Murdoch Home Page

IEEE Style: E-journals

A guide to IEEE referencing style for Murdoch University students and staff

Information

From a full text database

•  Full text databases include Academic OneFile, ProQuest, and IEEE Xplore, to name a few.

•  Include the Database name and the internet address.

When including the internet address of articles retrieved from searches in full-text databases, please use the Recommended URLs for Full-text Databases, which are the URLs for the main entrance to the service and are easier to reproduce.

From the internet

  Unlike journal articles from full text databases these are often freely available on the internet.

  Some publishers offer recent issues for free and earlier issues for a subscription fee.

•  Include the complete internet address.

Format

Standard format for citation

[#] A. Author, "Title of Article," Title of Journal, vol., no., p. page numbers, month year. [Format]. Available: Database Name (if appropriate), internet address. [Accessed: date of access].

Set columns to be equal width

This box is hidden when viewed publically or in preview - it is only visible in editing mode.
It will change the width of the two columns to be equal (37.5% each).

Examples

Journal article from a full text database 
[1] H. K. Edwards and V. Sridhar, "Analysis of software requirements engineering exercises in a global virtual team setup," Journal of Global Information Management, vol. 13, no. 2, p. 21+, April-June 2005. [Online]. Available: Academic OneFile, http://find.galegroup.com. [Accessed May 31, 2005].

[2] A. Holub, "Is software engineering an oxymoron?" Software Development Times, p. 28+, March 2005. [Online]. Available: ProQuest, http://il.proquest.com. [Accessed May 23, 2005].

[3] H. Ayasso and A. Mohammad-Djafari, "Joint NDT Image Restoration and Segmentation Using Gauss–Markov–Potts Prior Models and Variational Bayesian Computation," IEEE Transactions on Image Processing, vol. 19, no. 9, pp. 2265-77, 2010. [Online]. Available: IEEE Xplore, http://www.ieee.org. [Accessed Sept. 10, 2010]. 

Journal article from the internet
[4] A. Altun, "Understanding hypertext in the context of reading on the web: Language learners' experience," Current Issues in Education, vol. 6, no. 12, July 2003. [Online]. Available: http://cie.ed.asu.edu/volume6/number12/. [Accessed Dec. 2, 2004].

[5] P. H. C. Eilers and J. J. Goeman, "Enhancing scatterplots with smoothed densities," Bioinformatics, vol. 20, no. 5, pp. 623-628, March 2004. [Online]. Available: www.oxfordjournals.org. [Accessed Sept. 18, 2004].