This journal publishes articles on travel and tourism as related to marketing management practices, applied research studies, critical reviews on major issues, and business and government policies affecting travel and tourism marketing. Some articles available online free of charge.
- Space Future Journal - Asserts that the future of space is tourism. Up to date information, covering news, events and publications.
- TOURISMOS: An International Multidisciplinary Journal of Tourism - A peer reviewed Open Access journal published by the University of the Aegean in Greece.
- Tourism Research Links - Journals - Listing of free online tourism journals.
[ Top ]
Eco-Tourism And Sustainability
- Big Volcano Ecotourism Resource Centre - A comprehensive guide to ecotourism practice, ecologically sustainable development (ESD) and general tourism and travel best practice management sites worldwide.
- Forum Advocating Cultural and Eco-Tourism (FACET) - A Western Australian based network and information resource for people with an interest in cultural, nature based and eco-tourism.
- International Ecotourism Society - A worldwide resource for travellers about preserving natural environments and finding a more meaningful way of travelling.
- Institute for Land, Water and Society - Institute members with biological and social science expertise undertake research that facilitates conservation and restoration outcomes that are socially, environmentally and economically desirable.
- Sustainable Tourism Online - Provides access to leading tourism research and tools in three main areas: Destinations and Communities; Business Operations; and Parks and Culture in addition to broader sustainable tourism themes.
- Tourism Concern - Tourism Concern is a membership organisation campaigning for ethical and fairly traded tourism. This site includes information on fair trading current campaigns to promotes tourism that benefits communities.
[ Top ]
[ Top ]
- Australian Federation of Travel Agents - AFTA is the official nation body representing the business interests of travel agents. It represents the majority of travel agents in Australia with 1800 retail outlets and 400 allied industry organisations, hotels, wholesalers, and tour operators. AFTA has over 2200 members.
- Caravanning, RV and Accommodation Industry of Australia - Information on where to go caravanning and camping, where to buy or hire a caravan, touring or camping and 4WD shows and industry events, facts on the industry and industry associations.
[ Top ]
[ Top ]